We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartment hotel with excellent service close to city center in residential area”
Review of Aparthotel Silver

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Silver
Ranked #60 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Linköping
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Apartment hotel with excellent service close to city center in residential area”
Reviewed 10 April 2009

Aparthotel Silver is an apartment hotel (fridge and kitchenette) just about 20 minutes walk from Plaza de Catalunya. It is situated in Gracia which is an area where middle class Barceloneans live, shop and eat.
I stayed here for the third time, this time with my children (16 and 18 years old). One of my children is disabled and we had asked for a roomwith disabled access. We got that confirmed and the room was excellent.
When my daughters wheelchair had a flat tire the people at the hotel repaired it for us. they did not even charge us for it (I would not have argued...). Excellent service!
Also the hotel is placed really well if you prefer to stay off the real hot places, although you can easily crawl back from the Ramblas late in the morning...

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank besj62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    405
    66
    17
    6
See reviews for
169
517
72
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2009

We stayed here during a four day visit to Barcelona. The taxi driver knew exactly where this hotel was. The gentleman at the front desk when we checked in late in the evening spoke very little English but was patient with my Spanish and was very helpful. The daytime front desk clerk was fluent in English and also very helpful. There were lots of tourist brochures in the lobby as well as newspapers/weeklies in Spanish and English.

We stayed in one of the older rooms (the hotel was undergoing renovations), but found it - although a tad shabby - very clean and comfortable. Our window looked out into a nice little courtyard. We were worried about late night noise but luckily it was very quiet in the evenings the entire time we stayed there.

First, some bad things: When we booked online we read that the hotel has laundry service, which we thought meant there was a laundry room on the premises. Turns out that it's actually a "send out" type service you pay extra for - you put your laundry in a provided plastic bag and leave it for the cleaning service to take care of for you. The price was a little unreasonable and we didn't like that too much. If you need to do laundry, there is a laundromat (in Spanish, a lavanderia) a reasonable walk away from the hotel: Bugaderia Wash n'Dry on Carrer Torrent De l'Olla. Google Map it to see where it is exactly.

We also didn't like that you had to pay for wi fi service. There's free internet at a public computer in the lobby, but every time we went downstairs in the evening, someone was always on.

Now the good: For about an extra 10 Euros a night, you can have breakfast buffet included during your stay. This was one of the best things about the hotel, as we expected a simple continental type breakfast (pastries, cafe con leche, and fruit), but when we came down to the cafe the first morning, we were very pleasantly surprised. Although there were no hot items, there was a plethora of yummy things like breads, cereal, coffee, tea, juices, cheeses and meats. Definitely worth the extra money. If you're trying to save a little, you can load up on breakfast and have a light lunch or quick, inexpensive tapa during the afternoon. There's also a mini fridge in the room if you want to buy food at a store.

The hotel is in a great location in the Gracia district, literally one block up from the Fontana station and so it was easy to get everywhere in the city.

All in all, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giveitagonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kodiak Island, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2008

This is probably a good value for Barcelona. The room is large, with a large closet, drawers in the closet, safe, and large cupboards above the closet. There is a kitchen area in the room, with a sink, stove, cupboards above it all, & mini refrigerator, all enclosed with an armoire-type door. You would think that one wouldn't need the frig, but it was actually nice to have. I walked up and down the street looking for some sort of grocery or convenience store one night & finally found it to the left of the metro station. Thus, I got milk, salomi, cheese, juice, etc. & it was nice to put in the frig. The room had a full size bed, which was nice for a change in Europe, where most beds are twin size. The end table seemed built into the wall, like it was a part of the head board or something. There was a fold down table that was handy, and two chairs. Large windows opened up to the street and I found it to be quiet. There was a bidet in the bathroom & I rather tight squeeze, but a nice big tub, with a handheld shower. In the kitchen, there were dishes, utensils, a coffee pot, too. The room was very clean. It had a TV with several channels. The usual English CNN. It had and adjustable heater/AC. It did seem a little worn and shabby, though & did not look like the website picture. There were a couple of cigarette burns on the bedspread. I think they were renovating some of the rooms. On the plus side, the staff were very nice & seemed to try really hard to accommodate their guests. In that regard, it was a proper hotel. There was a computer with internet access in the lobby, and even a printer, for guests to use. The staff seemd to try hard to be welcoming & answer questions, or give one a map to draw on and point things out. I took the Aeroporto Bus #1 from the airport to arrive there, for 4.05 Euro, to Plaza Catalunya. Then I took the metro 3 stops, I believe, to Fontanna. Exit and practically go straight down a street, several minute walk, and you will see 3 flags, and that is the hotel. I'm glad their website said to see the flags, because I got off, asked 2 metro attendants, & they said go to another metro stop. I disregarded their advise & walked down the street anyway, seeng the flags, & there was the hotel. I did not have a problem with getting to the hotel. The metro was a little stressful for me. I guess because I'm not used to taking a metro. There were homeless people there, sleeping, asking for change, or people singing or playing the guitar for money. It seemed like you had to go down, down, down into the metro & walk quite a ways. I had to ask somebody the first time I went & another time I went in the wrong direction & on the wrong metro line. After that I got it. You can buy 10 metro trips for something like 7 euro, or 1.30 euro per ticket. The metro machine was pretty easy to use. After I figured out that you could take a left from the hotel & a right down the main street, I thought that was better than the metro. I caught my hop-on, hop-off bus that way, and avoided the rather hot, busy metro, until I flew out. Plaza Catalunya is a happening place. People all the time. It's about a 20 minute walk from the hotel. As I'm sure it's already been posted, be careful about pickpocketers. I didn't have a problem, but there is so many people, crowed everywhere, especially in the metro tunnel, and Plaza C. that it seems easy to be pickpocketed. A mother & son traveler that I met on my tour to Montserrett said their hotel clerk told them to be careful as she had been robbed twice & she lived there! I'm sure, though, like everywhere, be careful, and take precautions. Oh yeah, there is nice shops, some tapas bars, and a couple of nice restaurants right around the corner from this hotel. (Again, take a left from the hotel, then a right in front of the metro station.)

Overall, this is proper hotel, in a good location, easy to get to by the metro & the aeroporto bus, or walking, which is more enjoyable than the metro to get to things. It is in a nice area, too. Probably a solid value for Barcelona.

  • Liked — Location. And it was a large room.
  • Disliked — Cigarette burns on the comforter. Didn't look like the website.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderlustak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2008

Very well located, 2 minute walk to nearest metro station in a nice area. We had a comfort room which was really nice. Kitchen area had a fridge, microwave, kettle and hob. Nice bathroom with shower, all very clean. Room was cleaned daily. Only disadvantage was that our room had no natural light whatsoever making it very dark in the daytime. It was difficult to know what to wear as we couldn't see out of the window!
Staff were reasonably helpful. On our last day we were able to leave our bags in reception to save having to carry them around as we were on an evening flight. Free internet access was very useful. Did nid use the cafe/bar as made breakfast in our room and then were out for the rest of the day.
A well priced hotel and we would gladly return to both the hotel and Barcelona

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hegx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

great location - close to subway and shopping area. plenty of coffee shop/bakery nearby.
staff is polite and helpful.
room is clean. there is an electronic safe in the room to store you valuables. There is a fridge and stove for those who prefre to eat in (um..but why?).
there is a health food store on the same street that sells gluten-free product.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank swisstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

The hotel is located just across the street from Fontana metro station, which makes it easy to arrive from El Prat airport (take Renfe train till Passeig de Gracia, then take L3 towards Trinitad Nova / Caneyelles, and you can use the same T-10 trip for this, as long as it takes no more than 1.15 min). What I loved most was the location, on foot it took about 40 min to get to the seaside, on a wide shopping street which gives into Las Ramblas.

The hotel room we had (comfort) was fairly big, cleaned daily, I found the kitchen really useful (dishes, fridge.. ), the bathroom was also nice.

The only flaw of this hotel is that noise can be easily heard, so make sure to get earplugs.

All in all, if walls were thicker, this hotel would be perfect.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank artemisa_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2008

Although on a drab and narrow side street this hotel is just yards fom the Fontana metro station. We found this to be the ideal way to get around for our short visit to Barcelona using the 10euro 2-day pass, Hotel room was small but clean and well maintained and our room was quiet.(Friends had a room overlooking the street and found it noisy on the Friday night into the small hours). We booked through the hotel web-site and got a rate of 105 euro per night - very reasonble for Barcelona. Breakfast was extra - served on a small terrace - continental- adequate - 9 euros. Most front desk staff had excellent English and were very helpful. Good restaurants nearby or a short metro ride gets you to Las Ramblas with all kinds of eateries.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanisle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Pol & Grace Hotel
#68 of 513 in Barcelona
935 reviews
SmartRoom Barcelona
#101 of 513 in Barcelona
401 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Musik Boutique Hotel
Musik Boutique Hotel
#51 of 513 in Barcelona
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#63 of 513 in Barcelona
1,447 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#167 of 513 in Barcelona
1,267 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 513 in Barcelona
3,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Silver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Silver

Property: Aparthotel Silver
Address: Breton de los Herreros, 26 | Atb-5, 08012 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#45 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#68 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#117 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Silver 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Silver is one of the most recommended hotels in Barcelona. We offer our customers a lovely stay thanks to our constant improvement and prices that are always very attractive.A family-like atmosphere and a central location together with great transport connections are our trademarks. Our customers are loyal, regular and very diverse: tourists from all over, businessmen and women, trade fair and conference visitors, cruise passengers, patients on medical treatments, families, etc. All staff at the Aparthotel Silver works with a single objective: for you to feel at home with us. We love to serve them all and we do our best to offer what best suits their needs: double bed, twin beds, terrace, adapted rooms, cribs, free wifi, connected rooms, international TV channels, car park, breakfast buffet in the garden etc. Besides, we are always happy to offer our tips and recommendations. We are here to help you! The best of Aparthotel Silver are our customers and their grateful smile is our best reward. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aparthotel Silver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Silver Barcelona, Catalonia
Aparthotel Silver Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing