We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coeliacs - all systems go”
Review of Turin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Turin Hotel
Ranked #145 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Coeliacs - all systems go”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

An initial nightmare when we arrived at reception to find that our pre-booked (and confirmed) room had been given to someone else, so we had to spend the night in a rather noisy and cramped first floor room.
Ahmed was extremely apologetic and concerned enough to open up the tea facility for us - thank goodness! (The opening hours for this are still client unfriendly).
Next day, the reception staff offered us a better room and moved all our stuff for us.
The breakfast can be Coeliac friendly if the hotel is pre-informed. My bread was actually toasted for me for the very first time which was a real treat. The breakfast staff were their usual helpful, smiling selves.
The staff are excellent with one or two exceptions. Ahmed is polite and courteous and deserves a medal for sorting us out on our late arrival.
After the hotel accepted that they had made a huge mistake in giving our room to others because the female guest apparently had the same Christian name (!!!) they were helpful and obliging.
Our room was very nice with a lovely terrace overlooking the skyline of the city and we would stay in that room again.
Word of caution - the prices for the rooms can vary widely if there is any sort of 'event' happening in Barcelona so it is worthwhile doing a little research before you go.
This was our third stay - and we would hopefully return but would hate to have to go through all the rigmarole and upset again.

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping, avoid the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OakwoodUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    498
    87
    20
    8
See reviews for
232
354
48
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

So my friends and I just went for my hen party to Barcelona and had 6 rooms in the Hotel Turin. The rooms were very big with glass (but thankfully not see-through) doors to the bathrooms. The staff were very friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was huge and had loads of variety. The rooms were equiped with a safe and towels and a tv. All very nice. The only problem and reason it wasnt an excellent was on one of the nights we were there, we had a power cut which meant the safe didnt work and we had to find our way using the 1 window in the room - there was no window in the bathroom so thank god the door was glass! Another reason this hotel had less points was because one of the hen rooms got flooded - a gush of water came down the inside of their room for no apparent reason. It also happened in the hallway and a towel was put on the floor. It's such a shame because apart from these two things, the hotel was great. Great location, good size rooms and amenities and perfect for us. I would go back, but I'd check the room first for leaks! Nothing you can do about a power cut but it's strange it only happened to a couple of our rooms. Thankfully, we all put our passports in someone elses safe.

Room Tip: Breakfast was good and worth getting up for - lots of choice. Rooms are big enough for 2 single pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Best location good value rooms small but comfortable and clean elevator marginal.taxi service available nearly all the time.two blocks from the Boqueria.front desk helpful in planning tours one block from the Rambles

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neurobrad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Can't beat the location 1/2 a block from La Rambla street. For a 3 star category hotel, I give it 5 stars! Room and bathroom were extremely clean. Quiet, restful sleep on comfortable bed. AC worked great. Lovely entrance, friendly helpful staff. We didn't have breakfast, but there's a restaurant directly across the entrance which serves American breakfast cheap. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends. Friends stayed here at the same time. They had a triple room which had an extra bed (pull down) and the hotel provided a baby crib. It was slightly snug, but doable. We were both pleased with Hotel Turin!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor and our room did not face the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mehim2cutedogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a nice room on the 5th floor with a little balcony. It was roomy enough and comfortable (the bath towels are great) and had a view of the rooms across the street. Unfortunately, as it faced the street, the extremely loud noises from diners and bar patrons went on until around 4 each morning. There was some noise within the hotel as well. If it was not for the noise, it would have been a great place to stay. It is close to Las Ramblas and lots of other good attractions, shopping and some of the best vegan/vegetarian food around. While another reviewer said it was on a "surprisingly quiet street", I cannot agree. I would have given it higher ratings but for this problem, which was a major one for me.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms on the street if you want to hope for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stay here every year while attending a trade show - and every year I am so impressed to the improvements made to the hotel. Rooms are small but everything you need. Breakfast is excellent and the location can't be beaten. Staff are so friendly and helpful. I love it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandFirstClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A central hotel that is very close to La Rambla. 5 minute walk to the airport shuttle. The hotel is decorated in a modern style and is very nice with great staff. The breakfast is large and diverse. I did not like the frosted glass door to the toilet, not in private. A good hotel that is affordable and which I would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
#140 of 513 in Barcelona
1,068 reviews
El Raval
NH Barcelona Ramblas
NH Barcelona Ramblas
#136 of 513 in Barcelona
1,177 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Curious
Hotel Curious
#89 of 513 in Barcelona
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#169 of 513 in Barcelona
1,477 reviews
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#222 of 513 in Barcelona
846 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#118 of 513 in Barcelona
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turin Hotel

Property: Turin Hotel
Address: Pintor Fortuny 9, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#102 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Turin Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel familiar situado a 2 minutos de La Rambla de Barcelona, en pleno centro de la ciudad. Fantastico desayuno con productos traidos diariamente del Mercado de la Boqueria y tartas hechas en casa. Disponemos de habitaciones familiares, Wi-Fi gratuito para todos nuestros clientes y parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Turin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turin Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia
Hotel Turin Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing