We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay...we were very well looked after”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Park Guell
Ranked #342 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I travelled to Barcelona on Weds 3rd April with my partner to spend a couple of days shopping and strolling around taking in the sights. We wanted to be based in the Park Guell area of Barcelona as we had never stayed in this location before.

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff. We had booked a twin/double bedroom and I forgot to check which it was before heading up. However as soon as we did realise it was a twin room we went back downstairs and we were provided with a room with a double bed instead.

The room (401) had a great view, across the hills and down towards the Ramblas and the sea! The bathroom also had a little window with great views across the top of the city.

Breakfast was fine with lots of food (hot and cold) to choose from but the food on offer from the bar/dinner was amazing, with the squid and spanish omelette being my favourites!

The staff were incredible, they were knowledgable about the sites and locations of every place we asked about. The staff on the front desk would immediately whip out a map and show you exactly where you were and were you needed to go.

As mentioned by other reviewers the hotel is well placed to visit the beautiful Park Guell as well as close enough to the Metro to get into and across Barcelona easily.

We had a lovely stay here and slept well once we got used to the noise of vehicles at night in the road out front - this being the only drawback to having a room at the front and on the main roadside of the hotel.

After two days of relentless walking my feet were very sore and in desperation I asked if they possibly had two plasters. I couldn't believe it when the assistant manager rushed off to find them for me and returned with two, making my journey home pain free!

We would therefore highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Barcelona, particularly this part of town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days. 1 double and 1 single room .When we arrive Karen check us in our rooms.She was very helpful and kind.All staff was very kind.They answered all questions we have.They also helped us to arrenge a taxi to airport very early in the morning.
The hotel is in quite convenient area 3 minutes away from the metro station Valcarca and bus station.Few stations later you can be in the city center.It is 10 minutes walking distance to Park Guell .
Clean room, good size, very large bed, TV, wi'fi, all in good order. Hairdrier present in the bathroom, with shampoo and soap as well.There is no need to look for any other place for breakfast. The breakfast is great with various type of food. we really enjoyed our stay there.The wifi connection is quite fast ,if it doesn’t ask password once you get online it can be more efficient.

I will back to this hotel and reccomend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldloafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Good location -- a few minutes on foor from the pretty Park Guell and a few minutes to the Metro for the town centre. Limited number of (tight) parking slots available. Staff was veru frindly and helpful. The room was smallish but adequate. Only problem was that the windows opened to an internal yard with opposing room window a few feet away, which meant keeping windows closed and drapes drawn. Free WIFI with decent bandwidth. Breakfast was copious, with large variety of foods. The swimming pool is small and only for dipping, not swimming, and is does not open until 10:00. I can recommend this hotel for people looking for a convenient place to stay but no luxury.

Room Tip: Try to get a front room, which may be a bit noisy but have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Good comfort, nice environment, close to the metro and 10 min to the centre.
Very convenient bar for late breakfast.
Clean room, good size, very large bed, TV, wi'fi, all in good order. Hairdrier present in the bathroom, with shampoo and soap as well. Very good and available staff.

Surely I will reccomend this hotel to others



  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Claudio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed one week at Catalonia Parc Guell Hotel. 10 min walking to the metro station Valcarca, then 5 min by metro to city center.
Hotels is clean, stuff are helpful and nice. The breakfast is great with various type of food. we really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasmine-C-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We chose this hotel because it was near a metro station (only 5 stations from placa catalunya).

The reception is welcoming and rooms are clean.
Nonetheless, our room was small, not well decorated, and, overall, very noisy ! We could clearly hear our neighbours (specially in the bathroom), and the traffic of the street. What's more, the heater didn't work, while we stayed there in december !!! Finally the bed was really incomfortable...

In conclusion we don't recommend this hotel. We have seen better places in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGOOO A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATRUB, Director General at Catalonia Park Guell, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2013

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for the time you used to explain your experiences staying at our hotel. We regret not having met your expectations. Honestly, we would like to have another oportunity and show to you that we can offer the services that guests are expecting from us.
We would wish you come back to our hotel and welcome you personally on arrival at the hotel.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

I had stayed one night in another hotel - booked by the airport tourism office - but was underwhelmed.. found this by walking and exploring and did a 'deal' in reception. I was on my own and had a single room on the top floor... If you want great views - be sure to ask for a room facing downhill or uphill - not on the north side !

The staff - all of them - were friendly and helpful - even though I could not speak Catalan / Spanish, I felt welcomed - a valued client - this does not happen often in a chain hotel.

GREAT roof top - small swimming pool - with STUNNING views

Room Tip: As mentioned - as for a room with a view of the city or the hills!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsMoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATRUB, Director General at Catalonia Park Guell, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you about the time you used explaining your experience in our hotel.

It is gratifying to make an effort every day, if we received sometimes recognition of this service.

I sincerely hope that you come back to our hotel, and stay with us again. Thanks a lot.



Yours faithfully,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
#346 of 519 in Barcelona
943 reviews
Eixample
Sunotel Aston
Sunotel Aston
#379 of 519 in Barcelona
498 reviews
Aparthotel Bertran
#317 of 519 in Barcelona
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
Barcelona City Hotel Universal
#411 of 519 in Barcelona
272 reviews
Hotel Laumon
#300 of 519 in Barcelona
479 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#398 of 519 in Barcelona
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Park Guell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Park Guell

Address: Passeig Mare de Deu del Coll 10, 08023 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Rubens Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range: £28 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Park Guell 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Catalonia Rubens enjoys a situation privileged with an excellent connection to the city centre by public transport. It's located near some of Barcelona's most prestigious medicals centres such as Vall d'Hebron and Delfos. Moreover, Clinica Quiron is located 900 metres from the hotel: five minutes by taxi and if you take the metro, green line from Vallcarca to Penitents, just one metro stop. You can also take a walk around the renowned Parc Guell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Catalonia Park Guell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Park Guell Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Rubens
Catalonia Rubens Barcelona
Catalonia Park Guell Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing