We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Satisfied - GREAT location!”
Review of Nouvel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nouvel Hotel
Ranked #214 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Hotel is located in heart of city on a narrow, "no vehicle" street. We parked our car at "Forum" parking lot (easy to find, safe, secure and attended) for €36 for up to 5 days.
We then took Tram 4 to "Glories" or "Marina" Metro and took Line 1 to Catalunya station.
It is an easy walk from Catalunya to Nouvel Hotel. (Forum parking to hotel approx. 25 minutes)
The staff were very friendly and imformative. Breakfast is available at hotel but we chose to go to any one of dozens of cafe's in immediate area. The hotel is a traditional older building that has been well maintained. Room was good size with large ensuite. Don't expect a good view. It's downtown and surronded by other buidings.
Tours are available at Catalunya (5 minute walk), La Rambla is 2 minutes at street corner from hotel. You can't beat this location at excellent price/value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMRDICK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

My husband and I have just come back from 4 nights in Barcelona. We chose this hotel based on its price and location. Both are hard to beat - it is really a great value hotel, clean, friendly, good size rooms and superb location. As other reviewers have said it is so easy to get to using the Aerobus from the airport and getting off at Pl Catalunya. And from there it is an easy 5 minute walk. You are surrounded by lots of cafes, bars, restaurants and clothes shops. The open top tourist buses go from Pl Catalunya every 10 minutes or so. It is a nice walk down to the harbour with more nice shops and restaurants. The market which is off La Rambla is great - fruit, veg, fish, chocolates, dried fruit and nuts of every description and some lovely places to eat as well. We went to a fish bar at the back of the market which gets very busy and you have to stand and wait for a stool to perch on but it is well worth it for the lovely fresh fish and shell fish they cook to order. We can't wait to go back to this hotel, which for us was just perfect.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and ours was located on the 2nd floor in the interior section of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank janice-g-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Returned two days ago from a week's stay here. Location, staff, room (overall) were very nice. We took advantage of the Aerobus (A1 route). Don't use Google to map it. It was incorrect. Walk against traffic, cross the street toward the wide pedestrian walkway (left) and the hotel is half a block down on the second right. The first right is a dead end. You'll see flags on the second floor of the second right and the hotel is on the left. Our room was larger than one would expect in a European hotel. It was very clean and housekeeping was great. The noise level was tolerable, but if you are sensitive to noise, you may wish to request a room on the top floor. We heard our neighbors upstairs and had to ask the front desk to request they quiet down (it was 3 am after all).
El Cafeto on the same side of the street was the best cafe and service (we tried all three - Santa Anna further down and El Mos across the way).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hhmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Perfectly placed to the La Rambla & Pl Catalunya! Easy to get to as in literally a 5 minute walk MAX from the Aerobus stop.

A charming hotel with fantastic decor. Vert friendly staff. The room was Ok, decent size & beds with a lovely on suite! You are not paying for 5 star luxury so please don't expect that.

As a base to see the best of Barcelona this is a great hotel. Local restaurants surprisingly decent and the cafe opposite does a great breakfast & espresso!

For once what you see is what you get at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view more expensive, on a weekend or mid week break pick a "classic" room - g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank southbank10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel in February and booked through Aer Lingus. The location of the hotel is fantastic, it is minutes from the Aerobus stop, and seconds from Las Rambla and if you turn the other way when you walk out the front door you will comet to a lovely pedestrianised street hich is excellent for shopping and will bring you down to the Gothic Quarter. The hotel is very nice, it is not new, and the rooms are very high. We stayed for four nights, and spent our first night in a room which seemed to have an interior view, and the bathroom was behind sliding glass doors - not very private at all! When we asked to change there was no problem, and the next room had a view to Carrer St Anna, and two balconies - which were lovely. It also had a better bathroom - completely seperate from the room and very spacious. There was plenty of space for our luggage, and plenty of wardrobe space. The rooms were very warm, and the weather was quite cold! I found the beds to be comrortable, although I didn't like the pillows. Yes, we paid for the safe, it cost €1.50 a day, which is not exorbitant, and we struggled by without a remote control. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and the hotel oozes character.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with exterior view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maryj087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We got a taxi to this hotel at 40 euros on the way there and 46 euros on the way back, mainly to do with travelling back on a Sunday. The bus is jus over 5 euros if you are just travelling as a couple then I would recommend it, however with 6 of us the taxi worked out roughly the same as bus.

When we got to the hotel check in was pretty easy, but seemed to take a while. The staff were okay, didn't really say much.

The room was clean, basic and just what you need. The bathroom is nice, doesn't quite fit with the bedroom as its much more modern and done up. I liked the wardrobe space and there were bed side cabinets as well for extra space. Our room for two people was really for 4 with a sofa bed and an extra single bed. There is a balcony in some rooms, and found looking at my friends rooms they were all similar, some with better views.

The really good thing about this hotel is it is right in the centre of the city near shops and restaurants, so quite good value, about a 15 minute walk to the marina and aquarium. The ice bar was quite a trek so we got a taxi for 20 euros.

The only bad points were the room was quite cold the first night and wouldn't walk up and the beds are rough hard. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, instead choose to eat at a cafe right near the hotel which was cheaper.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cazzzie987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Our 4 day trip to Barcelona was excellent. We booked the Nouvel thro' Travel Republic without hassle and at a good rate. The location could not be more central and within a 5 minute walk from Placa Cataluya/Aerobus stop from the airport.
Other reviewers complain about the hard beds but in all our stays in Spain (30 years+) they are not the best but what the hell! We all survived? If you are quoted for breakfast don't bother. It is mediocre and there are lots of cafes -even in Carrer Santa Anna
The staff are great and very helpful. PS you don't need a TV remote unless you are lazy. Controls are on the TV!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stevieBedfordUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#133 of 515 in Barcelona
2,701 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#184 of 515 in Barcelona
1,506 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona
#172 of 515 in Barcelona
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
#139 of 515 in Barcelona
1,122 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#304 of 515 in Barcelona
427 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#142 of 515 in Barcelona
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nouvel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nouvel Hotel

Address: Santa Ana, 18-20, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #214 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £63 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nouvel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nouvel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nouvel Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing