We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast, room but no AC”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grupotel Gravina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grupotel Gravina
Ranked #221 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, room but no AC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

The hotel is very well located, close to the Plaza da Catalunia and other tourist sights.

They welcome us with a champagne glass and the room was lovely and clean. They also gave us a bottle of champagne and some delicious brownie due our celebration. The downside was that the AC was not working, in fact the temperature did not got lower than 25 C (77 F) what is really hot in the summer, so they staff provide us a small fan. :) The twin beds that have wheels so they moved as we move and for a couple is not convenient. The mini bar did not make the beverages cold, just keep their temperature as the hotel staff informed.

Their breakfast was great, we loved the sweet croissants!

The internet was reliable and they have a printer downstairs. When we come back to Barcelona in another season, that is not as hot as now, we might consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatidaltro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    466
    154
    60
    30
See reviews for
211
409
46
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

I have visisted Barcelona twice....two years on the trot and both times I have stayed in this hotel. Although not the biggest Hotel in Barcelona it is superbly situated in this lovely city. As soon as we arrived we were meet with a lovely glass of champagne (or fresh orange for the non drinkers) which is a lovely way to start your holiday. Both rooms I have stayed in have been spotlessly clean and I have never had a problem with noise at night...slept like a baby!! The staff on reception have always been very keen to please, providing me with extra milk, tea, coffee or sugar when we have run out in our rooms. Breakfast was buffet style which my Husband and I prefer......build yourself up for a busy day ahead. If I was fortunate to go back to Barcelona I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Only drawback is the bar isn't very big but didn't affect us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen5-562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Positives: location, very friendly staff, clean and modern, good breakfast for a 3 star hotel.

Negatives: impossible to get any decent sleep during the whole stay. Having requested a quiet room we’ve ended up having a family from hell on our floor who were bashing doors, moving furniture and partying every night 3 nights in a row. Hotel solution offered was that we need to call their security at night when this happens again. Called security the following night – this did not result in any noise improvement. Complained to reception and their response was that they’ve spoken to the family and these guests have said that they are being quiet so it’s our word against theirs. Most absurd response I’ve ever received from a hotel.

In addition to noise problem – the heat in the room. Their aircon only works a lowest setting which is the middle of summer doesn’t really make any difference.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marija T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Marija T,

First of all thank you for staying at Grupotel Gravina.

We really apologize for the noise caused by other guests. We always try to do our best to keep the respect among guests and we are very willing to respond to any noise complaints.

We appreciate you wrote good reviews about the Hotel location and the breakfast that for sure it has a large and varied choice of food.
Once again thank you for your review that, without doubt, it helps us to improve our services and quality.

Kindly regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

Its a nice cute hotel, it should be named labirent coz getting to the room is so confusing, the breakfast is nice and the rOoms are bright, the location is central, as a 3 star hotel i can say that it is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dzovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

The rooms are very small you can barely open the door to get into the room. At least the bathroom was of normal size. The rooms are newly renovated and also very clean. The location is perfect very close to Ramblas and Plaza Catalunia. We felt that the price we paid for the room (110EUR/night) was expensive that's why the 3/5 rating

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agathoklis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Agathoklis P
Thank you for your nice evaluation of our services.
We are sorry you don't like the size of the room. We have many different sizes from the basic to the superior room with terrace and even a Suite for 5 people! Of course, each with different rates. Next time, you can book a superior room and we are sure you will rate us 5!
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had to rearrange our reservation as we were prevented by the recent french air control strike and there was a huge mix up with the hotel and the travel agency that we used on what was happening with our reservations. We went to the hotel, offered a glass of champers on arrival which was lovely but only to find that we only had a booking for two people when there were three of us and they insisted that we had to upgrade to a bigger room! At thirty euros a night! We explained that we had already paid our travel agent the additional amount for the exchange in rooms due to the strike, but they insisted that it wasn't their problem and we had to take it up with the travel agency. I had to explain that they couldn't say it was solely our problem because the travel agency was a go- between us and the hotel, thus they had some responsibility and when we found out that our flight had been cancelled we emailed the hotel initially asking for their assistance but never received a reply! Therefore we had to communicate solely with the travel agent!

It was a very stressful start to the trip, we spoke with three different members of staff, one of which even gave us a receipt showing that our card payment hadn't gone through trying to justify why we needed to pay extra for the room, when it wasn't even our card because the dates were wrong. It was appalling service, we asked many times to speak with the manager and only managed to on the second day. He refunded the thirty euro charge in the end but I wished the other staff at reception were more helpful in finding the manager so I only had to explain my situation once, rather than three times! This wasted a lot of time that we could have spent enjoying Barcelona. The service was chaotic and completely disorganised.

Other than that mix-up breakfast was reasonable, there was a good choice to choose from, although the waitress insisted on showing you to a table even when the room was rather empty...
The rooms were adequate, clean and simple.They eventually moved us to a triple, of which one of the beds was a pull out sofa bed but the bathroom was clean.

They provide a kettle for hot water, but you have to go to reception to get it... Clearly not part of the service and the kettle was broken, it would continually boil water until you pulled it out of the socket.

Also wifi was terrible in our room on the fourth floor!

Maybe we would have had a different experience if the air control strike hadn't caused so much chaos. But the hotel were not very helpful in trying to resolve our problems

Room Tip: Not on the fourth floor, wifi signal is terrible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flippityfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Flippityfish,
First of all we want to sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding.
It was really difficult to contact with the travel agency that booked your stay. We supposed they were overworked because of the strike, and it did not help us to give you our best service.
We are sorry for your stressful start with us, but it is really important to talk with the travel agency when the reservation has not been made directly with the Hotel.
We are sure, your stay would have been a great experience without this unfortunate misunderstanding.
Thank you for your review, it help us to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cool, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed for three nights at Grupotel Gravina, starting on June 23, 2013. It more than met all of our expectations. From check in, with complimentary champagne, to final checkout we have nothing but praise. We had a superior room (#108) with a balcony. It was very spacious with a large bathroom. Deks staff were very courteous and helpful during our stay. Breakfast in morning was very good, with a lot of options. Coffee was available in afternoon complimentary in lobby. Hotel staff suggested that we buy out tickets for Sagrada Familia online at the complimentary internet workstation in the lobby. This saved us at least an hour, as we did not have to wait to buy tickets in a line that wrapped around the block.
We found a nice little place to eat just down the street from the hotelon way to Rambla - called Tellus ??. Three course dinner with a bottle of wine shared by three for 9 euro each.
The Rambla is only a five minute walk from the hotel. Busses and underground are all within five minute walk. You can walk to beach, but it takes about 40 minutes. Bus #59 goes right there.
We bought the T-10 ticket, which entitled us to 10 rides on any combination of bus/underground. Cost was 9 euro and easily obtained at nearby underground station. One ticket can be shared (legally) by more than one person on a trip, bu just reinserting the card at the gate.
We wish that we could have stayed longer and would definitely recommend this place to our friends. Hope to go back in near future.

Room Tip: We were on first floor, which was actually on second level. It was convenient to walk up or down a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolgolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear coolgolfers,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It values the work of all our staff and they are really happy to read it. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in a future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#239 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
El Raval
Lleo Hotel
Lleo Hotel
#165 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#219 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Grupotel Gran Via 678
Grupotel Gran Via 678
#135 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Ciutat Vella
Hotel Ciutat Vella
#152 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Acta Splendid
Hotel Acta Splendid
#212 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Gravina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Gravina

Property: Grupotel Gravina
Address: Gravina 12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly H10 Gravina)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grupotel Gravina 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Grupotel Gravina is located in a quiet street in the centre of Barcelona only 300 meters from the centre and the famous Plaça Catalunya, the nerve centre of the city. The Grupotel Gravina is a 19th century building that was refurbished in 2013 and has a façade listed as being of architectural interest.The hotel has two meeting rooms, one with a capacity for 44 people and the other for 55 people. Grupotel Gravina is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grupotel Gravina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gravina Barcelona
Grupotel Gravina Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing