We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well not the best tired poor service”
Review of Exe Mitre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Exe Mitre
Ranked #342 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well not the best tired poor service”
Reviewed 27 February 2009

Not the best good location close to my work shame. Be careful of the spa baths run with hot water first not clean. Don't have any of the last four rooms on the top floor balcony etc might seem like a good idea but the boilers are in the roof space overhead so take some ear plugs if you want to sleep in those rooms. Also take an Iron and an Ironing board and find somewhere else to eat breakfast I didn't even bother and it was free. Be careful how you approach the staff they like to argue with you and cause unnecessary fuss so best not to bother them. If you are there for any lenght of time take some entertainment only english TV is CNN and BBC news so pretty newsed out after an hour or learn German you are ok with German 5 channels of course! Other than that it was great everything you could ask for except rooms need a refurb.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCENZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    209
    109
    23
    20
See reviews for
69
242
28
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We stayed in this Hotel for four nights in Feb and would recommend it as a very good option for the budget traveller, be they business or pleasure. The location is some what away from the City centre and many of the main areas of activity,but the situation of a nearby Metro stop insured we were never more than a ten minute ride to the heart of everything.

The hotel is a budget Hotel, so for all those who like their creature comforts while travelling, this may not be for you. If, however, you are looking for a basic, clean and comfortable, lower to mid range Hotel, then this is ideal. Firstly, it was clean; with the rooms tended to every day. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. Patricia at reception gave us a no nonsense local insight into where to go and what best to see. Breakfast was an extra €10 per day per person but was more than adequate in its continental buffet style. Most importantly, we found the location to be safe and very quiet with no late night/early morning noise, perhaps due to its off the main thoroughfare location.

A nice touch from the Hotel was the follow-up email a day after we left asking had we enjoyed our stay;something I have never experienced from any Hotel, be they budget or delux. I suppose the true testiment to any hotel is whether or not one would stay there again and for us, we would without any hesitation. We couldn't fault the place and feel very comfortable recommending it to others based on our experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DearLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Clare
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Just back from a long weekend in Barcleona and we stayed in the Mitre Hotel. It was a great location - only 5 metro stops from Catalunya (city centre) and the hotel was only two mins from the metro station. To find the hotel from the metro station take the balmes exit and then take the first left, the first right and the hotel will be on your right. Our room was quite basic but was clean and was plenty roomy for the two of us. The double bed was a proper double bed and not two beds pushed together. I had chanced my arm and requested a balcony and to my surprise they were wiling to give us a double room with a balcony but it would have taken an hour for the people in the room to check out and we were wrecked so we took a double room with no balcony.

The man on reception, Ricardo, was very helpful and patient and helped us organise our sightseeing. There was another guy there on our last night though who was a bit standoffish and not very helpful at all-didnt catch his name.

We went on the bus turistic and I'd really recommend it as a great way of seeing Barcelona in a day or two! The red stop is around 10-15 min walk from the hotel up at the top of the hill by the roundabout. A day pass was E20 and a 2 day pass was E26.

Had breakfast there one morning - E10 each and it was OK. Filled the gap! We had a safe in our room which we put a E20 deposit down on and got it back when we checked out. Our room was cleaned everyday.
There was no noise from the surrounding area at night as its a quiet area. Walls were perhaps a bit thin between the rooms and the corridor but not excessively so. Bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was lovely. The room also came with air conditioning at no extra cost.

To get home after a night out we took taxis and they cost between 12 and 14 euros which is great!

We generally ate in the city centre as we didnt find many places to eat in the area but since it was so close that didnt matter! Plus we found there was more of an atmosphere in the city.

A few must sees in Barcelona in general: Sagrada Familia (even though we didnt bother going into it), La Ramblas, the cable car to Barceloneta Beach, Portaventura (not technically in Barcelona but only an hours train journey away-make sure you get the priority passes when going in!!trust me-they're worth it!!), The Hard Rock Cafe, The Sunset Dance Club, Nou Camp, Park Guell, The Magic Fountain, Park de la Ciutadella.

Overall I would definitly recommend the mitre hotel to anyone!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The view from our window
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irish_cailinCo_Clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Military Wife
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Didn't book this hotel. Was sent to Eurostars Mitre from another hotel (Gran Ducat) that overbooked and made a deal to send us here instead. I was upset that I paid city center price to then be sent to Mitre as it is about 4 train (metro) stops from city center and for the same price we get this secluded hotel.
Pros: Hotel was in a quite residential area, strong air conditioner, very helpful front-desk staff, matrimonial bed is actually a real double-bed instead of 2 twins pushed together, very clean room, good quality towels.
Cons: Cable worked once my husband spent a few minutes messing with the back of the TV, very small bathroom, tiny elevator, away from city center, no real restaurants or shops around there, not near the tour bus route.

I really cannot fault the hotel even with the cons I listed above.
Maybe I'm just more upset because I know had I booked Mitre directly it would have been cheaper than falling for the overbooking scam Gran Ducat had going on.

If you do not mind staying a bit away from city center and want a quite place away from the chaos then this hotel is the place to stay.
The metro stop Puxtet was just a few short steps from the hotel so not much of a hassle and train goes directly without transfer to city center.
Again, many thanks to the front desk staff for being so helpful, taking lots of time to explain the metro and recommending sightseeing options.
Because the hotel is nowhere near other eating places we paid the 10 Euros per person for the breakfast and it was worth it.

- Joana
New Yorker living in Germany

  • Liked — Free Internet, clean, air conditioner
  • Disliked — Distance from Plaza Catalunya
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lajoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

This is a good, clean, quiet hotel for those travellers who would rather spend their cash on seeing Barcelona rather than on an overpriced hotel slap bang in the city centre. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from one train station and about 10 minutes to another in the other direction, so getting to see all of the sights is not a problem.

The staff were pleasant and helpful and the rooms were clean, well presented and had everything you would expect other than tea/coffee making facilities. Those of you who are light sleepers may wish to take a sleep mask with you, as the curtains certainly do not block out that lovely Spanish sun first thing in the morning!

The little supermarket just across the road provides you with the essentials for breakfast and packed lunches.

All in all a fairly good value hotel that provides you with a good base from which you can get to see all that Barcelona has to offer.

  • Liked — Clean and quiet rooms
  • Disliked — No tea making facilities!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hill_dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, Wiltshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2008

This is a good hotel in a good location, even if it is a little difficult to find 1st time round! The hotel isn't in the hustle and bustle but this guarantees a good nights sleep, however it is only a couple of mins walk from the tube stop which goes directly to/from Catalunya square at the start of the Rambles and from where the entire city is accessable. The tubes were very impressive, frequent, quick and clean.

Location wise we always felt safe and the supermarket over the road from the hotel is handy.

Although we didn't deal with them much more than the usual check in & out the receptionists were friendly, helpful and spoke good English.

The room is clean and a reasonable size, as is the bathroom and the jacuzzi bath was very welcome at the end of a busy day exploring.

To sum up - This hotel wont rock your world but is good value for money and a great base to explore the city.

For those that do book - From El Putext Station take the Balmes exit, carry on to the end of the road where you take a left, and then the next left again (by Pizza Hut) The hotel is a little way up on the left. .

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon_Ruth_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2007

Nice hotel, the triple room we were in was a little small but absolutely bereable for a 3 days stay. One of the bed was smallish (french size, i guess) but still very comfortable for a 170cm person.

The room and the hotel are very clean and neat.

The only real problem was the bathroom, it was big enough and finely appointed but it lacked any kind of ventilation so after 3 people took a shower inside you could faint from the heat.

Wireless connection is ~10€ per 24hrs.

The hotel is a 3 minutes walk from the el-putxet underground station in a nice, peaceful area, just 4 stops from plaza de catalunya.

For ~50€ per night it's a really nice deal.

M

  • Liked — value, cleaniness, proximity to center/public transport
  • Disliked — view
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Echo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Silken St. Gervasi Hotel
#316 of 512 in Barcelona
458 reviews
Eurostars Angli
#331 of 512 in Barcelona
391 reviews
Eixample
Eurostars Monumental
Eurostars Monumental
#303 of 512 in Barcelona
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
#312 of 512 in Barcelona
404 reviews
Tres Torres Atiram Hotel
#347 of 512 in Barcelona
265 reviews
SmartRoom Barcelona
#103 of 512 in Barcelona
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Mitre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Mitre

Property: Exe Mitre
Address: Bertran 9-15, 08023 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hotel Eurostars Mitre)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Exe Mitre 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Exe Mitre 3* it is a small Barcelona city hotel, without too many frills but ready to provide our guests with a welcoming, friendly, functional place to stay, with spacious rooms and all the little details that will help you to spend some happy, stress-free days with us: a healthy breakfast with freshly-squeezed orange juice, Wi-Fi connections in all the rooms, hydro-massage bathtub, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Exe Mitre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Mitre Hotel
Eurostars Mitre Barcelona
Exe Mitre Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing