We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me next year.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel L'Alguer Camp Nou
Ranked #459 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not for me next year.”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I write this at 4.30 in the morning local time, which probably says something in itself. I can clearly hear a conversation in Spanish from the lobby and I am on the 1st floor. Correct, I was woken up and I am not a light sleeper.

Firstly the positives
The staff are friendly and have gone out of their way to accommodate a change in booking. Their standard of English is fine. The rooms are clean although old and tired. The breakfast although basic cold 'continental' is adequate – just adequate and nothing more.

The downside
This must be the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. You can hear every activity at all times. For a hotel without a restaurant and no reasons to move anything around in the early mornings I just wonder what they are up to. Yes you read this correctly the hotel has no restaurant although the profile says it does.

Everything clatters and I can hear most of the activities taking place in the adjacent rooms. I really cannot believe how every noise from the reception, to the lifts and stairs carries and my room is down a rather dark corridor not on the main one.

They only serve cold breakfast so you have to eat out. However, a good local eatery was recommended and I am sure they know many more.

Although close to a metro line it is a bit off the beaten track (you have to change to get to Espanya, which they failed to tell me here on the first day) and because it is small non of the cab drivers knew where it is. Still they got me there by satnav and the spanish equivalent of the A-Z eventually.

My colleague booked because this for me and she believed it had Internet, there was non which is rather ironic because I am at Mobile World Congress in a city which is suddenly claiming to be Mobile Wireless Capital of the world.

So in conclusion
Friendly, adequate for a short stay but noisy and missing today's basics.
Rubbish for modern business.

Ps the car that turned up and woke me up has now gone and the noise in reception has gone with it.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    26
    31
    11
    17
See reviews for
15
32
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights. The elevator barely accommodates 2 adults with luggage so we used the stairs most times. We booked a twin room which was extremely crowded for 2 adults. The bathroom was the worst we have ever experienced in our travels - the bathing area measured 2' x 3 1/2 ' so we could barely turn or bend. The room itself was claustrophobic; one window which looked into a backyard. The tiled floors seemed grimy even though we passed cleaners at work during the day. It was only on the last night of our stay that the light in the corridor outside of our room worked. Walls are thin. In this day of technology, wifi should be available throughout the hotel. One computer in the lobby served the entire hotel. We were taken aback on our arrival to be told that the room price was really 165 euros but there was an offer on. It was overpriced and not even worth the 'offer price'. Nevertheless, accessibility to transport and some shopping and Camp Nou was a plus.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucketListerTrinidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Barcelona
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2012

The hotel is great, lovely personel, breakfast and rooms. Bus and metro around the corner, easy access to everything. We will defo come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Me and my 2year old daughter stayed here for 3nights. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. The location was great, in quiet street, close to shops, metro and bus stop, with easy access to city centre. The room was small, but as we used it for sleep and shower, it was perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Renata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barcelona
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#396 of 512 in Barcelona
242 reviews
Hotel Madanis Liceo
#6 of 10 in L'Hospitalet de Llobregat
206 reviews
Hotel Ruta de Francia
#455 of 512 in Barcelona
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Corts
Arenas Atiram Hotels
Arenas Atiram Hotels
#388 of 512 in Barcelona
201 reviews
Hostal Sans
#345 of 512 in Barcelona
412 reviews
SmartRoom Barcelona
#105 of 512 in Barcelona
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Alguer Camp Nou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Alguer Camp Nou

Property: Hotel L'Alguer Camp Nou
Address: Passatge Pere Rodriguez 20, 08028 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Hotel l'Alguer)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Les Corts
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #459 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'Alguer Camp Nou 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel L'Alguer Camp Nou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel L'Alguer Camp Nou Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing