We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central location and clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lleo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lleo Hotel
Ranked #163 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Central location and clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

The Lleo is in an excellent location, 5 minutes walk from the main Catalunya square at the very top of Las Ramblas (where the airport bus comes into and the City Tour buses leave from).
The hotel seems to have refurbished a number of the floors - but not all. We were in one of the older rooms, it was spotless, with a very comfy bed - but the room looked very dated and a bit tired (next time I would request a newer room on one the refurbished floors).
A good tip is to get the bus from the Airport straight to the main square Catalunya, only took around 30/40 minutes and was very reasonable at 5.90 Euro each way. (There is a bus every 15 minutes); and as I said the hotel is only 5 minutes walk away.
Breakfast was alright - nothing special, but adequate choice.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
I would stay again - but request a newer room.

Room Tip: Definitely request one of the newer (refurbished) rooms, we had one of the older rooms on the 5th fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackster50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    541
    155
    35
    28
See reviews for
220
520
26
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Used the Lleo as a base for 3 days in Barcelona and it couldn't have been better. The room was big, airy and clean. Only 5 minutes walk from Pl Catalunya and all the stuff around there. We'll definitely go back again

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Blueski35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I'm not sure how the "star" rating system works but...

The hotel is in a good location, but a little pricy. Its close to the major sights and metro stops and just far enough from the bustle of La Ramblas. We came in from Madrid via the AVE train and were able to get to the hotel easily via the Metro.

Rooms were the only disappointment. I really don't understand the "hospital bed" concept. All the (twin) beds articulate which leaves the flimsy mattresses bent in the middle. If you're looking for a comfortable nights sleep I'd skip this option. From what we understood, "double" beds were standard (non-articulating)...we asked to switch after our first night when one of the beds broke (one end partially stuck in the up position), but double beds were not available. Only other issue was that there was only one usable outlet for charging devices. In room 407 the desk unit is built over one of the two outlets available. From what I now understand, rooms below the 4th floor are renovated.

We did not take the breakfast option... Did not seem like a good value considering all the great cafe options available in the area.

Staff was friendly...except for one older gentlemen at the front desk. He was not at all happy that we wanted to change rooms (due to the bed malfunction)...other staff members stepped in to help and did their best to work out a solution. On the way out of town we settled up our incidentals with cash...this older gentlemen gave me back the wrong change (10 euro) which resulted in a bit of an argument. Clearly this man was in the wrong and again another staff member (who witnessed the mistake) had to step in and rectify. Ok, mistakes happen but what a crappy way to say thanks for your business...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is situated perfectly for all wanting to be close to the Las Ramblas, in central Barcelona. It is modern, clean with a large lounge to relax in. The pool on the roof is small, but plenty of seats are available for those wanting to enjoy the sun, It even has a disabled access. The breakfast is very good, with the late finish time of 12 md, so no rushing to get in your breakfast. The room we eventually got had adjustable beds, which were very comfortable. We were shown a tiny room with a window overlooking a service shaft, but we did manage to get the room changed. The only blot on the landscape were the reception staff, who for the most part curt, even rude.

Room Tip: Just check the window, you may not get the best view on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann1E99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Hotel Lleo is in an excellent position - close to shops, Las Ramblas, metro. Bus to airport is a few minutes walk. Pool area, lounge area are very nice.

Unfortunately we had a room on the 4th floor - one of the rooms that has not been renovated. Although clean, it was tiny, the window we had was frosted and would not open. The corridor also looked dated.
Would suggest that anyone staying there - request a room on 1st, 2nd and 3rd floor. These rooms have been renovated and are lovely - we saw one and couldn't believe the difference to our room. Hotel said they hope to renovate floors 4 and above in next few months.

Breakfast was ok, but if paying extra for this, think I would prefer to go to Starbucks opposite or one of the of cafe bars around for breakfast..

Room Tip: Ask for room on 1st, 2nd, 3rd floor and one with a window that opens. Apparently booking direct to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbenzion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Friendly and very helpful staff, great breakfast - available until 12.00 noon! Good room and excellent facilities, Free Wi-Fi. Very convenient for metro station. Plenty of good restaurants nearby. Easy walk to Las Ramblas and La Boqueria Market - not to be missed at any cost!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Lleo. It was a large hotel by Europe's standards, with 2 lifts, 24/7 reception, roof-top pool, and several floors of rooms. Our room was spacious with a patio. The AC worked great, but the room remained so humid that the bed sheets and mattress felt damp. There was literally no insulation in the walls, so every door slam, conversation, and tv was heard. There was a large breakfast buffet that remained open until noon, however; the selection and quality of the food provided was average at best. The front desk staff were gruff, apathetic, and avoidant. The best aspect of the hotel was its location, close enough to Plaza de Catalunya, but far enough from the busy, sketchy La Ramblas. This was an average hotel, not luxurious by any means, but met our needs for 3 nights in September.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Ciutat Vella
Hotel Ciutat Vella
#178 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#170 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Reding Croma
Hotel Reding Croma
#236 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Grupotel Gravina
Grupotel Gravina
#227 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#135 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#41 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lleo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lleo Hotel

Property: Lleo Hotel
Address: Carrer de Pelai 22-24, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#124 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#161 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lleo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Lleo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lleo Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing