We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Maca Guest House
Ranked #120 of 326 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Nunspeet, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a very nice stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had a very nice stay at Casa Maca!
Not only are the rooms quite big, it is also a very central place.
The most important transportation possibilities, such as metro and bus, are within walking distance.

The people at Casa Maca are very friendly and helpful. They will anwer all your questions about the city barcelona and will try to help you the best they can.

So if you are looking for a great, central place to stay in Barcelona, Casa Maca is a very good choice!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisanne j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMaca, Propietario at Casa Maca Guest House, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Lisanne, What to say?? It's easy for us to offer a nice stay when we have guests as you!!!
As you say, our goal is our location: walking distance to almost touristic places, and if you prefer to move by metro, we have the bus in front of the house and the metro around the corner.... all this in a cozy environment.
We're so happy that you enjoyed and also that you take the time to write a review. Thank you very much!
We will be happy to be your host anytime!

Bests,
The Casa Maca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    87
    46
    22
    23
See reviews for
50
146
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

THE rooms are beautyful, clean and THE location is excellent we've enjoyed our stay at casa maca we would defenetly recomend it. Next time when we re in Barcelona again we will absoloutly stay there. We where with our 15 months old daughther, although She was sick we had a wonderful time. The staff was very kind. I liked THE fact that you could make your own brakefast it was like home.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samirbasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMaca, Propietario at Casa Maca Guest House, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Family,

We're happy to hear that you spend a nice stay with even though your little princess was ill. You can be sure that for us was great to have guests as you, and the smile every morning of your daughter was the best way to start the day!

Hope to see you again!
All the Casa Maca Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Clean room, clean bathroom. Beautifull building.We stayed 4 nights and never had to wait for the showers.Nice breakfast( bread, cake, cheese, ham, salami, yoghurt, cereal) en we could take whatever we liked. Wifi in the room( i couldnt live without it ) and an electric fan. Busstop to centre and beach right in front. And the girls of casa maca were very helpfull...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marit03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMaca, Propietario at Casa Maca Guest House, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Thanks a lot for your review! We really appreciate that you took the time to do it.
Buuuut, we have to say that it's easy our job when we have guests as you! Thank you for have been so respectful and friendly.

We hope to be your host next time!

Bests,
All the Casa Maca team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maassluis, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

A B&B like a B&B is supposed to be. Whhen you enter the B&B there is a place to hang out and use the internet. Our room was very big and the bed slept fine. There were two bathrooms so you never actually did have to wait. The breakfast was just a normal breakfast, toast with cheese, jam, choclat spread, salami etc,, juisces, yoghurt and (I think) home made cake.

Highly recommended if you are going to Barcelona!.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_Naaktgeboren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMaca, Propietario at Casa Maca Guest House, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Cute B&B?? Thank you for this compliment!!!! We love what we do, and of course make us very happy to hear that our guests spend a nice days with us.
Did you enjoyed also the city? We hope so! and of course we hope to be your host next time that you visit Barcelona!

Best regards,
The Casa Maca team ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemainus, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

We booked via a travel agency... the room sucked... you could barely walk around the bed.... No closet in the room just a coat rack with a few hangers...No private bath... no bath robes....The one and only window opened up to a wall 10 feet away... It was very noisy... you could hear all kinds of stuff I don"t want to hear.. We stayed 4 nights and the bed was never made nor was it offered...For breakfast you had to go to the kitchen and figure out for yourself how to make coffee and were the food was hidden. Once we found the food we discovered that all that was offered was some cheese and sandwich meat... and some granola.... In short this was a real experience being used to B&B's in North America... where we get full service and often a la carte breakfasts...Now the hostess.... She did her best to be correct but you could notice she hated her job and was very unfriendly...In short we did not like our stay and would never come back...The only only positive thing about this place ...good location and it was clean...All guests were Dutch and it seems to cater to them all sign are spanish and dutch....

Room Tip: find a different place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiawha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaMaca, Propietario at Casa Maca Guest House, responded to this review, 9 February 2013
Dear Melanie & Wilhelmus,

Thank you to take the time to write a review, this is very important to help the other guests and to help us to improve.

We would like to clarify some points of your review:
- In none of our website we say that we offer bath robes, or daily cleaning.... and of course in our website we say "shared bathroom" always. Obviously you came with different expectations and/or the agency where you booked did not explain our offer well.
Our philosophy is to offer a clean, cozy and good located B&B for very attractive prices. We don't offer private bathrooms nor a-la-carte breakfast, nor a daily cleaning and our price is adjusted to our offer. We think that people come to see Barcelona rather than stay inside or place.
- For the breakfast, I have to say that we have much more that you mention: 2 types of bread, juices, tea, coffee, ham, cheese, jam, butter, chocolate and nuts cakes, sponge cakes, yogurt, milk, cereal...
- And finally, all our signs are in english and dutch. We don't have ANY sign in Spanish.

Regards,
Carla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heemskerk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

We stayed last week in casa maca 2,it is cosy and clean and good service.
The breakfast includes all you need,all places are in walking distance or you take the metro or bus.
The best to buy is a T 10 (9.80 euro)card at the station that you can use on the train,bus or metro.
You only use one at a time,so it means that you only pay 98 cents from the airport to the city!
From the airport you can take the train and go out at gracia station and walk from there or go to sants barc and take a metro to verdaguer.(but then its a long walk underground)
Its a old building so you can hear the people in the other room..But it is a good place to stay and explore Barcelona :)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingridpeereboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

Casa Maca is definately a great bed & breakfast. I visited this place with my mother, who is always very fussy when it comes to cleanliness but she immediately fell in love with the place. When she sat down for the first time, she said: "This is a real holiday", and that's about the biggest compliment a place can get from her. The room was clean and light with separate beds and a balcony. Two showers were available, of which one was not working perfectly by the way. Two minor downsides, sound isolation is not perfect (but it's located in a fairly quiet neighbourhood, so that's not the bigest deal) and the breakfast was nothing special. There were plenty of things to choose from (There was bread, cheese, meat, honey, chocolate paste, cereals, milk, yoghurt, coffee, tea and even some sweet pastries). However, the bread was not that tasty and with a total of 7 people we had to share 8 slices of ham. The girl who has working there was not overfriendly, but she was correct and helpful, which is by far the most important thing. The B&B is located in between the city centre and the famour Sagrada Familia and both can be reached by foot. A metrostation and bus stop are also pretty much next to the B&B. I cannot say anything about the price, since I booked it as a package deal, but if it's not too expensive, I would recommend this for everyone. It's just a wonderful place to relax after a long day of sight-seeing. And several details made it just slightly more luxurious than many other places.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barcelona City North
#182 of 326 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Montjuic
Camino Bed & Breakfast
Camino Bed & Breakfast
#126 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Garden House Hostel Barcelona
#118 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Ally's Guest House
Ally's Guest House
#91 of 326 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Eixample
bcn Fashion House
bcn Fashion House
#51 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Martinval
Hostal Martinval
#18 of 326 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maca Guest House

Property: Casa Maca Guest House
Address: Bruc 146, 08037 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Maca Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Maca Guest House: The unique Modern Barcelona experience Only five minutes walking from Casa Mila/La Pedrera, and ten minutes from Casa Batllo and Sagrada Familia basilica, Casa Maca's location is perfect for total immersion in Barcelona's Modernistic environment. Moreover, Eixample also offers you a wide variety of singular local restaurants, bars and shops, perfect for you to visit in the afternoon after a long and tiring day touring Barcelona. Moreover, located in Bruc street, only 50 meters from Diagonal Avenue, the place is also perfect for you to know all the wonders the city has to offer, considering that the Verdaguer Subway Station, that connects directly to the beach, downtown and Gothic Area, is only one block away. Imagine waking up and stand on a beautiful mosaic floor, specially designed by a modernist architect. This amazing Art Nouveau construction, built in 1910, reflects the beautiful high ceilings, unique mosaic artistic floors and the singular vitraux, which defined the unique Catalan Modernism in the late 19th and early 20th century. But we want you to feel like at home in this amazing construction. You will find a variety of rooms with spectacular designs, equipped with comfortable and cosy furniture, heating and air-conditioning, Wi-Fi connection, and ensuite bathrooms with hair dryer, toiletries and everything you may need. Trip Advisor does not give Certificates of Excellence just because: Casa Maca Guest House delivers a great quality/rate balance. The value paid is worth every single penny when you find the best place for a complete Modernism experience, in a comfortable and dreamy construction Guest House, with customer-oriented and friendly staff willing to make your experience unique. Our rooms offers: * Twin beds or double bed (under availability) * Possibility to add one extra bed * Ensuite bathroom * No smoker room * Heating and Air Conditioner or Fan * Access to the beautiful terrace * Extra blanket * Free wifi * Hair dryer * Soft cotton linens * 100% cotton towels * Shower gel and shampoo * Closet * Large mirror * Free breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Maca Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Maca Guest House Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing