We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel good location”
Review of U232 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U232 Hotel
Ranked #65 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Located close to the Hospital Clinic metro station this hotel is ideally situated when arriving into Sants Estacio or Passeig de Gracia using the Airport train service; it is also ideal for reaching the main tourist areas of the city in 10-15 mins. We were quickly checked in by pleasant staff and found a room cooled by the easily controllable air conditioning and decorated in a contemporary style. The bathroom was of a good size and was kept consistently clean although I did find the shower slightly cramped as the bath was a little narrow. We used the downstairs bar on several occasions which was reasonably priced for a hotel as long as you stick to the draught beer and cocktail of the day list. We did not use the terrace but would have done had we been staying in the city longer. Overall a positive experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces away from the busy Comte d'Urgell thoroughfare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thefletchorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,024 - 1,030 of 3,232 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

You would miss it if you didn't know it tucked between two buildings ... Once we were inside we were nicely greeted and checked in, unfortunately we had to wait to get the room as we arrived early and the room was still occupied. the front desk was very helpful and suggested we rest in the lounge area while he places our luggage in the luggage room. the whole staff are very helpful and most converse in English. Our room was extremely nice. Although I felt the bed was divided and could have been a one king size bed but still it was comfy for the night ahead, the room spacious with a nice open closet (safe included); the bathroom has a bath tube which is a leisure treat after a long day walking Las Ramblas and Cataluña ... The hotel has free WIFI and a small business center were you can print (if needed) The breakfast is decent and very affordable (we added it later on; it has all the right ingredients to give you energy for the day and leave you full). the hotel is just a bloke away from the metro station (Hopital Clinic) and from there you can venture anywhere; although most Spaniards we encountered told us to walk, walk and walk. The hotel is surrounded by many bistros and cafes so its nice to venture about ... We were very glad we booked this hotel but I would have liked to see upon our check out some personal interaction and inquiry of how our stay was ...

Room Tip: We requested a balcony which provided us with a good view. Careful though that you will hear the amb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

What an excellent hotel. We stayed for 3 nights as a family in 3 rooms, all were big and very clean. The hotel is situated slightly away from the main La Rambla and harbour, but we walked it in 20minutes (or taxi for 7 euros). The staff speak very good English and are so helpful (good recommendations for places to eat). The breakfast is excellent - coffee, tea, fresh juices, cereal, fresh fruit/yoghurt, toast, cheese/meat, bacon eggs. Just 3 blocks away from Avenue Diagonal which is Barcelona's financial district and great for shopping :). Would seriously recommend this hotel as a great stay when in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We recently returned from a 2 night stay at U232 Hotel, and we can't wait to go back!

The hotel itself is a bit removed from the Las Ramblas area, but a block away from the metro stop that will take you quickly to wherever you need to be in the city. The hotel is in a nice neighborhood with many delicious restaurants just steps away.

The hotel itself is very nice and comfortable. The rooms are clean and quiet.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chelsea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have just spent two nights in U232 in Barcelona. The hotel is really good value for money.The staff were very helpful and friendly. Outstanding room, very spacious, comfortable bed and free wifi. The bathroom was also a good size with a fantastic shower. Breakfast was good and full of variety. The location of the hotel is brilliant, easy to get to from the airport, near metro and easy access to Barcelona. Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Barcelona.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is modern and clean. We couldn't get over the fact we had 2 bathrooms in one room - definitely a bonus! Breakfast was lovely too and I definitely would recommend booking it. The fact that the bedroom didn't have an outside window didn't matter at all. All in all a great stay and we liked the area because there were a lot of locals and you can get on the red and blue lines of the city tour bus.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in u232 as part of our European honeymoon, we are price conscious when booking hotels, so we found a good deal for this 4* boutique style hotel.
The location a short walk 2/3mins (direction - up hill) from hospital clinic metro, we arrived into Barcelona airport, jumped on the train into the city, changed at Sants onto metro. All very easy and painless. (Took about 1 hour in total)

We arrived at 8pm, checked in and were hungry; we spoke to Manu on reception who recommended a few local restaurants to try! We decided in Tapas and were delighted with his recommendation. The location of this hotel is excellent for dining, both lunch and dinner were well catered for within a 5 minute walk of u232.

We mentioned to Manu that it was our honeymoon and with the help of the director Asun we were moved into a corner room with a large balcony that overlooked the street (not noisy when door was closed)

We made use of the small gym and sun terrace during our stay.

From it's location we walked everywhere...Camp Nou took approx 35mins, Catalunya square 15/20 mins, familia 30mins, harbour/beaches approx 1 hour.

We would like to say a special thank you to Manu on reception and Asun for making our honeymoon even more memorable. We will definitely recommend u232 to our friends.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view! Balcony with electric blinds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 516 in Barcelona
4,121 reviews
Eixample
B-Hotel
B-Hotel
#58 of 516 in Barcelona
2,311 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#89 of 516 in Barcelona
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 516 in Barcelona
3,893 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#63 of 516 in Barcelona
1,118 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granados 83
Hotel Granados 83
#49 of 516 in Barcelona
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £56 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing