We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel for the rate we paid”
Review of U232 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
U232 Hotel
Ranked #56 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. We arrived the hotel early and lucky there's room avail and we were able to check in early. Front Desk Staffs are friendly and helpful, answered all our "touristy" questions.

Location:
Not very central, but very close to Metro. Approx 5 mins to the Hop on/off Bus station.

Room:
Our room is located on the 9/F, very quiet, clean and spacious.
We requested a King size bed and we only get two singles put together with two seperate bedsheets. Mattresses are worn out, no blankets provided until we requested for them the next day.

Food:
We purchased the breakfast package. Not much variety, but good enough.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asun P, General Manager at U232 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear U232 guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Hotel U232. I sincerely regret that you found our hotel to be "average for the rate you paid", since we always strive to exceed guests expectations.

I have taken good note of your suggestions regarding worn out mattresses and will look into that right away. In regards to the availability of king beds, they are assigned subject to availability, and I apologize if they were not available during your stay. Blankets should be available in all the rooms as of next week, when apparently fall weather is finally arriving in Barcelona, but if requested, should have been delivered inmediately.

If your future travel plans include Barcelona, we would definitely appreciate another opportunity to improve your perception about our hotel. Please contact me directly at apareja@nnhotels.com so I can handle your reservation.

Best regards from Barcelona,

Asun Pareja
Hotel Manager
apareja@nnhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,149)
There are newer reviews for U232 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,143 of 3,149 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Had a really enjoyable weekend based at this hotel - the room was large, with funky design touches, roomy bathroom and a huge terrace with great seating all to oursleves. Pity that the weather did not allow much use of this lovely space.
Good breakfast too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yellowleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I had a thorougly enjoyable 4 night stay at hotel u232. The hotel is located outside of central Barcelona, but within easy reach to all the sights. The location itself was surrounded with lots of cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. I usually prefer to stay in these areas over areas that are too close to attractions and overpopulated with tourists. I also felt more safer within this area than other parts of Barcelona

The Metro stop 'Hospital Clinic' is located two blocks away from the hotel (Be sure to take the Comte d' Urgell exit if your arriving at this stop from the Airport as this will take you to the road the hotel is located on.)

Me and my wife paid a little extra to stay in the top room (Room 909) , which was great. Large comfy bed, safe, dining table, and lovely terrace. The bathrom had a his and hers showers and sinks, bidet, powerful hairdryer and a useful person hygeine kit!

The decor throught the hotel was clean and modern but dark in areas. Almost felt like a cigar club, which i found quite quirky.

Service was good, any requests were dealt with quickly and efficiently. The staff spoke good English.

The hotel extras such as food and drink was very good value for money if your comparing against hotels in cities like London, Paris and Rome.

The breakfast was continental as you would expect with most European Cities, and had an adequate variety.

I would definately return to hotel u232 and i think you should too!

Room Tip: Room 909 is a TOP ROOM. worth paying the extra for.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrandMrsOomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

As in any major city, parking is always a challenge. A public parking just next door, with almost direct access to the hotel is huge bonus for people travel by cars.
Rooms are decorate in "black and white", literally.
Leave the car in the garage and travel by metro (100 meter away) get you anywhere in Barcelona in 15 minute. Beds are large (very large).

Room Tip: Pick a room facing street (west) and ask for 5th floor or higher to get a good view. There is balcon...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The subdued colour scheme of this hotel already strikes one as one enters from the street into the reception area. The same colour scheme is repeated in the rooms. We stayed at an upper floor, in a comfortable, good-sized room, with a bathroom (with two showers) and a large terrace. The terrace was equipped with a sunshade, a table with chairs and also two deck-chairs to soak in the evening sun... The Hotel is ideally situated for the "Hospital" Metro Station and in walking distance to the restaurants in the Eixample.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bamboo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

In general I like U232 hotel. We lived in a spacious room on the 9th floor, large bathroom, original design - a wall of black stone tiles, Jacuzzi (unfortunately, was the only available option from 4).
Beautiful view from the huge terrace, which was nice for having dinner.
Breakfast - no change during the week, the food is delicious.
The hotel is located 3 minutes from the metro station and less than 10 minutes' walk from the Avenida Diagonal.
Helpful staff, small problems were resolved quickly.
Traffic on the street is very noisy (a lot of bikes), so I recommend the upper floors and rooms, opposite the street.
I can recommend U232 - good hotel in a fun city.

Room Tip: upper floors and rooms, opposite the street are quieter
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikhailYekaterinburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

before i left for barcelona i was a little worried with some of the reviews i had read about this hotel. NOTHING TO WORRY ABOUT HERE - we stayed for 4 nights and upgraded to a room with a balcony, the staff were helpful and polite. the hotel was clean and tidy and had a lovely feel about it. just the right distance to some very interesting places as walking gave us a great chance to see the sights and enjoy wonderful street cafes along the way. there is a tube and bus route local to the hotel and the open top sight seeing bus runs just two blocks away - perfect. I would say this is a great hotel dont be worried about staying here.

Room Tip: go higher to avoid the street noise - but it is a city so be realistic.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doris708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 513 in Barcelona
3,969 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#39 of 513 in Barcelona
2,285 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#78 of 513 in Barcelona
2,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,817 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#53 of 513 in Barcelona
2,258 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#74 of 513 in Barcelona
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#41 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#46 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £78 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelClick, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing