We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rooms, great location, a recommender”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Maca Guest House
Ranked #131 of 308 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Casa Maca is definately a great bed & breakfast. I visited this place with my mother, who is always very fussy when it comes to cleanliness but she immediately fell in love with the place. When she sat down for the first time, she said: "This is a real holiday", and that's about the biggest compliment a place can get from her. The room was clean and light with separate beds and a balcony. Two showers were available, of which one was not working perfectly by the way. Two minor downsides, sound isolation is not perfect (but it's located in a fairly quiet neighbourhood, so that's not the bigest deal) and the breakfast was nothing special. There were plenty of things to choose from (There was bread, cheese, meat, honey, chocolate paste, cereals, milk, yoghurt, coffee, tea and even some sweet pastries). However, the bread was not that tasty and with a total of 7 people we had to share 8 slices of ham. The girl who has working there was not overfriendly, but she was correct and helpful, which is by far the most important thing. The B&B is located in between the city centre and the famour Sagrada Familia and both can be reached by foot. A metrostation and bus stop are also pretty much next to the B&B. I cannot say anything about the price, since I booked it as a package deal, but if it's not too expensive, I would recommend this for everyone. It's just a wonderful place to relax after a long day of sight-seeing. And several details made it just slightly more luxurious than many other places.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Casa Maca Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

My sister and I found this place via bedandbreakfast.com , though we found that it doesn't have a lot of reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to book it as we liked the look of the rooms in the  photos. the building looks just like any other historic residential building  on the same street, there is no sign only a small label, once arrived we fell in love with the homey atmosphere immediately, there is a small common area, but the guests don't really hang out in there, our room is spacious enough, the twin beds are a tad small, also, there are a lot of books in case we need to kill time in the room, they even provided clean towels and chocolates on arrival, what a nice touch, perhaps we don't really expect  these in a hostel/ b and b. Breakfast is provided in small room with one large dining table, they have got enough selections for you - types of cereal, little cup cakes, toasts, different types of teas and coffee, i opted for hot chocolate. 
For those who have concern on hygiene of shared bathroom, we find the two bathrooms both very clean with lovely fragrance. We had a very nice sleep on the first night, the street is extremely quiet, but don't worry about convenience, it is mins walk from the closer Metro station.  
Will spend another night in this place, I think it will be as nice as the first night. 

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Homey310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

My first time in a Guest House, and I can't wait to repeat the experience with them. The owners were helpfully and friendly people, the location of the house it's better impossible and the room was biggest and clean. Thanks people for the really nice stay! hope to see you again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natinbarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMaca, Propietario at Casa Maca Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you for choosing our guest house for your holiday!! It was a pleasure to be your host, if you think to repeat Barcelona, don't forget that we are here!

Best regards,
All the Casa Maca team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: scegliete le camere con bagno interno
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rakel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MimiVeilleux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
CasaNova Guest House
CasaNova Guest House
#179 of 308 in Barcelona
17 reviews
Eixample
Jardinets Guest House
Jardinets Guest House
#160 of 732 in Barcelona
159 reviews
Blanc Guesthouse
#44 of 308 in Barcelona
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ally's Guest House
Ally's Guest House
#96 of 308 in Barcelona
423 reviews
Montjuic
Camino Bed & Breakfast
Camino Bed & Breakfast
#114 of 308 in Barcelona
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maca Guest House

Address: Bruc 146, 08037 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 308 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £47 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Maca Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Maca Guest House: The unique Modern Barcelona experience Only five minutes walking from Casa Mila/La Pedrera, and ten minutes from Casa Batllo and Sagrada Familia basilica, Casa Maca's location is perfect for total immersion in Barcelona's Modernistic environment. Moreover, Eixample also offers you a wide variety of singular local restaurants, bars and shops, perfect for you to visit in the afternoon after a long and tiring day touring Barcelona. Moreover, located in Bruc street, only 50 meters from Diagonal Avenue, the place is also perfect for you to know all the wonders the city has to offer, considering that the Verdaguer Subway Station, that connects directly to the beach, downtown and Gothic Area, is only one block away. Imagine waking up and stand on a beautiful mosaic floor, specially designed by a modernist architect. This amazing Art Nouveau construction, built in 1910, reflects the beautiful high ceilings, unique mosaic artistic floors and the singular vitraux, which defined the unique Catalan Modernism in the late 19th and early 20th century. But we want you to feel like at home in this amazing construction. You will find a variety of rooms with spectacular designs, equipped with comfortable and cosy furniture, heating and air-conditioning, Wi-Fi connection, and ensuite bathrooms with hair dryer, toiletries and everything you may need. Trip Advisor does not give Certificates of Excellence just because: Casa Maca Guest House delivers a great quality/rate balance. The value paid is worth every single penny when you find the best place for a complete Modernism experience, in a comfortable and dreamy construction Guest House, with customer-oriented and friendly staff willing to make your experience unique. Our rooms offers: * Twin beds or double bed (under availability) * Possibility to add one extra bed * Ensuite bathroom * No smoker room * Heating and Air Conditioner or Fan * Access to the beautiful terrace * Extra blanket * Free wifi * Hair dryer * Soft cotton linens * 100% cotton towels * Shower gel and shampoo * Closet * Large mirror * Free breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Maca Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Maca Guest House Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing