We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel,friendly staff,clean,quiet,in the centre of the city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nouvel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nouvel Hotel
Ranked #234 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel,friendly staff,clean,quiet,in the centre of the city.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

The hotel was clean,quiet,rooms were big and bathrooms were clean and cleaned every day.The staff couldnt be any helpful and let us leave our case somewhere when we waited for our flight home.You do pay a deposit for tv remote but you do get the 20euros back and You do pay a euro a day for the safe deposit box.The location of the hotel is off the hustle and bustle of la ramblas and Elmos bakery across from the hotel is great for breakfast.Another tip was the restaurant nearby Santa Anna,friendly staff,good food and sangrai.lol We had heard stories about safety and pickpockets.Thankfully nothing happened to us but best to take bumbag/money belt and dont take cards/passport out with you..The city was great and I'd go back to the hotel again.We were given a map and a tour bus leaflet.We went on the tour and were given tips on what to see.The hotels near shops,restaurants,bars.We saw so much in 7 days,not far from the beach and marini.Best sights to see include Sangrada Familla,Casa Biolla,Le Federo,Park Guelli ,Barcelona Cathedral.Brilliant hotel and Great city.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glasgowguy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    475
    160
    62
    43
See reviews for
214
383
34
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Positives:

My Mum and I have just got back from a 3 night trip in a twin room at Nouvel. The hotel location is perfect - just off the Rambla (where the majority of shops and restaurants are), 20 minute walk to the beach and only 30 mins from the airport. Our room was a great size and even had a small shared balcony with a table and chair set. The safe in the room was only 1.50 Euros per day.

The house keeping lady on our floor (2nd) was wonderful - she was so friendly and when I went down to reception as we couldn't work our shower she had fixed it before I even got back to the room.

Downsides:

The man on reception is helpful but can be very abrupt which may come across as rude - don't take this personally - I believe it is just his manner.

The walls were extremely thin, especially for such an old building. The floors are also marbled. This made it very noisy if your neighbouring rooms were loud.

Getting there:

We were a little confused with the directions to the hotel as it is pretty manic when you arrive so... If you arrive into the main airport then walk out the the airport and turn left - heading towards the bus stops. You want the bus which goes to Catalanya. It costs around 6.50 Euros for a single adult. Get off at the final stop and head back where you have just driven towards the Rambla. Take the first left off the Rambla down Santa Ana and you will find the hotel a few doors down on your right.

Conclusion:

A great value hotel right in the heart of Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elliott86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed at Hotel Nouvel for three nights. On the first day, as we were checking in someone walked in off of the street and stole one of our bags right from underneath us. I've heard often of the pick-pockets in Barcelona and I wouldn't ordinarily blame a hotel for the actions of a stranger off the street, but their reaction to the incident was really deplorable. The man at reception (who I actually think was the manager) listened for about .32 seconds when we explained our bag was stolen and then cut us off to say again and again that he "could not be responsible". He must have said it a dozen times without letting us get a word in. The truth was, we weren't looking to hold him "responsible" but honestly, after having that be our first experience there it would have been nice for him to empathize with us or show any sign of kindness instead of defensiveness. A simple, "I'm sorry that happened" would have been sufficient.

Even without the negative experience with the manager, there were a few things lacking about the hotel that's worth knowing about:

1. The beds are hard. They have an extra pillow-cushion you can use and you should ask for it if you go. If you've got back-issues though or really need a soft bed, be aware of it.

2. There's an extra charge for almost everything. From the wireless to the rights to use the safe in the room (and using the safe is advised) you'll find yourself paying an extra 15 euro here and there.

3. Rooms are small, but that's not a big deal. It's an old beautiful building so you'd expect that.

The good stuff --The location is nice, being right between the Ramblas, Barre Gotic and Placia Catalunya and it was pretty affordable if I remember correctly.


Bottom line: If you go, set your expectations low. If you can get over the surly staff and tough beds, the location is good.

Room Tip: Watch your bags as you're checking in. Don't expect an early check-in, it's tough to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MAndersonBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

The hotel was easy to find and so close to the airport bus and tourist buses. We had booked a twin but got a double which was nice. The room was very clean, full of character and charm. The people at reception were welcoming and extremely helpful and knowledgeable on local activities. We would recommend to friends and family and would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pshepherdson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Airport bus drops you off at Placa De Catalunya, and it's no more than 5 mins walk to the Hotel in a no traffic, quiet area, but so close to everything. Rooms are clean and comfortable, no public Internet, but has wifi.

Room Tip: This is a no traffic area Hotel. I was on the 1st floor which was a single room, had a small standin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solotravellerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Located half a block off La Rambla and about that far south of Placa de Catalunya, this hotel has the charm of an older hotel without the inconveniences that older buildings can have. Its location means that it's quiet, too. We're not spring chickens but were able to walk the Bari Gotic, as well as walk down to the water and back up easily from this hotel.

Yes, the beds are firm, but the rooms are very clean and the bathroom is ample. We didn't bother with breakfast here, instead stopping in for pastry and coffee at a small shop across the street. The staff was very helpful and efficient. We got a great deal by paying in advance when we booked it. When we return to Barcelona, as we hope to do, we will stay here again.

Best tips: taxi from airport. They'll drop you at Santa Anna. You'll need to walk from there to hotel because street is pedestrian only. Take a cab to Parc Guell. Two people can use the 10 euro Metro ticket for 5 rides each. We walked (a long way but downhill) from Park Guell to the Metro station to go to Sagrada Familia and then from there to the Picasso Museum.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddywack83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Cottage, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

Great location to much of the main attractions. Amenities are basic, you have to pay for everything, not much bundled as is in other busy cities - breakfast, wi-fi, you even have to leave a deposit for the use of a remote control ( due to theft from what I was told). Staff was helpful for the most part ( older gent who works the day shift was a bit Type A and bristly when inconvenienced ) and accommodating. In general good experience, rooms quiet and clean which is what we value the most. Better value that what other hotels in the area were priced at.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#138 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona
#196 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
NH Barcelona Centro
NH Barcelona Centro
#125 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Catalunya
Hotel Catalunya
#299 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#141 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#108 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nouvel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nouvel Hotel

Property: Nouvel Hotel
Address: Santa Ana, 18-20, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Nouvel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nouvel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nouvel Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing