We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic rooms but good location”
Review of Onix Fira Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Onix Fira Hotel
Ranked #362 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. The customer service isn't the best thing about this hotel but the location is good and we got a room which had sideways view to the park. The room was quiet at night time. The wifi didn't work very well at the room. The roof pool is small but refreshing after long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anniina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

We booked the hotel for a family holiday. We got two rooms on the topfloor. Close to the elevator, but that was not a problem.
The airconditioning in the rooms was set at minimum 23°C, which is to hot to sleep in, at least for us.
We told this at the desk, but nothing was done about it. So we had to leave the windows open at night.
The hotel is just across the arena shopping center and every night, all through the night, trucks come unload the supplies for the shopping mall. The entrance for the supplies is just across the hotel. So not one night of sleep!!!! Even when you close the window!
We thought the noise would come from inside the hotel, and that is just (un)luck, but this was beyond anything I have ever experienced. A shame really, becaus e the hotel is very clean, has nice rooms and an ideal location if the trucks entrance would have been on the other side!
They should but in a good isolation and airco, and this hotel would be a hit!!!!
But we are sure going to choose another hotel on our next stay.

Room Tip: do not take a room on the frontside of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jobxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We booked a weeks holiday through the Hotel's own website. It advertised that accommodation was the same price with or without breakfast (and it still does!) so obviously we booked with breakfast. On arrival, we were told that breakfast was not included and that we would have to pay an extra 15 Euros. I might add at this stage that I had emailed the hotel and noted "breakfast included" on my comments they emailed my confirmation back to me with this notation confirmed.
When we challenged the non inclusion of breakfast, we were told that "many other customers had said the same thing" and that we would have to speak to the reception manager the next morning. This we did, however, he was resolute that breakfast was extra. He offered to call "head office" at 9.00 o'clock, as it was 8.55 we waited for him to do this. He made a call but frankly, as neither of us speaks Spanish, he could have been speaking to anyone and the conversation appeared to amuse him as he giggled quite a lot!

I have complained on the Onix website by email and heard nothing back so must assume that they couldn't care less, a theme which seems to run through the comments quite a lot. We will be taking the matter up with the Spanish Tourist Board.

I will say however, that the room was immaculately clean, if a little tired, and the staff were reasonably approachable although dismissive. Our room a "superior" overlooked the park which we thought would be better than the side road. Unfortunately, there was a dog play park directly in front of the hotel so expect dogs barking from daybreak to late at night. Needless to say, we couldn't comment on the food as we had to pay for breakfast elsewhere!

We would not recommend the hotel there are better ones close by.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Androidf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Fantastic location for getting around. Metro station 2 minutes and Aerobus stop for the airport (bearing in mind the main Airport bus only stops in 2 locations in the whole city this shows you how good the location is). Look out for a long blus bus if arriving from airport.

I wish I'd known about the Aerobus stop prior to getting to Barca as its only 6 euro (takes about 25 minutes) compared to 45 euro for taxi.

I wasn't looking for a fancy expensive hotel- just somewhere clean and safe and 'Travel lodge ' style budget room- which is what you get.

Breakfast was fine ( Kellogs cereals, coffee, toast, yoghurts, small cakes, limited fruit, continental hot food- mini sausage, bacon, scrambled egg, cold meats & cheese). I didn't realise that breakfast was extra when I booked, so check before booking. It wasn't that expensive anyway so didn't mind. If they ask you to sign when your havin brekkie you know that it's not included in your rate.

Room was clean, & basic- but I wasn't there to enjoy the room - the sites of Barcelona are much more interesting than even the top 5star hotel's in town.

You do hear some traffic, but your in the centre of a big city, what do you expect - go to a nursing home if you want peace and quiet. Yes there are marble floors and you could hear people in the corridor and above you if they were really noisy.

Staff were ok, don't expect butler treatment - again do your 5star hotel if that's your thing. Spaniards in general in the whole city were not everly friendly, so didn't expect much different from the hotel. They did their basic job. Don't be alarmed on checking in they demand a city tax ( about 7 euro). It's standard practice in the city I think.

Wasn't warm enough to use the pool area. Took a look at it - pool is more if a large bathtub. There were small seating areas with what looked like they get all day sun if that's your thing. (About 6 chairs) plus another few tables round the corner. Remember this a budget style hotel, so pool is not the main attraction.

The large shopping mall right next to the hotel is great for late night restaurants ( on the roof top) if you've had a busy day and can't be bothered travelling back into the city. Great views of the city and restaurants are pretty good too.

Enjoy Barcelona - it's a great city , but remember:
PICKPOCKET EVERYWHERE IN BARCELONA. Be on your guard at all times.

Overall great budget hotel in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OLA124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I went there for 5 days with family and friends the beginning of November. It's location is very good, next to a subway, a beautiful park and a mall. Some of the staff were very nice, but others seemed super irritated and didn't really try to make a good impression. The rooms were small-ish and the beds not super comfortable. Breakfast wasn't really that appealing either...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisO226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

The hotel is very well located and easy to access from the airport (and everywhere in the city). The reception looks better than the rest of the hotel, which is a bit worn out. My room was big, but not very comfortable, so was the bathroom (with bathtub).
Breakfast was ok. It was good value for money, especially because of its location. Free wi-fi, which did not work well from my room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MITOMAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed here with my partner in September. Staff were incredibly rude on arrival, we were given a twin instead of a double, there was a brick wall directly outside the window, and the room was dirty and uncomfortable. Great location yes, but I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Please stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsonix, Director Comercial at Onix Fira Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Dear Andrew,

I deeply regret that your hotel experience was not what you expected it to be. Thank you for sharing your comments with us: your opinion is important in order to improve our services on a daily bases. I hope some day we will be able to improve your former experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Sant Angelo
Hotel Sant Angelo
#299 of 515 in Barcelona
388 reviews
Eixample
Onix Rambla Hotel
Onix Rambla Hotel
#229 of 515 in Barcelona
573 reviews
Eixample
Ofelias Hotel
Ofelias Hotel
#147 of 515 in Barcelona
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Vilamari
Hotel Vilamari
#191 of 515 in Barcelona
801 reviews
Expo Hotel Barcelona
#333 of 515 in Barcelona
2,823 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#59 of 515 in Barcelona
2,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onix Fira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onix Fira Hotel

Address: C/ Llanca 30, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £52 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Onix Fira Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Onix Fira is a confortable, cosy hotel. Next to the "Fira de Barcelona" (the Barcelona trade fair hall) and the Palacio de Congresos. Its communication is unbeatable, meaning that tourists can enjoy the countless attractions Barcelona has offer. Finish your day with well-deserved rest, enjoying all the conveniences that the Onix Fira offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Onix Fira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Onix Fira
Onix Fira Barcelona
Onix Fira Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing