We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”
Review of Grupotel Gravina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grupotel Gravina
Ranked #248 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Just steps away from Plaza de Catalunya y La Rambla, which if it is your first visit to Barcelona is certainly worth seeing, plus since the hotel is centrally located so you can easily hop on the metro and get to anywhere in the city in a couple minutes. Our room had a balcony, which overlooked an avenue and we enjoyed having a glass of wine out there each night. The hotel has a modern and sleek feel to it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Went as a group of 3, grandmother, mother and daughter to celebrate my daughters 21st. On arrival welcoming staff, glass of champagne and even complimentary afternoon snacks and coffee which was a nice touch. Rooms sufficient for 3 star and clean, air con does not work, tea/coffee making facility not present but would be nice. Not a bad location near to centre. Breakfast OK. However we stayed here for 2 nights the first was fine, the 2nd we had a night cap in the bar, great Sangria so well done to the bar man. Went back to our room around 12pm and could hear very loud music and people singing along, looked out of the window to see where the noise was coming from, and one of the neighbouring flats was having a party, you could still hear everything with the window shut!. We had hoped that the party noise would die down soon but was still booming away after 1am as we had a flight to catch the next day I went down to reception to tell them about the noise, I was told I was not the first to complain and that they would call the police to see what they could do so I returned to our room. However the noise continued and I needed to sleep! I returned to reception to see what could be done and was regrettably told nothing! They did however find us 3 double rooms on the same floor for each of us this was around 1:45am but the noise could still be heard albeit not as loud! Due to having to change rooms was still unable to sleep the noise finally stopped at around 3am so I returned to our original room to get a couple of hours in before the flight home. Not a great end to the celebrations. So don't go here on weekends if you want to sleep go elsewhere, if you want to party til the early hours though this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lins42747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, great staff, very clean and well run hotel. Our room had a balcony out the front of the hotel. The room decor was very clean, modern and sleek. The breakfast was vast and varied, something for everyone. The location was superb, you are in walking distance to a lot of attractions and shops. The Irish bar just round the corner is great for a few drinks, The Pink Elephant is highly recommended for food and great cocktails. Cannot fault the hotel or area it is located.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GPM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear GPM M,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very happy that you had such a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the hotel, the location and our staff. It makes us proud and happy to read nice reviews and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

hotel excellant location perfect staff 1st class,champagne and crisp given on arrival lovely touch,food good,And best of all up graded to room with a balcony.will be booking again.lovely small quiet bar serving the nicest glass of sangri i have drank

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear Donna R,
Thank you very much for taking part of your time to write such a lovely review. We are pleased to know that your stay in our hotel was great! We are happy to read our staff is 1st class, they certainly are.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Location is brilliant. Good standard and clean. Friendly staff. Good budget alternative... if you get a good rate. Standard rooms are small but alright for a weekend. Maybe not for longer stay. Overall good.

If I would stay for longer in a hotel (working on location) I want to use my gadgets to watch programmes in English. The flat screen TV in this hotel is fitted on the wall and you can't reach the HDMI/DVI or Video/Audio to connect your iPad or laptop. There should be an option to do so and I think more hotel should consider to provide this option. Its 2013 and people brings powerful smartphones and iPads when they travel and they should be able to use them on the bigger screen in their hotel room. During my stay my TV in my room had bad reception/picture quality... adds to the negative.

Bathroom: Good pressure on the water in the shower but bad stream on both shower and tap. (Maybe limescale=filter haven't been cleaned or exchange for while.)
Only some disturbing noises from rooms next door but mostly quite.

If I get a good deal for a weekend stay in Barcelona... I would consider staying at Grupotel Gravina again.

Room Tip: Be aware the Standard Rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Lovely hotel in a great location, in a quiet street approximately 5-10 minute walk from the ramblas and metro stations two minute walk away! Reception and breakfast area is lovely and our room was really nice. The room was very small and our view was of a wall but none of this affected our stay as we only used the room to sleep in!
The hotel is modern and very clean! Staff were all very helpful and accommodating, especially a man named Joan who is very friendly and helpful!

The one negative we do have is when we were checking in we were asked for a credit card for a deposit which we did not bring so we had to leave €100 cash deposit which we had to take out of our spends which we weren't happy about, if we would have known we had to leave a deposit we would've brought more spends.. I think it is very important to have this information before travelling. Apart from that, a very pleasant stay in a good location, we definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Leah J,
Thank you to take part of your time to write about your stay in Grupotel Gravina.
We are really happy to read our hotel is great! We will inform our staff especially Joan, who always try to do the best to our guest, about your nice words.
We always ask for a credit card details or 100€ as a deposit just for guarantee the extras (Telephone calls, minibar, room service…), we take note of your recomendation and we will work hard on your suggestion.

Once again thank you for your sweets comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Excellent service all round--room as expected--very central location for getting around in a quiet side street.
Particular thanks for help from reception staff and no complaints.
Would stay again when in the city.



  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Gillian C,
Thank you very much for your review following your stay in Barcelona.
We are pleased to read that you appreciated our great location as well as our newly refurbished rooms and, for sure, our staff that tries to do all the best to give an excellent service.
We really look forward to welcoming you back to Grupotel Gravina. You can contact us directly at gravina@grupotel.com.

Kindly regards and Happy New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#208 of 515 in Barcelona
879 reviews
Eixample
Grupotel Gran Via 678
Grupotel Gran Via 678
#126 of 515 in Barcelona
856 reviews
El Raval
Lleo Hotel
Lleo Hotel
#203 of 515 in Barcelona
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#44 of 515 in Barcelona
4,539 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#204 of 515 in Barcelona
557 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#161 of 515 in Barcelona
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Gravina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Gravina

Address: Gravina 12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly H10 Gravina)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £60 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grupotel Gravina 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Grupotel Gravina is located in a quiet street in the centre of Barcelona only 300 meters from the centre and the famous Plaça Catalunya, the nerve centre of the city. The Grupotel Gravina is a 19th century building that was refurbished in 2013 and has a façade listed as being of architectural interest.The hotel has two meeting rooms, one with a capacity for 44 people and the other for 55 people. Grupotel Gravina is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grupotel Gravina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gravina Barcelona
Grupotel Gravina Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing