We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but room lacking in comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hotel Barcelona
Ranked #221 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is in a great location for the beach, Parc de la Cuitadella, Gothic area, walking and links to almost everywhere else. Easy to get to and from the airport since it is opposite the railway station (you have to change stations, but the wait is only 3 minutes and on the same platform). The rooms are small (which I expected from the reviews) with basic décor, but are adequate. However the room is not at all comfortable if you want to chill out and relax after a busy day sightseeing as there are no comfortable chairs and the mattress is rock hard, so a good night's sleep was out of the question for me. However I didn't find it noisy even though it is on a main thoroughfare. Breakfast is adequate, although I would prefer my fresh fruit to be already chopped up ready to eat - what was available was hard and unripe and mainly apples, but plenty to eat from other choices. Great shops and bars in surrounding area.

Room Tip: The rooms all seem to be the same, unless you choose the bigger rooms with balcony at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra9688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennifferMorrell, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Park Hotel Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your post about your recent stay in our Hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed our location, and on the other hand, we will take your comments as an opportunity to improve. Your experience will be useful in order to continue working to achieve our customer satisfaction.

Our best regards,

Jenniffer Morrell
Customer Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

Really enjoyed the hotel, its amenities, the closeness to walking all around Baecelona. Nice & close to La Rambla. Loved the electronic awnings you could bring down at night for absolute darkness and buffering of noise. Cocktail bar was also very nice and sleek. Definately would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were in the back, so nice & quiet for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoZeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We were recommended this hotel and we booked a superior room which had a big balcony overlooking the big main street. The room itself was great, trendy and had everything in. If you're going in cooler months ask for extra blankets and pillows when you check in. A little bit noisy from the street outside but slept right through. All correct about getting there from the airport, you change at Gracia but stay on the same platform both ways for De Franca so it is very easy. Buy a T10 ticket as cheapest way to do it and both of you walk through the barrier when you insert ticket. It is very well located for all of Barcelona and we will stay there again when we return in the spring. Good posh burger bar down the street and also recommend Lonja de tapas just past it. The staff in this hotel are really helpful and made our stay very special. Many thanks

Room Tip: We liked the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This hotel is directly opposite Barcalona Estacio de Franca station which is only 30mins by train from the airport, It´s also 4mins walk to Barceloneta Metro station. It´s right in the heart of the old Bonn district and next to the Parc de la Ciutadella. You can also walk to La Rambla or the sea front.

It´s a 50´s building with some original features like the spiral staircase but mainly been modernised. The room was a good size, with a window overlooking the side street. It was clean and comfortable with just a few little signs of wear and tear. The bathroom was small but very clean.

We didn´t use the restaurant or bar but they both looked very good, we just prefer to eat out. Reception staff were friendly, polite and helpful.

I´d recommend staying here for it´s great location and it´s good standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I was in Barcelona visiting my son and girlfriend who work on super yachts and their boat was in the boatyard in Barceloneta. The hotel was therefore exceptionally well positioned. Everything was within easy reach either by walking or a good public transport service. Easy to get to from the airport by train with the train station being just across the road. Barceloneta metro just around the corner. Well priced for a city centre hotel too. Rooms were clean and comfortable and had everything you would need. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay there again and am happy to recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MamaD1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband. The location is fantastic - right on the edge of the Born district, which is hands down my favorite neighborhood in Barcelona, tied with Gotic. The room was pretty small, but very clean. The bathroom has not been renovated in what seems like a long time, but it was clean, shower pressure was good, etc. Truly, my only complaint about this hotel is that I did not feel that it was worth the price. I guess we were paying for the location, but otherwise it should have been literally half the price.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Yts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Nice clean rooms, great location, good breakfast, OK staff.
The superior rooms have a nice view, big rooms and great terraces.
It's the perfect location in Barcelona, near the beach and located in the beautiful Born area.
Would come back again!

Room Tip: Superior Rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristoffer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
Hotel Ciutat de Barcelona
#147 of 517 in Barcelona
1,172 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Hotel Banys Orientals
Hotel Banys Orientals
#160 of 517 in Barcelona
1,003 reviews
Barceloneta
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
Hotel Ciutadella Barcelona
#297 of 517 in Barcelona
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
chic&basic Born Hotel
chic&basic Born Hotel
#108 of 517 in Barcelona
772 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
K+K Hotel Picasso
K+K Hotel Picasso
#45 of 517 in Barcelona
2,546 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Catalonia Born
Catalonia Born
#53 of 517 in Barcelona
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Barcelona

Address: Av Marques de L'Argentera 11, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Born / La Ribera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#154 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £53 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ARCHITECTURE, DESIGN AND COMFORT IN THE MOST EXCITING HAPPENING AREA OF BARCELONA Park Hotel is a 3-star historic hotel located in one of the most emblematic quarters of Barcelona, el Born. The quarter where the art and the fashion have always been merged to, it is an area full of live, museums and wonderful gastronomy. The Born quarter is the area where the old tow lives with the latest trends. The building was built between 1950 and 1953 by the Architect Antoni de Moragas I Gallissa. It was one of the first buildings of the neoracionalism movement of postwar Europe. The interior design made by Eulalia Calaveras was done to the last detail, to make guests feel at home while in Barcelona. ROOMS The hotel offers 91 welcoming rooms, all of which are exterior. The furniture, combination of wood and textiles and clever lighting all create an atmosphere of warmth and light. Our security system combines the use of magnetic strip key cards and motion detectors to provide greater security and intimacy during your stay. The presence sensors will then switch off the lights as you leave, in keeping with our commitment to sustainability. Guest Room Amenities: Air-conditioning, heating Direct telephone line Safe LCD and LED televisions Satellite channels Digital+ Mini-bar Laundry service Wi-Fi Internet service, free of charge Handicapped rooms RESTAURANT 10's In the heart of the Born district, right where the ABaC Restaurant began its journey over ten years ago (now to be found in Avenida TIbidabo and currently holding 2 Michelin Stars) 10's offers an informal and casual ambience with capacity for 60 guests. It distances itself from the stereotypical Spanish tapas bars with a fresh image Offers tapas and side dishes true to the philosophy of ABaC; tradition and modernity in equal measure. Jordi Cruz defines them as "Uncomplicated creations, packed with flavour and impact. The idea is one of an orchestra where the excellent "patatas bravas" - always in their skins, or "calamares a la andaluza" play permanently and invite an exclusive ABaC guest star to play each week; such as the Cherry Ceviche or the Figs with Foie Gras. Generous portions, quality produce and inspired creativity are all offered on a plate at a good price." To complete the experience there are two terraces and one reserved for 20 guests MEETING ROOMS The hotel offers a meeting rooms, from 2 to 50 people, with day light and views to Avenida Marques de Argentera, equipped with the most modern technology. For whatever event you may wish to undertake, our highly qualified personnel will take care of every detail and will work with you in all aspects regarding organisation to guarantee a memorable experience. OTHER SERVICES: Car park 24-hour reception Bar from 11.00 To midnight Meeting room Room service (16 hours) Breakfast: buffet service Mobile Business center Wi-Fi throughout the building, complimentary ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Park Hotel
Park Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing