We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for short stat”
Review of Grupotel Gravina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grupotel Gravina
Ranked #259 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have just come back from a 3 night stay at this hotel. We booked a standard basic double room. However, we were very surprised to discover how small these rooms actually are. When you open the room door, it hits the bottom of the bed, you literally have enough room to walk around the bed. The bathroom was quite the opposite, with plenty of room and also included a bidet. The bath was small, but this didn’t both us, because we prefer to shower. There was a mini bar in the room, with all the usual drinks supplied. There were only 4 clothes hangers in the wardrobe, for a 3 night stay this was not enough. It would have been nice to have been told at reception that there was a charge for the use of the safe (2.30 euros per day). On the plus side the room was spotlessly clean.
The reception staff were pleasant enough, although we did notice that other guests checking in, were offered a complimentary glass of champagne, which was not offered to us. John who works behind the bar was very nice, he even remembered what our drinks were when we retuned the following night.
The location is excellent, close, but not too close to Las Ramblas, which is a hive of activity.
Overall I would recommend this hotel for a short stay. Although you might want to consider upgrading to a bigger room, if you feel a bit claustrophobic and plan on spending a lot of time in the room.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a bigger room if you suffer with claustrophobia.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malnads1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
There are newer reviews for Grupotel Gravina
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

My wife and I are currently staying at the Gravina. The hotel is pretty central, making it very handy for La Rambla, the harbour and beach, tourist buses and metro, etc. From here we have been able to get to everywhere we wanted to visit easily. The room is clean and comfortable with air conditioning, tv bath and shower. On arriving we had a bottle waiting in the room compliments of the management. There are lifts to all floor, and the wi-if is free.

The breakfast is great with a wide choice of cooked items including bacon and scrambled egg, salmon, cereal, fruit, cakes, etc. The staff are friendly and very helpful. I highly recommend the Grupotel Gravina for couples and families.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Glenn_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Grupotel Gravina for four nights (11th to the 15th August) and we both thought it was an excellent hotel. We stayed in room 308, which we found to be spacious, immaculately clean and it had a balcony with a view onto the street. The air conditioning worked perfectly well and the shower was the best shower I have ever used. The beds were also very comfortable and I liked the reading lamps as well- really well thought out!
As well as being in an ideal location (near all the attractions)- it is also located in a quiet side street, so we had no problem with noise. The staff were friendly, polite and very helpful. The receptionist Anna organised a trip for us to La Sagrada Familia and this saved us a great deal of time queuing and we had an excellent tour guide and we thought this was worth the money.
Breakfast was really good too with plenty of choice, delicious coffee and the staff who managed the breakfast room were really helpful and efficient. We both really enjoyed our stay at Grupotel Gravina and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in Barcelona as it is excellent value for money. I would also like to thank the staff for making our stay in beautiful Barcelona so enjoyable.

Room Tip: We loved room 308 - with the balcony over looking street. Room is a good size for two.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank artteacher66London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear artteacher66London,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with other travellers.
We are really happy to know that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us in Barcelona.
On behalf of Anna and the rest of the staff, thank you! It has been a pleasure!

We look forward to welcome you back in a future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We just arrived yesterday, I have to thank pilar for her amazing hospitality and friendly attitude....shes really helpful with things to do and places to go....the best thing about the place is its location. Yet, there are as many hotels in the same place as well... free wifi is a great option too...
Even though i read the review about the smal roomsl, i would say it was shockingly super small for 2 people which the pictures doesnt show...... we didnt find a space to put our bags as a start...the ac isnt working properly even after asking for a technician. With the humidity and 2 people ina room with no other source of air, it is really frustrating ..The bathroom is actually almost same size as the rest of the room..the tv only plays local shows...there is only one electricity outlet to charge your phones... the elevatpr is small as well and it does close all of a sudden on you and your stuff on your way out...my friend cofee spilled on her bc of that...we are staying 6 nights and im not sure how we will survive in this room for the coming 5 ....

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank bbdongola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear bbdongola,

We are really sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. However, it is a pity not to know who you are. It is difficult to try to solve anything as we do not have any news in reception of your complaint.
We have different room sizes with different prices. So, if we have availability, reception can move you to another kind of room.
Thank you for your nice comments about Pilar, we let her know.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well located, in a walking distance from Las Ramblas. The staff is friendly and helpful. The places they recommended to go were totally worth it!
The room was clean and all was nice. We didn't try their breakfast because we thought it was a bit expensive. So we ate at a café called Viena that is just around the corner!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear travelinpanda,

Thank you for your kind review. We really recommend you to try our breakfast next time, it is a huge buffet with many products!
Thank you again for your words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights while in Barcelona , fantastic central location , very friendly and helpful staff . Rooms not as small as some previous reviews say , I would certainly stay here again if I ever return to Barcelona . Thanks again for the welcome you gave us .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank joiners9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear joiners9,

It is always a pleasure for us to read about our guest once they are back at their residence.
Thank you for your nice words. We will inform all our staff.
We look forward to welcome you in a future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed one night in June, we were not disappointed.
The staff were extremely friendly, the hotel immaculately clean & tidy.
The breakfast was lovely.
Our double room was tiny, the receptionist did warn us when we checked in, however for one night was adequate.
Would certainly recommend, the hotel is a few minutes walk from Las Ramblas.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank kym0392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grupotelgravina, Director General at Grupotel Gravina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear kym0392,
Thank you for having chosen Grupotel Gravina.
We are really happy to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us in June.
We look forward to welcome you back in a future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#194 of 513 in Barcelona
541 reviews
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#221 of 513 in Barcelona
855 reviews
Eixample
Grupotel Gran Via 678
Grupotel Gran Via 678
#133 of 513 in Barcelona
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Lleo Hotel
Lleo Hotel
#193 of 513 in Barcelona
1,229 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#175 of 513 in Barcelona
1,487 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#19 of 513 in Barcelona
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grupotel Gravina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grupotel Gravina

Address: Gravina 12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly H10 Gravina)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £75 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grupotel Gravina 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Grupotel Gravina is located in a quiet street in the centre of Barcelona only 300 meters from the centre and the famous Plaça Catalunya, the nerve centre of the city. The Grupotel Gravina is a 19th century building that was refurbished in 2013 and has a façade listed as being of architectural interest.The hotel has two meeting rooms, one with a capacity for 44 people and the other for 55 people. Grupotel Gravina is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grupotel Gravina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grupotel Gravina Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gravina Barcelona
Grupotel Gravina Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing