We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's Okay, Could be better, but good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Park Guell
Ranked #336 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's Okay, Could be better, but good value”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Catalonia Park Guell is an okay hotel. It is a place to sleep and nothing more. Here are some pros and cons of this hotel:

Pros:
The breakfast was definitely worth the few extra bucks. They have a nice buffet options, which involved poached, scramble, and fried eggs. They also have bacon, various cereal choices, fruits, and lots of different carbs (croissant, bread, muffins, and bread). They have machines for coffee and juices.

Customer service was excellent. Only some of the customer representatives spoke English, so practice your Spanish and/or Catalan! If you have postcards or any letters to mail out, they can send it out for you for 1 euro. They were very friendly overall and willing to help you out regardless!

Metro is 5 minutes away! It can be a little tricky. When you exit the train station, make sure you exit through Republic of Argentina. If you don't, you will have to walk around the whole block before finding the hotel. When you exit the train station, there are no signs of the hotel. Go toward the bridge and cross over. When you see some yellow lights (yield sign) blinking, turn left. The hotel is literally less than 10 minutes away from the metro. If you want to go downtown, just catch the L3 (green light) to Catalunya! When you come back from downtown, the train stop for the hotel is Vallcara!

There is an elevator/ life in the hotel, however, it is limited to three patrons. If you have large suitcases, you might be the only one in the lift. It is super small, but there are two of them.

Cons:

The walls are paper thinned. I can hear the room next door singing Frozen "do you want to build a snowman?" and they are NOT children. We can also hear many different and inappropriate conversations. You can also hear noises from outside as well.

Wifi only works in the lobby and restaurant! Don't expect any wifi connection in your bedroom. You also need to connect every time you leave the lobby.

The bed is a bit springy, so when you sit you can hear the springs go pop.

The only toiletries you can get a shower cap and a small box of tissues. The soap and shampoo are in the same dispensers!

If you just want a cheap room and run around central Barcelona, then this is the hotel for you! You can decide if it is worth it!

Room Tip: Back room is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelaround_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATRUB, Gerente at Catalonia Park Guell, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to the city of Barcelona.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and send us your always valuable feedback.
We will share your comments with our team as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests' experience.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon in Barcelona.
Best regards from all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    320
    233
    94
    66
See reviews for
143
342
58
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Denis, Reunion Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The hotel was really good,room nice and clean ,not too noisy at night ,there is a little shop not far from hotel where u can buy some cheap beer ,better price than hotel !really like the location is 15 min metro.for that price I will go back there for sure.
The wi-fi doesn't work at all in our room it was room 301.we had to go to seat at the reception to use it and very slow wifi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsaysaintalme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATRUB, Director General at Catalonia Park Guell, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing this review. We will share your comments with our team as we constantly look for new ways to improve our guests experience.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Before I say anything, I need to make it clear that I am not a fussy customer at all!

Me and my boyfriend stayed there for 3 nights last week.

The room:
We had a double room with a lovely double bed, but if you are looking for a good night sleep, then look elsewhere. The walls are so thin that I could hear the conversation of the people next door word for word. All night long cars and motor bikes go up and down the road and I was waking up every time. The hotel is on a hill, so it makes it worse for drivers. Apart from that, the room was clean and had all basics. Lovely big TV but hardly anything in English. Towels changed daily.

The staff:
We didn't really interact with them much, apart from check-in/check-out but they seemed helpful enough.

The location:
If you are going there by the metro, it is a bit tricky to find the hotel at first as there are no signs anywhere pointing at the hotel when you come out of the station. We walked around following GPS navigation, but that took a while, so there is a helpful tip!! When you come out of Vallcarca station (L3, green line), look around the exit and you will see some stairs going up the hill and taking you to a bridge. You can't miss it! Cross the bridge and walk straight until you get to a roundabout. Turn left there and you will see the hotel ahead of you. It takes 5 min literally. There are plenty of little shops and coffee shops around, even a small supermarket. It takes 10 min by metro to get to Placa Catalonia metro station, and no more than 25-30 min to any part of the city.

The pool:
Lovely little (very little) pool and a few sun loungers around. We didn't get a chance for a swim but it seemed nice.

We can't complain for the money we paid. If you have a small budget, then it a good option.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor, hopefully it will be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusiePencheva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATRUB, Director General at Catalonia Park Guell, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear guest,

We really appreciate the time taken to write your comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. We take into consideration your review to work in those aspects that need to be changed.
I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you encountered here at our hotel.
We would like to thank you once again and hope that in you next visit to Barcleona we can exceed all.

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Well I choose it during the formula 1 race and was the cheaper one at that time with a good location. Surprisingly is in a beautiful place close to the famous Guell Park (in the back of it) but is in a place with ups and downs. You can find a Metro away 15 minutes where you can reach many places easily.
The room wasn't that good. The corridor was smelling some restroom smell. My room window was in front of the street, people could reach it and see me. The size of the room is tine.The overall evaluation is well for one night.

Room Tip: One night stand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cubatao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATRUB, Director General at Catalonia Park Guell, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear guest,

We really appreciate the time taken to write your comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. We take into consideration your review to work in those aspects that need to be changed.
I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you encountered here at our hotel.
We would like to thank you once again and hope that in you next visit to Barcleona we can exceed all.

Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Barcelona hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel itself is correct and fairly priced. But I was double charged with my payment and at the moment still struggling to get my money back.

During the check-in, I used my debit card to settle the payment. It ended up in a strange error and the machine didn't manage to print out any ticket, so we assumed that they payment didn't go through. It might be that my Maestro debit card is not compatible with the network, so I used my other credit card.

Afterwards, I was surprised to see that the account from my debit card was also charged. The manager Laura made some effort to call their bank, said that my money was immediately refunded, but I have received nothing so far and there was nothing that they could do and this is 5 days after the check-in payment error. No cash refund, nor proof from the bank that they have made the refund transfer. Nothing.

It might be that I will have to go to the police for this. In any case, the mishandling of the incident has given me some anxiety during my holiday where I looked for a peace of mind.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adjoe30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATRUB, Gerente at Catalonia Park Guell, responded to this review, 17 March 2015
Dear guest,
First of all, apologies again for the problem happened with the payment of your reservation.
As we don't recieve more news from you, we imagine that finally your bank refound your money correctly after the mistake with the communication of our dataphone.
As we know, refounds to foreign bank accounts are not immediately done. It can spend about 10 week days.
We hope, if you decide visit us again, you need not worry about paying more as says on your reservation. We don't like to scam our guests!
Finally, please, replace your comment when will be possible because it causes damages to our hotel reputation that is not real information because the problem has been solved.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Not to be missed. Park Gruel was an amazing experience. The vibrant coloured mosaic tiles are truly beautiful.

Helpful?
Thank Pooja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gimont, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

What a dreadful hotel, more like a Hostel. We booked a triple room, according to the picture online. What a shock to arrive to a cupboard sized room, we pulled back the curtain to find old broken bits of heating system junk outside, no light at all and the room stank of cigarettes. We asked to move to the room we paid for…ah we full, maybe tomorrow, ah no that's not ok for us. The staff bless them tried to sort the situation and offered us another hotel but we were shattered and couldn't drive to another hotel. We were given a double and single so didn't spend the night as a family and then had to move to another room the next night. We spent a fortune in taxi's also as it's not close to the main part of the city. The staff were very helpful but the hotel was not for us :-(

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terralinarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATRUB, Director General at Catalonia Park Guell, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for give us your opinion, always important to us.
I am happy to hear your nice comments about our staff .
I appreciate your honest input and apologize for the issues you encountered.
Please, be sure that our entire team is working to improve and provide our customers the most comfortable and pleasant stay as possible.
I really hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in Barcelona so we may show you the complete quality stay you deserve.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
0.5 mi away
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
Catalonia Park Putxet Hotel
#347 of 514 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
Catalonia Mikado Hotel
#315 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ronda Lesseps Hotel
Ronda Lesseps Hotel
#431 of 514 in Barcelona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
Hotel Catalonia Castellnou
#258 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
3.3 mi away
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
#184 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
3.0 mi away
SmartRoom Barcelona
SmartRoom Barcelona
#108 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Park Guell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Park Guell

Property: Catalonia Park Guell
Address: Passeig Mare de Deu del Coll 10, 08023 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Rubens Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Park Guell 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Catalonia Rubens enjoys a situation privileged with an excellent connection to the city centre by public transport. It's located near some of Barcelona's most prestigious medicals centres such as Vall d'Hebron and Delfos. Moreover, Clinica Quiron is located 900 metres from the hotel: five minutes by taxi and if you take the metro, green line from Vallcarca to Penitents, just one metro stop. You can also take a walk around the renowned Parc Guell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Park Guell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Park Guell Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Rubens
Catalonia Rubens Barcelona
Catalonia Park Guell Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing