We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic, value for money”
Review of Moderno Hotel Bcn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moderno Hotel Bcn
Ranked #357 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 31 December 2013

excellent location, 50 m from the Rambla and still very quite. breakfast was ok. bathroom ok, although the hairdryer was broken. Free lugage room after check out. Friendly English speaking staff at the reception










  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jean-luc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

I contacted the hotel last June 2013 regarding our stay from Oct. 20 - 22. They were very helpful and responsive to my inquiries. When we arrived last Oct. 20, the front desk staff was very welcoming and very helpful. We loved the location of the hotel - very close to La Rambla, to La Boqueria. The breakfast room got a bit crowded on Oct. 21 but we were able to bring our food to our rooms. The restaurant next door became a favorite dinner place.

We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Barcelona. The staff is excellent.

Room Tip: There were 2-3 steps going to the rooms assigned to us. Just a heads-up to anyone with large suitcas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Two weeks ago me and my father came to barcelona, weve booked moderno hotal on agoda and it was the right choice for sure!! The hotel is on the center of the Ramblas district 5 min walking from Plaza Catalunia and The harbor. 50 meters from the hotel we had a metro station (loceu iff i spell correct:)).. with an easy eccess to travel all around the famous places. The stuff were incredible and always smiling and helping especially xavi that was awsome and kind. The breakfast was rich with good food. I would reccomand everybody to stay their!! not just because the perfect spot but also because the hospitality and great service ans smile you get there..

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuvalweiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Our family stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Room size was just right, and bed were comfortable for night sleeping, though not big enough to consider luxury. The full English Breakfast is very impressive, plenty of food, drinks and fruits to please your morning hunger. Location is good, it is close to La Rambla main road, but my advice is not to walk further inside the small lane, as there are many pick-pocket guys eyeing for tourists. My wallet was snatched by a young man who pretended to show me a card and insisted me to visit some drinking stall, despite I had ignored his invitation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank williamtan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Average European hotel in an very good location and with an excellent staff. The complimentary breakfast was very good and offered plenty of hot choices. The metro stop is not far and there are plenty of dining options nearby. We would stay here again. Bring ear plugs for street noise, Barcelonans party all night long.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs for street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arizona_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My family stayed at the family suite - 4 single beds with 2 in the middle pushed together.

The beds were comfortable but very close to each other. This may be because they squeezed 4 beds into a normal room - this is my guess since the 2 beds in the middle had the bed side lamps located at where our heads would be.

Breakfast was good - there was a buffet with choice of breads, hams, eggs, coffee/tea/juices.

Location was great - near La Rambla. However, beware of pickpockets and people who approach you with flyers/cards along La Rambla. My dad spoke with some of these people and had his wallet taken after they distracted him.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryltzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

rather basic but family-friendly, has all you need, super helpful reception staff.
breakfast was plentiful and had good variety.
nice, clean bathroom in good working order.
my only (minor) complaint is that the mattress was a little on the under-padded side. but such is a matter of personal preference, i guess.
location is ideal but intermittent nightly party noises goes with the territory so bring your earplugs.

Room Tip: 214, largeish 2-bedder w. french balcony & excellent bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Sant Agusti
Hotel Sant Agusti
#286 of 516 in Barcelona
971 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Roma
Catalonia Roma
#310 of 516 in Barcelona
367 reviews
Eixample
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
Amra Barcelona Gran Via
#355 of 516 in Barcelona
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#158 of 516 in Barcelona
687 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#195 of 516 in Barcelona
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderno Hotel Bcn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderno Hotel Bcn

Address: C/ Hospital N 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £34 - £434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moderno Hotel Bcn 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moderno has a central location, on a side street just 20 metres from Barcelona's famous Las Ramblas. It offers free breakfast and free Wi-Fi access throughout. All rooms at the Moderno are heated, air conditioned and soundproofed. There is also cable TV, a fridge, private bathroom with toiletries, hair drier and a magnifying mirror. FREE LUGAGGE STORAGE! FREE WATER BOILER! 15% DISCOUNT IN ALL "CULLERA DE BOIX" RESTAURANTS! The hotel is just a short walk from the Boquería Market on La Rambla. Plaza de Catalunya and the city's cathedral are just a few minutes' walk away. We are also very close to the Cruises terminal. The hotel's City Tour offer is ideal for exploring the city. There is also a ticket service. The 2 computers in the lobby can be used for free. The Moderno has a 24-hour front desk and offers express check-in and check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Moderno Hotel Bcn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Barcelona
Moderno Hotel Bcn Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing