We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay in perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apartamentos Mur-Mar
Ranked #492 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good stay in perfect location”
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I stayed 3 nights in Murmar for a stag do, the location is right in the centre of Barcelona, rooms are basic but clean. The terrace on the roof had fantastic views and the people working there were helpful and spoke English. Best rooms are the ones on the top floor. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor are worth paying a bit more for
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    21
    31
    16
    35
See reviews for
31
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

What can I add that most people reviewing this hotel havent. It is what you pay for....its cheap....no kettle, no bottle opener, i went and bought my own, hot water works most of the time but is like bore water and not drinkable, walls are paper thin and we could hear the 4 girls next door carying on and the noise from the street is very loud, but a great location and its intesting to watch everything unfold from your balcony at night as we were on the 5th floor, service - what service. Its just hostel quality but only just. Would I stay here again? Maybe if I was on a very tight budget

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeGOAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

These apartments were a great choice for our recent group visit to Barceona (October 2012). We were lucky as the weather was wonderful so we could sunbathe on the apartment's balconies and have sundowners parties. I have never been in such a central spot with such great views over the whole of central Barcelona. For us it was perfect accommodation and so central, near all the bars and resturants. Full marks, I strngly recommend this place. Ryan

Room Tip: Go for the top floor rooftop apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Due to previous comments on other websites regarding this apartment hotel I contacted Mur Mar to make sure they understood that we wanted a clean room, with working aircondition and as quiet as possible. I got a fast reply from them which was good. When we arrived the man in the reception was not very service minded, more rude than friendly. Perhaps due to my email or due to his lack of english skills. The room/apartment was the opposite of cosy and the beds were quite terrible. On the possibive side we got an apartment on the 5th floor with a large terrace were we could have breakfast and evening snacks . Ask to get one of the top floors if you book this place. I dotn think it was a bargain - we payed 400Euro for 4 nights. Sure it is much less than a decent hotel but still quite a lot of money for this standard.
If I go back to Barcelona I would not stay at La Ramla instead soemwhere a little more quitet in Raval , Gracia or Barcelonetta

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank XXXXXLisaXXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

To put it in 5 words - that sums it up. Despite self catering, there's no kettle (we had to ask at reception for a saucepan to heat water) or similar in which to even successfully heat anything as the 'cooker', which looked like it had been unearthed from a 70's B movie, didnt heat to over boiling point and was a health hazard unto itself. The place is, like others have reviewed; nothing short of a hostel. I travelled here from the UK with a group of girls for a city break and although we spent most of the time out sightseeing, we dreaded coming back to it at night.
Door to the bedroom had fallen out of it's allignment and was rotting therefore wouldnt close(that's no exaggeration, bits of it littered the floor as we pushed it ajar for privousy) there was no door to the living room which had been made into a bedroom for our stay, the doors outside were so thin it was a security issue (hands could have smashed it - and the cleaner decided to leave them wide open on 2 occasions also...). Bathroom had a window through to the next ajoining bathroom and other figures in that next room were visible making us 4 girls very conscious (unsure why this was there as it didnt open?) and was stiff with mildew and disgusting old fittings. We made the mistake of walking around the appt bare foot - when we saw how black our feet were we had to wear shoes, even when getting out of the bath.
The remote control for the TV is a deposit of €10 but only English speaking station available was the Disney Channel...
In any case, when one arrives somewhere where money has been spent for a memorable break (albeit not a hell of allot) you do expect it to be in good working order and, at least clean. This was unfortunately not and we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucyjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcala De Henares, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I came here with a large group of friends and we were all disgusted with our rooms. The rooms are spacious for a hotel, but all were grossly unkept and out of date. Every towel and sheet was stained, every apartment had at least one light out or plumbing problem. It looked like the set of a zombie apocalypse movie. We had to leave after one night. I would not recommend this hotel under any circumstances.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 days and it was the WORST place ever!!! The kitchen was disgusting the rooms were dirty, the bathroom was untouchable, the mattresses looked like they hadn't been changed in 20 years! The walls were stained! If you think it is a good location think again the Ramblas are loud and it was impossible to sleep with the sound of breaking beer bottles and loud music, the walls in the apartment are so think you can here all the rooms around you! the elevator is a HAZARD literally probably the first elevator ever invented!! The only positive thing was the receptionist alejandro other than that I wouldn't stay there even if it was FREE !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annonymus j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Paris
Hostal Paris
#480 of 521 in Barcelona
282 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#369 of 521 in Barcelona
235 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#342 of 521 in Barcelona
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Pension Segre
Pension Segre
#484 of 521 in Barcelona
124 reviews
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#302 of 521 in Barcelona
341 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Fornos
Hotel Fornos
#413 of 521 in Barcelona
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Mur-Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Mur-Mar

Property: Apartamentos Mur-Mar
Address: 34 Ramblas | Del Teatre Square, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #492 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Mur-Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Mur-Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Mur-Mar Hotel Barcelona
Apartamentos Mur-Mar Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing