We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very noisy and unhelpful staff”
Review of Gran Hotel Barcino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Hotel Barcino
Ranked #439 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
swf73
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very noisy and unhelpful staff”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Can only agree with previous comments. Hotel is located in very noisy area and traffic continues throughout the night making sleep impossible for most of the time.
The hotel is perhaps of 2* standard at best. There is a bar but, we were told by reception staff it never opens and it certainly didn't during our stay.
Rooms are very basic and definately not 4*.standard.
The hotel staff are both unhelpful and unfriendly as others have stated.
There are many hotels in the Las Ramblas area and this one is poor in comparison to all others we saw there. It needs new staff who are committed to customer service, double glazing in rooms and facilities like a bar should be open not just left in darkness unused. This hotel could not be reccomended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swf73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    122
    138
    72
    72
See reviews for
71
166
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Barcino is in a great location, but the noise from the street was unbearable through the night even with plenty of wine and ear plugs!!!!!!!!!!! We were on the first floor because of the noise could not have the window open and the air con is not turned on until May.!!!!!!!
The reception staff was not welcoming or friendly.
On the plus side the hotel was very clean our room was good so was the breakfast depending how fresh the bread was(the only friendly member of staff was found here)
The location makes up for most of the down-side if staying again would as for a back room and go in May when the air con is on.
Such a shame about the staff!!!!!!!

Room Tip: choose a back room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lyn534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldtown, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This was rated as a 4 star hotel. The room we had was above a very noisy street and it wouldn't have been so bad but the air conditioner wasn't working so we had to leave the window open. They collect trash 2 times a night starting at 11pm. There was no sleep for 3 nights. The staff was not very friendly either for help with directions etc. no way is this a 4 star.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelistachic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The location of this hotel is amazing, but that is about it. Oh, the marble floors and pillars are pretty nice as well.

The common areas of the hotel is very bad lit. Corridors and stairwells would go dark as you were in the middle of them, which felt a little unsafe and simply wrong.

As for the rooms, the air condition was malfunctioning in our first room and in our second room (we got to change room due to ants and an excessive amount of broken power sockets). The walls seemed to be made of cardboard; you could here every sound on the street directly in to your room. The cleanliness was impeccable though, as well as the bathrooms and the beds. If you don't care about street sounds and just want a place to sleep, this is a good hotel.

We ordered, and payed extra for, breakfast at the hotel. This was a very bad idea since the main component in the breakfast was dried up bread and greasy sausages. There are a lot of small cafés in the gothic area where you could get a better breakfast.

The part that really got me, and what will make me think twice before ever visiting Barcelona again, was the staff: if you are not willing to help the costumer, you should not work at a hotel.
All through the week there had been some minor mistakes made by the staff, which one by one (like getting the wrong information or no information or to have to ask for everything twice) only was annoying, but when we summed it up, it was more than we felt that we should accept.
The worst part was someone went into my room, broke open my bag and searched it. Nothing was stolen, but the bag is now useless and, sadly, it makes me distrust hotel employees. Instead of helping a costumer that has beens exposed to an offence, the staff sent me away to the nearest police station as they wouldn't do anything without the police report. When I finally got that, they still refused to help me as "the insurance company will contact you some time next week".
My experience with insurance companies is that they don't come to you to give you money, especially if you're not the client (but this is a spanish insurance company, maybe they'll work in some other way).
Even though this may or may be the standard way of handling something like this, the staffs reaction and way to handle the situation was really ignorant.



TLDR;

Great location, good bed, bad breakfast, worse staff.

Room Tip: The rooms on the fifth floor doesn't have a balcony but are quieter than the ones on the lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lat59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 3 night stay here. Fairly basic and tired hotel but the room was comfortable, the shower worked ok, it was very clean and we were on the 3rd floor so noise from the street was bearable. Our booking excluded breakfast - there are loads of places nearby so you don't need to eat in the hotel anyway! The hotel bar was never open, but again there are lots of bars and restaurants on the doorstep so not a problem. As mentioned by others the staff are indifferent. If you want to be pampered by hotel staff then stay somewhere else, but to be honest, our main aim was for a comfortable stay close to the tourist stuff and this hotel is ideally situated - La Rambla and the port are 5 mins walk, and it's in the gothic quarter which has some really good restaurants and bars, is great for shopping and is close to the metro stops. This hotel is definitely not 4 star and even though the downsides were swamped by the superb location, we will no doubt check out one of the other nearby (and maybe cheaper) hotels next time.

Room Tip: Either get a room at the back of the hotel or on floor 3 or above to reduce the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Barcino, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear sirs,Thank you for giving us your opinion. We take note of your comments to be able to improve. We are satisfied because you liked the situation of the hotel in full center of Barcelona.
Best regards
Elia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

This hotel boasts of being both 4 star and soundproofed. It was neither....The room we had was basic and clean but dark and was at front of the hotel on first floor. The noise was unbelievable!

The lighting in the public areas was obviously sensor controlled and so was pitch dark until you waved yours arms in the air. As a female I would not have felt safe if travelling alone as it didn't always come on.

Breakfast was basic and nothing exciting served in a dull and dingy area.

Good point about the hotel was the location. Only few minutes from La Ramblas and Barcelona Cathedral and it's very comfortable bed.

Wouldn't recommend the hotel or stay there again

Room Tip: The only tip I can give us to choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsgGateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELIA B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Barcino, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear client,
Thank you for expressing your opinion in this way. We take note of your comments to be able to improve our services.
Best regards
Elia Buen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenoble, Rhone-Alpes, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and couldn't have been happier with the location. It had a balcony and was very spacious for a European hotel. It's very close to metros (Jaume 1 and Liceu), and a short walk from La Rambla and the Cathedral. There is a ton to do in this area and it's nice to be able to come back to the hotel throughout the day.

Room Tip: In room 208(on the street side of the building) the bed is extremely loud with any movement. The win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tramanda-in-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GARGALLO, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gran Hotel Barcino, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear client,
Thank you very much for your review and th kind words!
We appreciate your opinion because we are trying to improve ourselves all the time in order to offer our guest always the best service.
We wait to meet in a future.
Best regards
Elia Buen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Gotico
Hotel Gotico
#336 of 514 in Barcelona
31 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Medinaceli
Hotel Medinaceli
#318 of 514 in Barcelona
586 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
Hotel Colonial Barcelona
#255 of 514 in Barcelona
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#350 of 514 in Barcelona
1,649 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Exe Laietana Palace
Hotel Exe Laietana Palace
#377 of 514 in Barcelona
518 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Suizo
Hotel Suizo
#243 of 514 in Barcelona
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Barcino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Barcino

Property: Gran Hotel Barcino
Address: Jaime I , 6, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#217 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Barcino 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Gothic quarter, surrounded by shops, restaurants and leisure areas, Gran Hotel Barcino offers you to enjoy Barcelona with all the comforts of a 4 star hotel. Thanks to its excellent location, accessible within a few minutes walking las Ramblas, the beach, the Cathedral... Near the hotel you will find a parking fee and several public transport options to move comfortably through Barcelona. The Gran Hotel Barcino is located at C / Jaume I, 6, street giving to the famous plaza de Sant Jaume, where the Generalitat de Catalunya and the City Hall are located. Its prime location in the famous Gothic quarter, within the historic centre of Barcelona, and its proximity to the Cathedral, las Ramblas, restaurants, shops and tourist attractions, make it the perfect accommodation choice for Barcelona. The Gran Hotel Barcino, located in the Gothic quarter of Barcelona, offers 68 comfortable rooms, decorated in a modern and cosy style with marble floors and spacious bathrooms. All the rooms have: air conditioning and heating, telephone, TV, private bathroom with shower or bathtub, hairdryer and toiletries, safe (with charge) and Wi-Fi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Barcino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Barcelona
Gran Hotel Barcino Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing