We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth it”
Review of U232 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U232 Hotel
Ranked #52 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“well worth it”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Booked as a package holiday and was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel for the low price we paid. Location was perfect for us as it was just outside the main City Centre with just a short Metro ride to all the sights we wanted to see.
Staff were very accomodating and helpful with queries we had. It looked as though they had done a good job of maintaining recently as it felt recently upgraded. Rooms were very comfortable and cleaned to a very good standard. Would quite happily stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee16743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,793
    966
    180
    44
    22
See reviews for
457
1,647
130
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The hotel is located close to the city centre, but away from the fuss of the tourist areas. In other words, calm at all times. A few metro stops away from the Gotic. The room was spacious with a large balcony and a clean bathroom. Some mold in the bath.
Good service, all staff were friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was a tragedy, everything on the buffet came from a can or a plastic bag. If you like a fresh breakfast, avoid this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asianride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

First off I am overall quite happy with my experience and would recommend this hotel for people of all ages. The hotel staff is very nice and were extremely helpful in giving tips that helped us experience Barcelona tourist attractions more effectively. I am an experienced traveller, but they were able to provide little suggestions that made each experience easier to access. For example, when they found out our plans to go to La Sagrada Familia the moring we arrived they suggested getting the tickets online (using the hotel´s business conference room) to avoid waiting in line at the sight. Those little suggestions for many of our day excursion helped us access each site efficiently (who doesn´t hate waiting in line when they don´t have to?).
On to the rooms. Overall the rooms were clean. I would suggest bring your own shampoo and conditioner as the shampoo provided was horrible. We had two bathrooms in our room so my friend and I were able to get ready at the same time which really helped get out of the room faster. There was even a tub in one of the bathrooms (which we used to soak our sore feet in after one particular day of marathon walking).
The other added benefit of this more out-of-the-way locale is the supermarkets! There is one around the corner and a bigger one 3 blocks away. It really helped to stock up there on fruit, water, muffins, etc. when we needed things and helped keep our costs way down. I bought water there every day for 20 cents (in euros). I also found a great patisserie right next to the metro stop. There tea con leche is great and so are their pasties and sandwiches. I recommend the jamon con queso (warm). You also must try some of their hot chocolate. For those who have never had European style chocolate you are in for a treat. The ladies there were so friendly and helpful in taking my order, never getting frustrated with my high school Spanish and they would always make recommendations for me to try. They were so friendly and welcoming that I would go there every morining before jumbing on the metro.
Now on to the cons...first the location. The metro is super easy. Anyone who has lived in NYC, DC, Boston, etc. will find this system a cake walk. And even those newbies to public transportation will find the color-coded lines easy to read. However, the hotel is definately in an out of the way locale. Its not in the middle of the action. Yes it is conveniently located right next to a metro stop, but only choose this hotel if you´re OK with using the metro, taxis, or buses to travel just about everywhere.
The other con that I would mention is privacy/lack of sound-proofing. I could frequently hear people in the hallway at night and even in the room next to us.
Finally, this isn´t really a con, but it´s important to note that the U232 seems to be more of a business hotel so don´t be suprised if you´re surrounded more by business people then tourists (that might acutally be more of a positive now that I think on it).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window that let´s light in. The one´s in my room made it appear it was dawn-d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights. Staff very good, helpful.
Room clean, in good condition. Balcony overlooking street.
Room too hot and air conditioning not end equate to keep in control. Dread to think what would be like in summer.
However room quiet. Bathroom OK, shower was impossible to get decent flow of hot water. Used handheld spray aye he'd to taps instead which was more than adequate. Sink drained very slowly indeed which meant it filled up very quickly which was a bit annoying. No coffee making facilities in room - a major black mark in my eyes.
Breakfast a bit so-so, coffee good, staff good.
Price good and about 50m from metro so access to rest of city excellent.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Easy to get to by train & metro from airport and easy to find when you emerge. Chic decoration and calm atmosphere. This is the quietest hotel I have ever stayed in, no noise from other rooms or corridor. Travelling as a mother and son we have often had to endure noises from other rooms which a teenager doesn't want to hear with his mother! We asked for a room with a view if possible and got a room on the front with a small balcony. The room was large and well supplied. The free wi-fi was a decent speed and reliable. I would have liked the shower to come out from the wall a little more but it wasn't a problem. The location was very good, we walked to Camp Nou and back from Sagrada Familia with no problem. The staff made good recommendations for restaurants in the area and had information for tourist buses and other attractions or facilities. Buy your tourist bus ticket here, you pay 5 euros at the hotel and the rest on the bus but you get a 2 euro discount on the bus price. We will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seymour61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
280 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

good hotel, which i would rate at 3,5 stars and not 4. if you find a deal with rooms costing less than 100 euros, you should not hesitate!

the pluses:
- excellent location, 100m from the metro "Hospital Clinic"
- quiet rooms, clean
- very helpful staff

the minuses:
- amenities are not fully at 4* level
- the bathroom is quite strange

recommended if you get a good deal.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrei I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Confused by the number of Barcelona hotels to choose from, a friend recommended a boutique type of hotel that he had stayed at. It was very good. Quiet room on the 9th floor with a good sized balcony. It was called a top room, so expect the top cost but we thought it was good value. The hotel is roughly a 20 minute walk to the centre or a 2 minute walk to the nearest metro station (and a 5-10 minute tube journey). Note we walked a lot on the holiday and, even veering off tourist routes, still felt at ease.
For those who want to take the "hop on, hop off" tourist buses, the two routes ( blue for north and red for south), both have stops just 3 minutes walk from the hotel.
Okay, the hotel is not in the centre but its not far and with the excellent transport systems, it doesn't matter anyway.
A good hotel that I would now recommend too.

Note, if you intend visiting the Sagrada Familia, make sure you get there for it opening. We arrived at 09:30 only to find a long queue, and even then we were not allowed to join the end but instead, were given tickets with a time of 10:30 in our case for when we could join the queue. Once in the queue, it moved fairly quickly (just make sure you keep the tickets as they ask for them as a check just before you reach the ticket kiosk). Even at that time, the audio guides were all out and it was a 3 hour wait if we wanted to go up the tower.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a Top Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CannyScotEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#41 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,662 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#77 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,793 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#84 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Property: U232 Hotel
Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing