We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location albeit......”
Review of Moderno Hotel Bcn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moderno Hotel Bcn
Ranked #327 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location albeit......”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great location, friendly and helpful staffs. Other than that, everything is just average. Room is small but adequate. Need to fix up the bathroom doors and lighting fixtures need to be attended by the proprietor. Breakfast is more than satisfactory. A great location which is virtually at the corner of the excellent Boqueira Market. (hope i spelt it correctly, a must, mustttttttt visit for food lovers) Many great cafe at surrounding area. The area could be a bit dodgy. La Ramblas is popular for pick pockets. Witness one incident on the way back to the hotel. Overall, average rating. However whatever let down is compensated by the friendly and efficient staffs.

Room Tip: Use the safe box provided at the hotel reception. safe box in the room is not recommended in any est...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoneSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    345
    164
    61
    31
See reviews for
208
238
57
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2013

excellent location, 50 m from the Rambla and still very quite. breakfast was ok. bathroom ok, although the hairdryer was broken. Free lugage room after check out. Friendly English speaking staff at the reception










  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jean-luc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I contacted the hotel last June 2013 regarding our stay from Oct. 20 - 22. They were very helpful and responsive to my inquiries. When we arrived last Oct. 20, the front desk staff was very welcoming and very helpful. We loved the location of the hotel - very close to La Rambla, to La Boqueria. The breakfast room got a bit crowded on Oct. 21 but we were able to bring our food to our rooms. The restaurant next door became a favorite dinner place.

We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Barcelona. The staff is excellent.

Room Tip: There were 2-3 steps going to the rooms assigned to us. Just a heads-up to anyone with large suitcas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Two weeks ago me and my father came to barcelona, weve booked moderno hotal on agoda and it was the right choice for sure!! The hotel is on the center of the Ramblas district 5 min walking from Plaza Catalunia and The harbor. 50 meters from the hotel we had a metro station (loceu iff i spell correct:)).. with an easy eccess to travel all around the famous places. The stuff were incredible and always smiling and helping especially xavi that was awsome and kind. The breakfast was rich with good food. I would reccomand everybody to stay their!! not just because the perfect spot but also because the hospitality and great service ans smile you get there..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuvalweiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Our family stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Room size was just right, and bed were comfortable for night sleeping, though not big enough to consider luxury. The full English Breakfast is very impressive, plenty of food, drinks and fruits to please your morning hunger. Location is good, it is close to La Rambla main road, but my advice is not to walk further inside the small lane, as there are many pick-pocket guys eyeing for tourists. My wallet was snatched by a young man who pretended to show me a card and insisted me to visit some drinking stall, despite I had ignored his invitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank williamtan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Average European hotel in an very good location and with an excellent staff. The complimentary breakfast was very good and offered plenty of hot choices. The metro stop is not far and there are plenty of dining options nearby. We would stay here again. Bring ear plugs for street noise, Barcelonans party all night long.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs for street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arizona_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My family stayed at the family suite - 4 single beds with 2 in the middle pushed together.

The beds were comfortable but very close to each other. This may be because they squeezed 4 beds into a normal room - this is my guess since the 2 beds in the middle had the bed side lamps located at where our heads would be.

Breakfast was good - there was a buffet with choice of breads, hams, eggs, coffee/tea/juices.

Location was great - near La Rambla. However, beware of pickpockets and people who approach you with flyers/cards along La Rambla. My dad spoke with some of these people and had his wallet taken after they distracted him.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryltzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Sant Agusti
Hotel Sant Agusti
#291 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
El Raval
NH Barcelona Ramblas
NH Barcelona Ramblas
#152 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#227 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#226 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
El Raval
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
#314 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderno Hotel Bcn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderno Hotel Bcn

Property: Moderno Hotel Bcn
Address: C/ Hospital N 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Moderno Hotel Bcn 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moderno has a central location, on a side street just 20 metres from Barcelona's famous Las Ramblas. It offers free breakfast and free Wi-Fi access throughout. All rooms at the Moderno are heated, air conditioned and soundproofed. There is also cable TV, a fridge, private bathroom with toiletries, hair drier and a magnifying mirror. FREE LUGAGGE STORAGE! FREE WATER BOILER! 15% DISCOUNT IN ALL "CULLERA DE BOIX" RESTAURANTS! The hotel is just a short walk from the Boquería Market on La Rambla. Plaza de Catalunya and the city's cathedral are just a few minutes' walk away. We are also very close to the Cruises terminal. The hotel's City Tour offer is ideal for exploring the city. There is also a ticket service. The 2 computers in the lobby can be used for free. The Moderno has a 24-hour front desk and offers express check-in and check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moderno Hotel Bcn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Barcelona
Moderno Hotel Bcn Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing