We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff”
Review of Moderno Hotel Bcn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Moderno Hotel Bcn
Ranked #327 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location and staff”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We planned this visit on very short notice with little homework. The hotel location is excellent. Just a few steps off Las Ramblas and the Liceu metro. The room was very clean and as we were on the inside of the building, quiet. Breakfast was unbelievable. More than you could ask for with plenty of fresh fruit etc. Kettle for coffee or tea and hairdryer in the bath.
Beds were soft for me but that's a personal preference. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. We left our luggage in a safe storage room both upon our early arrival and late departure. There is also internet available-just ask for passcode. and there are computers in the lounge area for personal use. I will recommend this for any friends who do not require spa-like accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kariboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    345
    164
    61
    31
See reviews for
208
238
57
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The hotel placed in an excellent location, in the middle of the Ramblas.
The rooms are not big but clean and tidy.
Breakfast is good-it has everything you need.
The staff are very very nice and helpful.
We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sigi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Located 1-2 mins away from the Liçeu metro station just beside La Rambla, this hotel offers excellent prices for a great room, location and reception service. Everything was clean and well kept/furnished, the bed was most comfortable with 3 sets of pillows (for everyone's liking). The breakfast was a huge buffet and the receptionists were most kind and available for suggestions.
Definitely the place to be if you're visiting Barcelona for a few days and you'd like a privileged position in the city.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MassimilianoHYR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A good choice for first time visitors to Barcelona - brilliant, central location right in the middle of La Rambla. Nice room, good facilities - kettle, hairdryer, fridge, bottle of Cava. Room was a good size and bathroom was large. Staff on the front desk were friendly and helpful.
Only negative was that it was a little noisy at times but no more than you would expect from a city hotel with visitors coming in from a night out.
Overall would definitely use it again and recommend to anyone wanting a reasonably priced central hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

7 ladies stayed at this hotel for 2 nights end of jan 2014. We found the hotel basic but comfortable and clean. Much to our surprise of a Spanish hotel it had a kettle with coffee and cups and a mini fridge with a compliment bottle of cava. Also the bathroom had a hair dryer and nice towels. The location was excellent right on la ramblas so was noisy the only downside. Minutes walk to the underground and a excellent restaurant next door with a great menu of the day for 12 95e.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank brucepoppey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We got to the Hotel quite late at night, when we got there, we struggled with the front desk staff, who couldn't understand us. He showed us to our room but it was very small and the bathroom was still dirty. The bedding on the bed was also dirty. Tried to explain to the front desk staff and he couldn't understand me, after google translate assisted us to understand each other, he eventually gave me new bedding that we needed to put on the bed. It was not a good stay. Will never go back to this place, even though it is in a good location and it is also too expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great location, friendly and helpful staffs. Other than that, everything is just average. Room is small but adequate. Need to fix up the bathroom doors and lighting fixtures need to be attended by the proprietor. Breakfast is more than satisfactory. A great location which is virtually at the corner of the excellent Boqueira Market. (hope i spelt it correctly, a must, mustttttttt visit for food lovers) Many great cafe at surrounding area. The area could be a bit dodgy. La Ramblas is popular for pick pockets. Witness one incident on the way back to the hotel. Overall, average rating. However whatever let down is compensated by the friendly and efficient staffs.

Room Tip: Use the safe box provided at the hotel reception. safe box in the room is not recommended in any est...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoneSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Sant Agusti
Hotel Sant Agusti
#291 of 514 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Internacional Ramblas Cool
El Raval
NH Barcelona Ramblas
NH Barcelona Ramblas
#152 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#227 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#226 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
El Raval
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
Exe Ramblas Boqueria
#314 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderno Hotel Bcn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderno Hotel Bcn

Property: Moderno Hotel Bcn
Address: C/ Hospital N 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Moderno Hotel Bcn 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moderno has a central location, on a side street just 20 metres from Barcelona's famous Las Ramblas. It offers free breakfast and free Wi-Fi access throughout. All rooms at the Moderno are heated, air conditioned and soundproofed. There is also cable TV, a fridge, private bathroom with toiletries, hair drier and a magnifying mirror. FREE LUGAGGE STORAGE! FREE WATER BOILER! 15% DISCOUNT IN ALL "CULLERA DE BOIX" RESTAURANTS! The hotel is just a short walk from the Boquería Market on La Rambla. Plaza de Catalunya and the city's cathedral are just a few minutes' walk away. We are also very close to the Cruises terminal. The hotel's City Tour offer is ideal for exploring the city. There is also a ticket service. The 2 computers in the lobby can be used for free. The Moderno has a 24-hour front desk and offers express check-in and check-out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Moderno Hotel Bcn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Barcelona
Moderno Hotel Bcn Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing