We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, boutique-type hotel”
Review of Nouvel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nouvel Hotel
Ranked #219 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice, boutique-type hotel”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We booked this hotel for a day before and a day after a Mediterranean cruise and were very pleased with the hotel. The location was good, right off Las Ramblas, and was close to food, shopping and the Hard Rock. The staff at the front desk were more than helpful and very accommodating. We had three people in each room and never tripped over each other. We each had our own bed, the bathroom was very spacious and the shower was great. I loved the balcony in the first room but was surprised to be looking across the courtyard into people's apartments! Our only disappointment was that there were no American outlets, so we had no way to charge our electronics, but we made do and know better for next time. Overall, the hotel was beautiful with amazingly ornate decorations, but the beds were a little on the uncomfortable side, but manageable. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a before/after cruise hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    506
    168
    64
    44
See reviews for
236
414
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Most of the other reviews are pretty accurate. We booked through otel.com and paid about 113 Euros/night. The locations is great - only 1 block from La Rambla and 1 block from the very central Catalunya Square. The people at the reception are multi-lingual and very helpful. You are also only 1 block from a direct bus to and from the airport.

Everything was very clean and well take care of. The shower was wonderful, the room was small but very functional, but we did not get the double bed we thought we had reserved, and had two singles pushed together (which we did find quite common in Europe).

Our included breakfast was pretty basic, and there was plenty of it (croissants, scrambled eggs, fruit, yoghurt). There are lots of great restaurants within a block or two - and those recommended by the hotel were excellent (and they give you a free drink when you present a card from the hotel).

At a time when many other hotels were fully booked - we found the Nouvel to be both quite comfortable and good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Harvey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We were welcomed by a really friendly guy on reception when we arrived, who was more than happy to run through all the local must do's! Lovely.
Location is fabulous for exploring the city but set back from the main drag on a quiet street.
The room itself was very clean with a nice balcony and exactly what you would expect for the money we'd paid. Lovely
But it wasn't until we came back to the room after dinner and drinks we realised we needed to pay a deposit for a remote control! The lady on reception at night had none of the earlier guys customer service skills and the Internet was also charged for! It kind of left a funny taste in the mouth as even the local backpackers offer free wifi...and is there a global remote control shortage I am unaware of that they fear us leaving the country with it !! Bizarre.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This is in a great location, few steps to the Rambla. Which of course also means it can be a bit loud, take ear plug for light sleepers - or drink a bit more.
Room was clean. Shower was superb. Bed was OK.
Did not use the restaurant - you really don't need to, there are loads of places to eat.
I'd use it again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiker321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The hotel is in a great location, you cannot get any better a location just off Las Ramblas.
Now onto the butts.... Firstly room allocation, we booked 2 rooms for 2 couples but under one booking hoping we would be at least be on the same floor, wrong!! different floors. We challenged this but in the end settled with what we had. The room was by the lift, so you could hear everyone coming and going from the lift and the stairs, which is annoying when you are trying to sleep. The breakfast is boring and very overpriced. There is a cafe opposite the hotel which does tea/coffee and crossiants for a fraction of the price.
The bed was fine, not too hard and the pillows were also okay, we were aware of previous comments regarding this.

Santa Anna restaurant is just along from the hotel in the same street, very reasonable price and huge portions. Good food and would recommend it as the restaurants in Las Ramblas are quite pricey.

Room Tip: request a room away from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazzamole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Good location, close to Rambla, Gotic area, and not to far from El Born. Close to a Metro station.
But that said, there is not much more this hotel has to offer. We paid about 200 € pr. night for a small room, clean, ok bathroom, but no minibar, fridge, cooker or anything else,
The hotel has some charm though, and is situated in a nice small street.
We booked through hotels.com, that indicated that the it was ½ price, so it can be much more expencive. At the hotel, they said, that the price varies.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinity, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

The staff was very polite but we had asked for a bed with a king or queen mattress. We go to our room to find 2 twin beds, with mattresses as hard as rocks. When we told the front desk, they took us to another room, which was much smaller, with no view, and only a 7 foot ceiling. They did however, tell us that we would get a better room in the morning. We decided to go around the corner to a 4 star hotel which turned out to be much nicer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#167 of 513 in Barcelona
1,477 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#112 of 513 in Barcelona
988 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#303 of 513 in Barcelona
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
Catalonia Portal de l'Angel
#65 of 513 in Barcelona
1,174 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#134 of 513 in Barcelona
2,606 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
#140 of 513 in Barcelona
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nouvel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nouvel Hotel

Property: Nouvel Hotel
Address: Santa Ana, 18-20, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nouvel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nouvel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nouvel Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing