We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Grupotel Gravina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grupotel Gravina
Ranked #221 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
2 reviews
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Cosy rooms, great location. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Though the rooms were a bit smaller, the location of the hotel is compensating this fault. We spent whole day on the streets of Barcelona and our hotel was just five-ten minutes away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaneur_sipsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    466
    154
    60
    30
See reviews for
211
409
46
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tirana, Tirane, Albania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at Grupotel for one night at the start of a four week trip through Europe. All I can say is that if I had had to stay more than one night I would not have stayed. The room was TINY -- there was a twin bed, shoved against one wall, with about enough room to get into bed on the other side. No place to put luggage. And worst of all -- NO WINDOW!!

When I booked the room, the description noted "a window onto an interior patio" (or something like that). That is an exaggeration -- the window did not open and as far as I could tell what was behind the window was an air shaft. At night it was rather creepy as there was a bright light coming from the air shaft.

Also you have to climb a set of stairs to get to the room I had, which was not mentioned in the description. Plus no one helps you with your luggage.

On the plus side, the reception staff was quite nice as was the bartender at the small cafe in the lobby. And given that the room was an "interior room," it was dead quiet at night -- but this also was a bit creepy -- between the light from the air shaft and no noise it was like being in a cell rather than a hotel room.

All in all Grupotel Gravina feels more like a hostel than a hotel and it is WAY TOO EXPENSIVE for what you get. On my return I booked a room at another hotel near this one that was excellent -- large room, rooftop bar, great amenities -- and it was less expensive than Grupotel Gravina.

Bottom line: Look elsewhere even if you are in Barcelona for only one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontardawe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I recently stayed at the hotel, it's tucked away on a quiet side street within easy walking distance of all Barcelona has to offer. The reception staff are extremely helpful as were all the staff at the hotel. The rooms are small but spotlessly clean and have a beautiful bathroom. The rate includes a good breakfast and snacks throughout the day.
I would definitely stay here again without any hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sianonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Figaro46,
We are really happy to read that you would stay again with us without any hesitation. This is the best way to know that you really enjoyed your stay with us in Barcelona.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable. What more do you need for a hotel room you only need to sleep in!?!

Breakfast was also comprehensive with cooked, continental, cereals, treats, tea and coffee, we wanted for nothing.

The location is also perfect, nestled near the university, a 5 min walk to La Rambla and Pl. Catalunya. It's also perfect for the airport bus which stops at Pl. Universitat.

Staff are friendly and helpful. The only downside was the €2.50 a day charge for the safe. So we didn't use it and carried our passports with us.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel, it's a quiet street so no noise and was nice to have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-on-sea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Came recommended from a travel agent friend. Best thing about this hotel - the staff, all friendly, knowlegeable and helpful.
Hotel is a bit of a rabbit warren so you could get lost upstairs.
Food great - try the bar menu.
Hotel can be difficult to find, but worth it when you get there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear John M,
Thank you so much for your nice words. We are really proud of our staff and we are happy to read that our guests value them as they worth it.
We look forward to welcome you near in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a lovely stay at this hotel. Firstly, the location is excellent and is very easy to find. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We absolutely loved the breakfast each morning which was buffet style and consisted of bacon, eggs, pastries, fresh fruit and smoothies along with coffee and tea. They also offer free coffee, tea or juice in the afternoon which is an added bonus after a hard day sightseeing! The rooms were very clean and we would definitely return. Thank you Grupotel Gravina for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Sue C,

It is a pleasure to read your kind review. Thank you so much for your nice words.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had a great stay in this hotel. The room was pleasant and clean and very comfortable. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the breakfast and in particular the lovely fresh juices and range of fruit and pastries.
We would definitely recommend staying here. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#228 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
El Raval
Lleo Hotel
Lleo Hotel
#164 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#219 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Grupotel Gran Via 678
Grupotel Gran Via 678
#134 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Ciutat Vella
Hotel Ciutat Vella
#170 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Acta Splendid
Hotel Acta Splendid
#211 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Gravina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Gravina

Property: Grupotel Gravina
Address: Gravina 12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly H10 Gravina)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grupotel Gravina 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Grupotel Gravina is located in a quiet street in the centre of Barcelona only 300 meters from the centre and the famous Plaça Catalunya, the nerve centre of the city. The Grupotel Gravina is a 19th century building that was refurbished in 2013 and has a façade listed as being of architectural interest.The hotel has two meeting rooms, one with a capacity for 44 people and the other for 55 people. Grupotel Gravina is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grupotel Gravina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gravina Barcelona
Grupotel Gravina Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing