We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of U232 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
U232 Hotel
Ranked #48 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

U232 is in a residential area of Barcelona. There are good cafes nearby for lunch and breakfast & I don't think breakfast is of good value in U232 (14 euros per person).
Hotel rooms were good, bathrooms were very nice. No tea & coffee making facility and there is no provision of kettle, etc.
Reception staff was brilliant. Hotel is well connected with public transport therefore you can go out late in the night.
Would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anks11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,728
    945
    170
    44
    21
See reviews for
442
1,595
128
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

Booked this based upon TripAdvisor Reviews, and must say, was quite disappointed. Let's start with the good stuff: staff are very helpful and pleasant; the place is impeccably clean; aircon works perfectly. The not so good stuff: the rooms are tiny (you could not swing a cat in them) and our rooms (206 and 306) had no views whatsoever. The bathrooms are incredibly small. The rooms we had were next to the lifts, and were very noisy. The location is not as good as many make out: it is 20 minutes' walk to the centre, or a tube journey that involes changes. Best to take a taxi when leaving this place. Breakfast was average but on the positive side, served,in a clean room and by very polite staff. Stay here if you can handle shoe box rooms, and if you are on a budget. If not, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonDiner2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

My title says it all. It is a cool little hotel with nice rooms and wifi, i'd spring for the u232 rooms. The front desk guys were money and always had the solid dinner recommendations in the neighborhood. As everyone said it is a four minute stroll to the subway stop (Hospital Clinic is its name), but it is on the blue line, so you will have to change trains to get to/from the Ramblas, Beach, El Born, Park Guell or the Train Station that goes out to Monserrat. It is the right line to the airport train and Sagrada Familia though. I'd stay here again unless I could find a comperable price closer. That's my take! You could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend on our recent trip to Barcelona. I picked the hotel based on the previous reviews of the place and I was disappointed. My initial impression was very good. The hotel is lovely and the staff were friendly and helpful. I had specifically requested a quiet room and the first night there was fine. The second morning we were there we were woken up by workers in the hotel. There was building work going on which started very early. I was not happy about this at all considering we had requested a quiet room. On top of that when we returned back to the hotel room that evening we discovered that the glasses in the room had not been cleaned or replaced, nor had some of the toiletries in the bathroom, the mini bar had not been restocked either. I made the reception staff aware of the faults with the cleanliness of the room and this was rectified, however nothing was done about the noise! We were offered an alternative room on the night before we checked out. Overall, the hotel was pleasant but considering the price we paid, I was disappointed. Good location though!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

We stayed for few nights. Before arriving to Barcelona we visited Malaga and Valencia. We were tired from all this traveling and I did not have any expectations for this hotel. The minute we walked in I was smiling. There was something special about it. Very cozy and clean. Room was very , very cozy and I had a great sleep in there. We did not enjoy Barcelona itself but thanks to this hotel i at least could relax. Really enjoyed staying in the hotel. Staff was excellent. And having a cold beer in the lobby was even special. Like I said previously there is something about this hotel.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LiisuDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

After deciding at the last minute to go to Barcelona on business, I was slightly concerned about the accommodations I'd be able to secure with such a large conference and exposition coming to town. What a joy to have u232 Hotel as a home base.

I arrived at about 11:30am on Thursday, and being greeted by the multilingual staff was comforting. They had my reservation (through booking.com) and an available room for me. I booked a single and expected an extremely small but well-appointed room.
It turns out the "L"-shaped entry/foyer was about as large as I thought the room would be...but then there was an actual room as well, with a small balcony, two beds, ceiling beams, dark marble bathroom....sigh. I was almost tempted to take a nap but decided to run around and get to know the city.

U232 is two blocks from the Metro. As many had mentioned here, the hotel is not in the center of it all, but it is close enough and the Metro runs a very admirable schedule, very efficient. I could go on and on about the Metro, but that is for another forum.
More about the hotel...the decor is very masculine and warm, with dark woods, striped and leather couches, bold, simple and large images on the walls. Impeccably clean. . Even the shampoo smelled masculine, which was a nice diversion. My saving grace was the hotel’s business center, which was not much to speak of, only with two computers and one printer, a seating area and a conference table. But because I’d made my reservation so late, I was unable to secure an international BlackBerry and decided to leave my compute behind. The business center really came through for me in this sense. Oh, and there are little candies in a bowl on the reception desk which are lovely, and the beer they have on tap is very refreshing.

I loved the bathroom, but wish I had the time to love it more. Great water pressure. Towel warming rack. Weird non-bidet thingy. And what the hell is the wand on the hose? Nobody could figure it out!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen_faith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

I stayed here last Sat and Sunday after I got tired of getting rejected by priceline for Las Ramblas/Barceloneta about 5 times. Although this hotel is not in Las Ramblas, the location is very convenient, less than 5 minute walk from the Hospital Clinic metro stop.

A fun visit to Barcelona does not require you live in Las Ramblas (I actually did not really like that area when I walked around there--just too touristy). The metro is very easy, convenient, and cheap (2 day pass was 11.50 euros), runs late on Fri, and all night on Sat. If you are out late at night drinking, the hotel is walking distance from most places in the city. The staff gave me some great recommendations, and a local friend also took me to a great Chilean restaurant (Hugo's). Another day we found by chance, La Taverna del Born. Both were not too touristy (the restaurants lining Las Ramblas tend to be more expensive and touristy, according to my friend, a native Barcelonan).

The hotel staff were very friendly, and there is internet (2 computers) and wifi free! you can even print for free--so they don't nickel and dime you. I hate when you pay $100 for a room and they want to charge you $5 for 15 minutes of internet use (it's not so much the money, but the principle).

So don't hesitate, and waste 6 hours online trying to find a decent hotel (like I did). I recommend this hotel and would return next time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Truxpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#35 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,665 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#74 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,956 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#86 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#40 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#73 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#41 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Property: U232 Hotel
Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing