We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel but not at first impression”
Review of Exe Mitre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Exe Mitre
Ranked #340 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OK hotel but not at first impression”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Our travel to Barcelona started late at night, and here our experience began. By reading reviews on hotel Mitre, we knew it will be out of city center, but close to the metro station,( it was our second visit to Barcelona) but got lost on the way from metro to the hotel- went in wrong direction. Finally, found the street and been ready to turn away by seeing homeless people wondering around the hotel, making their carton beds just across of the main entrance and yelling one to another. Next day after little exploration of the area we found that hotel has more privileges than it appeared night of our arrival. Located conveniently to public transportation, not too far away from Park Guel, with grocery stores nearby and little café by bus station. Room was of a decent size with tile floors that I like much better then carpets, bathtub and little office-desk. A little coffee-maker would be a plus, so would the second chair - when we had our snacks or fruits from the market- there is no place to sit but on the bed. Like it was said before, walls are thin - one night we had a really loud neighbors - but it was only one night, on the other nights we would hear next door person snoring. We didn't buy breakfast from hotel, because we like to explore little Mom's& Pop cafeterias, especially when that coffee smells all the way down the street... Hotel stuff was helpful and pleasant, housekeeping was at standard with enough supplies for two of us. Beds were comfortable and clean. Homeless people don't bother hotel guest, but it is still freaky to go to the hotel late in the evening. We enjoyed our visit to that newer part of Barcelona after all - we met really nice local couple at the bus station, who really explained to us some of the history and even provided us to Maria Iglesias church with explanation on history and pointing on highlights of the church. Those people also told us about " El Born" museum that just open its door for public the week of our visit - it was nice addition to our planned interinary in Barcelona .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    209
    110
    23
    20
See reviews for
69
242
28
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Me and my partner stayed here because the location is good for the subway, which is a few minutes away from the hotel and for the value for 4 nights.

The room was a good size (small double), the bed was hard and noisy, there was also Silverfish crawling around the floor and small black flies flying around the room, which was horrible, i can't stand bugs!

The walls were thin, so thin that one night we woke up at 4am to hear a women having sex in the room above us, which lasted for 10 minutes. The bathroom was ok, but the shower head was unstable and loose.

The staff spoke good English and were friendly, but all in all i don't think i would stay here again, there are much better hotels than this one, that don't have an infestation of common pests and are less noisy.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is good for WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobynBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms are a good size, and are kept very clean. I even had a large balcony! Extremely convenient with the metro 3 minutes away, a pizzeria and a little supermarket across the road. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak good English.
The walls are thin though, so if you're a light sleeper you may have trouble. Also, the wifi in the room works perfectly until you stop using it for a few minutes...it then logs you off automatically. Easy enough to sign back in, but a little irritating if you're messaging someone and they don't reply within 2 minutes!
Otherwise a great little place which is good value for money. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Urogirl_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage England
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A standard city hotel with clean rooms of adequate size and a well fitted bathroom and aircon. We chose a non smoking room. E 20 deposit on room safe- refunded in full. Breakfast very average although a reasonable choice. Rooms on street side can be noisy. Take a travel kettle, cups etc- room has a fridge. Domino Pizza 2 minutes away and also other cafes used by locals. Taxi from Hotel to airport cost E 25 compared with E 45 when booked with HotelExtras to collect us from airport on arrival. Hotel 2 minutes from El Putxet Metro which is an ideal starting point for visiting all Barcelona. A book of 10 tickets is called a T10 ticket and costs E9.80 and is very good value as it took us to all the popular sites including the Aquarium and Museu National D’Art Catalunya (free to OAPs closed on Mondays) as well as the central Gaudis. T10 tickets covers all Metro lines so usually only need 1 ticket per day each way and seems to cover all zones. (You can tell how many trips left on the T10 by checking the last digit printed on the back after each use). Book on line for Sagrada Familia and Casa Battlo ( pronounced Bayeax) to avoid queues. We walked to Park Guell- 20 minutes -but could not find the hotel’s back street location when we returned on the Metro. Tip- find the Metro first and start your trips from there.
The Metro pick pockets are very skilled, usually women working in pairs much like Rome. Example- an outstretched elbow happening to rest on my bum bag. But then it started to move! The accomplice had worked her hand beneath her friend’s cloaked forearm and was unzipping my bag! Keep your hand on your money always.

Room Tip: Street side rooms can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brit1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ont.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have just returned from my second visit to this hotel and was even more charmed this time ( Oct. 4-14. 2013 ) than last ( Sept.- Oct. 2011). The reception staff greeted me warmly, and arranged for me to have a lovely 4th flr.room ( 404). They were very helpful and friendly at all times, and speak multiple languages fluently. The room was comfortable, spacious and very clean. The bathroom was also very nice, with many of the amenities of four star hotels. . The room and bathroom were cleaned daily and were always well maintained during the 10 days I was there.). There is a desk top computer, near the reception desk, that customers can use, whcih was very handy. The onle negative thing I could say is that the walls between the rooms are not very sound-proof. The hotel is quite far from the city centre, but the Putxet Metro station is within 3 min. walking distance from the hotel, and the ride into Barcelona takes only about 7 minutes ( 5 subway stops), so the city and main tourist sites are easily accessed. The hotel is family-friendly , and I saw many families , with young children, there during my 10 days. There is also a small playground for young children approx. 3 blocks from the hotel. I again really enjoyed my stay there , and would gladly return again . I would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel is quite far away from the city center and from the main touristic sights. It is withing walking distance from Parc Guell. On the other hand metro station El Putxet is within 3 minutes of walking from the hotel, so the location is not a real problem.

Very good breakfast, even though quite expensive. Nice room, helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We spent 2 nights (20-22 June 2013) my father and I as part of 8 days in Spain, we got room with 2 separate beds, the room was prefect clean and well equipped, the hotel team was very friendly and helpful. the price was relatively low.
I found the location very good, it is less then 5 minutes from Metro station (El Putxet) that have line (L7) that lead directly to Catalonia Sq (10 minutes).
in addition we went by feet to park Guell (1.5 KM or 30 minutes).
Bottom line good surprise

Room Tip: In the first arrival it is recommended to arrive to El Putxet Metro station is is very close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EladH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Silken St. Gervasi Hotel
#315 of 512 in Barcelona
460 reviews
Tres Torres Atiram Hotel
#347 of 512 in Barcelona
265 reviews
Eurostars Angli
#334 of 512 in Barcelona
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SmartRoom Barcelona
#105 of 512 in Barcelona
392 reviews
El Raval
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
#301 of 512 in Barcelona
405 reviews
Eixample
Eurostars Monumental
Eurostars Monumental
#302 of 512 in Barcelona
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Mitre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Mitre

Property: Exe Mitre
Address: Bertran 9-15, 08023 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hotel Eurostars Mitre)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Exe Mitre 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Exe Mitre 3* it is a small Barcelona city hotel, without too many frills but ready to provide our guests with a welcoming, friendly, functional place to stay, with spacious rooms and all the little details that will help you to spend some happy, stress-free days with us: a healthy breakfast with freshly-squeezed orange juice, Wi-Fi connections in all the rooms, hydro-massage bathtub, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Exe Mitre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Mitre Hotel
Eurostars Mitre Barcelona
Exe Mitre Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing