We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem!”
Review of U232 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
U232 Hotel
Ranked #54 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just spent 3 nights in U232 in Barcelona, and were extremely happy with the standard and value for money. Friendly welcoming staff who were only too happy to answer any queries. Rooms were a real sanctuary at the end of a busy day sightseeing in the heat. Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Barcelona.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,794
    967
    181
    44
    22
See reviews for
457
1,650
130
245
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Hotel was just great, a proper 4 stars hotel. Huge room with a lovely balcony, a very mother bathroom, great bed, and a big flat screen. It had everything you could want. I didn’t try the buffet breakfast but I am pretty sure it was amazing too.

Having said this, I will say that location was far from good. Even though on the map it looked like 15 blocks to plaza Cataluña, distances and blocks in Barcelona are really really long! So, walking to plaza Cataluña and La Rambla took almost 25 minutes. The building is in a residential area, very quiet an night, and with some great restaurants like “el Porvernir” and “o Retorniño” just a block away.

It is close to a subway station and many buses, buy I prefer walking when in Europe.

In conclusion, even though hotel was great, next time I will definitely choose a Hotel closer to Plaza Cataluña, where everything happens.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaluPena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Spent 3 nights at the U232 last weekend. Great room with large balcony, huge comfy bed and a great bathroom. Close enough to walk to the centre of Barcelona but in a lovely area which was a bit quieter. The area felt very safe and there are a number of cafés and bars just a few steps away. We had breakfast in the bakery next door, coffee and a pastry each morning which was very reasonably priced and delicious. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony as some rooms are internal facing with no natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Hi, just returned from 3 wonderful nights in this great Hotel in Eixample region of Barcelona.
The hotel has all you need.We opted for the TOP ROOMS and they are well worth it, although i did not see the standard rooms so cannot comment on those.. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable beds, great big bathroom with twin rain showers and bathtub. Room also had minibar which was reasonably priced for a hotel in a major city.
The staff were very polite at the reception and throughout the hotel, except for breakfast. I thought the guys serving at breakfast were quite rude and the breakfast itself was poor, not great choice, and coffee was cold. This was the only downside to our stay, but we did not let it annoy us as there are scores of local cafes nearby to the hotel.
We ordered room service once,and it was delivered promptly and with a smile.
The Terrace area in the hotel was also great, and we had it too ourselves most of the time. Great place to sunbathe and relax.
The area around the hotel is also fabulous (Eixample region), In my opinion this area along with the Gothic Quarter and La Rambla Catalunya are the best in Barcelona. Stay away from Las Ramblas as it is a total tourist trap..You can easliy find the real Barcelona in these areas. Great Tapas and wine enjoyed with the locals.
All in all a great stay and would return to this hotel again.
There is also a metro outside the door, and any of these regions I have mentioned are only 2/3 stops away.
You can also buy a T10 Metro pass which gives you Ten trips for €10.40 i think.

Room Tip: Go for TOP ROOMS. we stayed in room no 910, and had no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelatorIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the u232 hotel for 5 nights. We booked a top room- wow!!!!! what a beautifull room with a huge teracce. The bathroom has the best shower ever!!!!!. The bed is huge and comfy. I would go back to this hotel- it is close to the center but in a quiet area. El cortes ingles is just a few Blocks away. the metro is very close. The best hotel for your Money!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank buller019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

First impressions when we walked in was that this hotel is dark and depressing. Same feeling when went up to our room on 7th floor. All the decorating is in browns and black, and our room was the same. Although it was comfortable enough and clean, and had a window, the two black walls closed it in. We met a lady in the lift who said her room was all black with no windows - I would have to have asked for another. It seems to depend on your room allocation, judging from previous reviews here, and from comments by the others in our tour group.

There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but this seems to be common in all the hotels we stayed in around Spain. No tissues either, which seems to be variable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelynn20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asun P, General Manager at U232 Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear U232 guest!

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I sincerely regret that you did not like the decor of the hotel and found it to be very dark. Many guests find it to be very classy and elegant, but I definitely respect your personal opinion. I want to clarify, however, that although some rooms might be interior or exterior with no views, all our room have windows! When individually booking the hotel through our webpage, guests have the option to select the room type that better fits their budget and preferences, and I can assure you our interior rooms are a top seller!

I also take good note of your coffee making and amenities suggestions.

If I can be of any assistance when coming back to Barcelona, all the way from Australia, please let me know.

G'day!

Asun Pareja
apareja@nnhotels.com
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Amazing hotel and staff! Gorgeous roof terrace which was a highlight!!!! Good location i.e. Near metro and therefore easy access to whole of Barcelona and from getting from the airport via train. If your main point to the trip is lounging on the bech then this hotel is pork ably a bit too far!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,795 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#42 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#72 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,673 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#75 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,801 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#84 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Property: U232 Hotel
Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#31 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#46 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing