We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not safe”
Review of U232 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U232 Hotel
Ranked #62 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is very nice, peaceful and in a convenient (although not perfect) location.
I would certainly recommend it if it weren't that some cash magically disappeared from our room.

We left most of our valuable in the safety locker, but some cash was inside our luggage and one day it disappeared.

We reported the event to the lobby. I was not expecting a reimbursement, but certainly something more than a single "I am sorry" by the clerk on duty.

Room Tip: Take extreme care with the valuables you leave in the room. If you really want to go to this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Xiaobu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asun P, General Manager at U232 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear U232 guest,

I sincerely regret the unfortunate incident that apparently took place with some cash missing from your luggage. This is definitely an isolated incident that we are investigating to prevent it from happening to any other guests. Safety has never been a concern for our guests, as demonstrated by the many positive reviews in this and other online reputation sites, but I certainly understand your disappointment.

If your future travel plans bring you back to Barcelona, we would certainly appreciate another opportunity to serve you. I will personally handle your reservation.

Best regards from Barcelona,

Ms. Asun Pareja
Hotel Manager
apareja@nnhotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,028 - 1,034 of 3,189 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

A very good hotel out of the centre of town so quite quiet, excellent breakfast and very comfortable beds and very clean rooms. The only downside is the dark interior and if you happen to have a room with no view it can feel very colaustrophobic! and very dark and no idea what the time or weather is. loved the roof terrace though. Also it can be quite a walk to find your dinner in the evening after an exhausting day sight seeing.

Room Tip: make sure you have a room with a window that has a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovfood2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel located in the Le Eixample' neighborhood of Barcelona was perfect for our stay of ten days. We had a balcony and the metro was 2 blocks away. Not in the center of town but an easy 20 minute walk to the top of the Ramblas. The metro was easy to navigate so we took that around town. The staff was helpful and friendly with a lovely terrace on the roof for lounging. Comfortable bed and good shower. Plenty of room for two. Keep in mind the metro closes at different hours depending on the day so have taxi fare in case you are having late tapas in the Gotic area.

Room Tip: Request a balcony - not guaranteed. Good breakfast buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharky8is2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

While we read different opinions about U232. Ultimately we were delighted with our choice. Great location for exploring Barcelona and a lovely boutique hotel to rest and relax in at night! Definitely would recommend to any body who has doubts... Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I can't recommend the Hotel U232 high enough. The hotel is self had a warm and welcoming atmosphere, the staff were extremely accomodating, friendly and very knowledgable. Language was no barrier either.. The premises were always so clean and nothing was ever any trouble, whether it be giving directions or their local knowledge on attractions and how to get there.
10/10 from me.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tania Maree R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Initially on arrival I thought perhaps I should have picked a hotel more central but there is a metro stop very close and it is a brilliant way to get around the city so don't be put off by the location. Metro is clean, easy to get around and cheap.
The staff were very helpful and friendly.
The room was lovely, modern and clean. The shower was great, an important feature of a hotel room for me, especially in a city after a long day seeing the sights. We had a little terrace out the back but hardly used it as the sun was on it in the morning and we were out exploring at those times.
We didn't have breakfast booked because we like to try out little cafes instead but tried it one morning and there was a wide choice of food.
It would have been good to have had a kettle and tea/coffee in the room but when I mentioned it to the staff at the end of my stay they said I should have asked for hot water and they would have provided it. It is something expected in UK hotel rooms and I was surprised that it wasn't mentioned on any reviews.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone that didn't mind being a little way out from the centre as travelling around the city is easy to do and it was pleasant at night to eat out in the local restaurants that weren't so crowded as those in the tourist hot spots.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelhoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel felt like a 4 star hotel, sometimes when going over seas you might not get the same star quality as the US. However this hotel felt very modern, clean and well kept. The bed was extremely comfortable and the carpet smelled cleaned. The bathroom had a rain shower head and great preasure, the shampoo and body wash were just average though. The size of the room was nice for 2 people, plenty of walking room, lots of mirrors and a big bathroom (full size blow dryer). The closest Metro stop is Hospital Clinic, which is maybe a 10 minute walk. Near the hotel were a few spots for breakfast, lunch and dinner, we stopped at Dino Pan for breakfast everyday(I think was the name) 2 ham cheese crossaints and 2 sodas or coffee under 5 euro. Felt safe at night as well, since they were a few party spots 2 or 3 blocks away. Hotel is about 1.5 mile away from the Casa Mila and Casa Batllo, so you can walk it or just use the subway. I purchased our room using Hotwire for a 4 star L'Eixample- Passeig de Garcia Boutique Hotel, 95% rating, Ammenities included Free Internet, Business Center, Smoke Free Rooms and Pet Friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#30 of 515 in Barcelona
4,034 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#40 of 515 in Barcelona
2,294 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#78 of 515 in Barcelona
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#59 of 515 in Barcelona
2,277 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#102 of 515 in Barcelona
3,863 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#68 of 515 in Barcelona
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#53 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £74 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TravelClick, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing