We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Gran Hotel Barcino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Hotel Barcino
Ranked #440 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Grenoble, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and couldn't have been happier with the location. It had a balcony and was very spacious for a European hotel. It's very close to metros (Jaume 1 and Liceu), and a short walk from La Rambla and the Cathedral. There is a ton to do in this area and it's nice to be able to come back to the hotel throughout the day.

Room Tip: In room 208(on the street side of the building) the bed is extremely loud with any movement. The win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tramanda-in-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GARGALLO, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Barcino, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear client,
Thank you very much for your review and th kind words!
We appreciate your opinion because we are trying to improve ourselves all the time in order to offer our guest always the best service.
We wait to meet in a future.
Best regards
Elia Buen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    122
    138
    72
    72
See reviews for
71
166
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. We arrived around 11 o'clock and the room was ready. The hotel is situated at 3 min from Las Ramblas and around 2 min from Cathedral of Barcelona. The location is excellent, near metro, restaurants, bars and shops. The rooms are basic but big enough and clean. The breakfast is buffet with a large variety of sausages, salami and spanish jambon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellena1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GARGALLO, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Barcino, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear client
First of everything we thank you for expressing your opinion. We are been charmed with of that your stay out of your pleasure since it is our objective maximum. We wait to meet again in a future.
Best regards
Elia Buen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We spent one night at this hotel after a cruise and though we arrived quite early, were given our room right away. Unfortunately, there are renovations going on to the façade that we were unaware of, so there was a bit of hammering and banging going on.
The hotel itself is quite nice and the room a good size. There is no air conditioning only heating, which was a little too warm and stuffy for our liking but the beds were comfortable.
The hotel is located in the Gothic Quarter,very close to La Ramblas but not as noisy.
Breakfast was rather a strange assortment of cold meats, sausages, boiled eggs and fruit but it sufficed. They also provide free WiFi. I would stay here again but definitely not in the hot weather.

Room Tip: Though I did not find our street facing room particularly noisy I would suggest a back room if looki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My husband I stayed here early Oct. 13 for 5 nights. It has a great location, close to Las Ramblas and restaurants, metro, tourist info and shops. The breakfast was basic and uninteresting. As we had a front room we experienced a lot of noise some nights from early morning revellers but I think you have to expect that in Spain, ear plugs helped. There was one young man at the front desk that was totally uninterested in a problem we had but the rest were quite pleasant. We found Wifi spasmodic and we got stuck in the lift twice. Our room was clean and our beds were very comfortable. The cleaning of the front of the hotel didn't bother us much as we were not there during the day.

Room Tip: At the back if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral, Merseyside
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Me and my partner were looking for a cheap hotel with good location. The location itself was very convenient, ten mins from the beach, plenty of bars and shops on your doorstep and the metro subway across the road.

The hotel room itself was ok, very basic but very clean with a nice balcony and the room was cleaned well daily. The things that let the hotel down dramatically was the reception customer service! They barley spoke English, looked very miserable and the greeting we got on arrival was certainly not friendly considering we were paying customers! Not helpful im the slightest, even asking when breakfast was served or for a iron felt like it was too much trouble. The food wasnt very appealing at breakfast either.

 Also there is alot ot reconstruction work happening to the hotel at present so the noise first thing in the morning was awful. If the staff were more friendly then we would of considered staying again but the customer service was not good so for that reason we would not return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiemay789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarragona, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I booked this hotel through late room dot com and was looking forward to a relaxing night's stay. However it was not to be. The room and bathroom were clean, but the toiletries were limited to a thin slice of soap and barely a squeeze of shampoo. The hotel claims the rooms are soundproofed. This is a complete fabrication because the blaring music from the shops across the road can be heard clearly, as can the revellers passing the hotel until dawn. The corridor from our 2nd floor room stank of stagnant water. Had I not been so tired, I would've demanded a better, quieter room at the back of the hotel. Also note that the front façade is being cleaned / renovated so the banging and drilling adds to the noise. Definitely not a 4 star hotel. On a positive note, the air conditioning worked and was very quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed there recently with a group of friends. It claims to be a 4 star hotel but I'd put it nearer a 2 star superior. My room overlooked the front of the hotel and so I was kept up most of the night by the noise of revellers walking past the hotel. On a positive note it is perfectly located about 5 minutes from las ramblas. Plenty of decent bars and restaurants nearby. My room was clean with a decent bathroom and a small balcony. Breakfast was a self service buffet which was fairly average at best. I took to leaving the hotel and walking down to the nearby Cappuccino bar where the coffee and breakfast was good. Overall clean and convenient place just don't expect it to be 4 star. Wouldn't recommend it to friends and wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the rear if the hotel if you want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainCheerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#339 of 513 in Barcelona
32 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#318 of 513 in Barcelona
586 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#253 of 513 in Barcelona
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#353 of 513 in Barcelona
1,653 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Exe Laietana Palace
Exe Laietana Palace
#377 of 513 in Barcelona
519 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#234 of 513 in Barcelona
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Barcino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Barcino

Property: Gran Hotel Barcino
Address: Jaime I , 6, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#218 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Barcino 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Gothic quarter, surrounded by shops, restaurants and leisure areas, Gran Hotel Barcino offers you to enjoy Barcelona with all the comforts of a 4 star hotel. Thanks to its excellent location, accessible within a few minutes walking las Ramblas, the beach, the Cathedral... Near the hotel you will find a parking fee and several public transport options to move comfortably through Barcelona. The Gran Hotel Barcino is located at C / Jaume I, 6, street giving to the famous plaza de Sant Jaume, where the Generalitat de Catalunya and the City Hall are located. Its prime location in the famous Gothic quarter, within the historic centre of Barcelona, and its proximity to the Cathedral, las Ramblas, restaurants, shops and tourist attractions, make it the perfect accommodation choice for Barcelona. The Gran Hotel Barcino, located in the Gothic quarter of Barcelona, offers 68 comfortable rooms, decorated in a modern and cosy style with marble floors and spacious bathrooms. All the rooms have: air conditioning and heating, telephone, TV, private bathroom with shower or bathtub, hairdryer and toiletries, safe (with charge) and Wi-Fi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Barcino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Gran Hotel Barcino Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing