We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - Definitely will be back!”
Review of U232 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
U232 Hotel
Ranked #52 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, WI
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel - Definitely will be back!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We recently returned from a 2 night stay at U232 Hotel, and we can't wait to go back!

The hotel itself is a bit removed from the Las Ramblas area, but a block away from the metro stop that will take you quickly to wherever you need to be in the city. The hotel is in a nice neighborhood with many delicious restaurants just steps away.

The hotel itself is very nice and comfortable. The rooms are clean and quiet.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,846
    996
    183
    45
    23
See reviews for
476
1,693
137
248
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just spent two nights in U232 in Barcelona. The hotel is really good value for money.The staff were very helpful and friendly. Outstanding room, very spacious, comfortable bed and free wifi. The bathroom was also a good size with a fantastic shower. Breakfast was good and full of variety. The location of the hotel is brilliant, easy to get to from the airport, near metro and easy access to Barcelona. Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is modern and clean. We couldn't get over the fact we had 2 bathrooms in one room - definitely a bonus! Breakfast was lovely too and I definitely would recommend booking it. The fact that the bedroom didn't have an outside window didn't matter at all. All in all a great stay and we liked the area because there were a lot of locals and you can get on the red and blue lines of the city tour bus.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in u232 as part of our European honeymoon, we are price conscious when booking hotels, so we found a good deal for this 4* boutique style hotel.
The location a short walk 2/3mins (direction - up hill) from hospital clinic metro, we arrived into Barcelona airport, jumped on the train into the city, changed at Sants onto metro. All very easy and painless. (Took about 1 hour in total)

We arrived at 8pm, checked in and were hungry; we spoke to Manu on reception who recommended a few local restaurants to try! We decided in Tapas and were delighted with his recommendation. The location of this hotel is excellent for dining, both lunch and dinner were well catered for within a 5 minute walk of u232.

We mentioned to Manu that it was our honeymoon and with the help of the director Asun we were moved into a corner room with a large balcony that overlooked the street (not noisy when door was closed)

We made use of the small gym and sun terrace during our stay.

From it's location we walked everywhere...Camp Nou took approx 35mins, Catalunya square 15/20 mins, familia 30mins, harbour/beaches approx 1 hour.

We would like to say a special thank you to Manu on reception and Asun for making our honeymoon even more memorable. We will definitely recommend u232 to our friends.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view! Balcony with electric blinds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crete, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The hotel is very well located in the area of eixample of barcelona. The metro stop (hospital clinic) is only 5 minutes walking far and from there you can get the L5. Also there are bus stops also 5 minutes far , from where you can easily reach placa universitat or catalunya, in 10 minutes. Now, the hotel itself is dark and small when you get in, actually when i was searhing for it in the morning, when i was on foot, i lost it, but you can say that's my fault. So the receptionists are pretty kind and nice (most of them) and they will arrange whatever you ask. I had booked a single room for 10 days and i payed a lot for it. So when i walked into my room, i felt disappointed. The room was facing the atrium and had no natural light and was very small. I just don't know why such rooms are available and for so much money! Because it wasn't cheap at all. Anyway my overall stay was fine. The breakfast was also fine, had variety of food. Although don't be sad if you can't book a room with breakfast cause there are plenty of cafes and places to eat just besides the hotel, which are very nice. Also the terrace of the hotel isn't actually used, since when i asked if i could go get a drink, they said i could order it and have it in my room..would be nice if it was actually used. Moreover i asked for an arragment , since my flight was leaving too late and i wanted to pay for more hours to occupy the room, but they said i had to pay for the whole night. I don't really know much about it, but it would be nice if someone asked to pay, to pay for how long they want per hour. Now..if i would choose the hotel again? To be honest it was the perfect spot because i needed to be to a place near there, every day... I may choose it again for less days and definitely with a room with natural light that meets my expectations and the money i payed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athena93bcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sastamala, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Nice, clean and quiet hotel. Staff was friendly an welcoming, we got our room upgrated and room was ready when we arrived at 11 am. Aircinditioning was excellent. Room was big enough and bathroom was nice. Free wifi also in rooms. Breakfast was good and only 10 euros per person. Prices at the hotel bar and minibar were reasonable. I thought that location was good, quiet neighbourhood ja only two blocks from metro. Rodalies station (Sant Estacio) only two stops away. If you want to stay close to La Rambla (after seen that place, I would not stay anywhere near), then U232 is too far away. I think I would definately go back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mira V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is just okay. We were in one of the small interior rooms, the ones with windows overlooking the atrium, and I felt like I was in a cave. We had no natural light whatsoever. The room was painted in dark colors, so that made it feel even smaller and darker. For the price we paid, I feel like we should have had a better room. It seemed pretty clean overall, but I did find someone else's toenail clippings on the bathroom floor (gross). Also, you can't bring your own alcoholic drinks (even beer) up to the rooftop terrace - you have to buy them from the hotel bar.

There are a lot of positives about this hotel: it's just two blocks from the metro, the staff members are polite and attentive, the breakfast buffet is fresh and has a great variety of foods, and our room had two bathrooms. However, these positives do not outweigh the negatives, namely the small, dark room. If you stay here, be sure to request a room facing outwards, not facing the atrium.

Room Tip: Make sure your room does not face the atrium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mari818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 512 in Barcelona
3,888 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Villa Emilia
Hotel Villa Emilia
#38 of 512 in Barcelona
2,249 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 512 in Barcelona
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 512 in Barcelona
3,746 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#11 of 512 in Barcelona
280 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#61 of 512 in Barcelona
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Property: U232 Hotel
Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, TravelClick, Priceline, Agoda, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing