We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SMOKING POLICY IS NOT IN EFFECT.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental Barcelona
Ranked #190 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Blanco, Texas
Level Contributor
183 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“SMOKING POLICY IS NOT IN EFFECT.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have stayed at your Hotel twice, both times. the friendly welcome, service and thoughtful buffet was as always great. BUT when entering the dining area next to the Reservation Desk I detected Cigarette Smoke. Went to check in my room. No problem - very nice accommodations and clean bathroom/shower. Went back to buffet - smelled smoke this time back where the patio in rear, next to where you offer beverages. Both doors were left ajar. With more than one person smoking!! We then left and strolled the Ramblas - looked up at our Hotel Continental Barcelona and a couple was drinking the complimentary wine and smoking - one cigarette after another... That is not a NON SMOKING POLICY.... Please enforce your smoking policy OR Please do not let those of us who have health issues with cigarettes stay elsewhere.. That honor their Smoking Policy.

Room Tip: Don't stay in balcony rooms unless you do not mind smoking issues from surrounding balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiverbendTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Guest!

Thank you for your nice comments regarding your recent stay at our Hotel Continental Barcelona. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your days with us.
We will study how to solve the problem of tobacco at our hotel to avoid such contrariety in the future. What our guests should know is that we respect very carefully the Spanish on this matter; smoking is totally forbidden inside the hotel premises but allowed at the terrace.
We wish to be able to welcome you soon again in one of our 2 Continental Hotels.
Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    407
    157
    64
    43
See reviews for
212
473
53
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The Staff were very friendly and helpful, all spoke very good English. The buffet tho basic was replenished throughout the day. For those on a budget there was a microwave and fridge in the room. Drinks were available 24 hrs beer, wine, soft drinks and tea/coffee. The balcony overlooked the Ramblas making the holiday atmospheric. Understandably the cutlery is disposable, however it was very flimsy. The beds are very high so anybody who is not nimble would struggle.

Room Tip: 141 or 142 Are excellently sited just round from reception with balconies overlooking Las Ramblas Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lez P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice feedback after your stay in our Hotel Continental Barcelona. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you soon again.
We take note of your observation regarding how delicate was the cutlery at our 24 hours free snacking buffet.
Always at your service,
Viviane Komze and all the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

As many have stated athe entrance ia a bit unusual but after that everything and everybody very helpful with good advice of how to get around the city. PC is reception very good and you can print off vouchers etc. The 24 hour buffet is adequate and the continuous supply of wine, beer and other beverages very welcome. Unusual decor in corridors and very pink bedrooms could possibly do with a bit of updating and minor repairs. Air con very efficient.Would not hesitate to stay here again. ANNE

Room Tip: Rooms at the back very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, 21 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback after your stay at our Hotel Continental Barcelona. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our house. And we will pass your compliments on to our reception Team.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.
Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all The Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was a great place to stay! The location was perfect, right in Las Ramblas. The hotel staff was very helpful and pleasant. The Plaça de Catalunya was very close and the hop on hop off buses start there. Having food, beer, wine, juice, and coffee available 24 hours was a nice plus.

One little thing. There is a small elevator that seems to have a mind of its own. The lobby is on the 1st floor and the rooms are on floors 2 and 3. There is another hotel on the 4th floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seatac150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest:

We feel very grateful that between all the hotels of Barcelona, you have chosen the Continental Barcelona to be your second home here.

It is for us a considerable pleasure to know that we were most than you were expected.
We are very much obliged to you for sharing your feeling with us and with all the people.

Always at your disposition,

Viviane Komze and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was a great place to stay. It is located on Las Ramblas just minutes from Placa de Catalunya, so easy to get to the hop-on-hop off buses and shuttles to the airport. We were close to the market as well. Although the rooms are all pink and not too large, they are clean. We paid a little more for a balcony room so that we could sit out there, sip some wine, and enjoy the view of Las Ramblas. The hotel has a 24/7 buffet with breakfast items and snacks, drinks and wine! The hotel staff speaks English very well and is very, very helpful. We were able to buy tickets for Sagrada Familia and print them there as well as print our boarding passes. Internet connection was very good. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjf347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for choosing the hotel ContinentaI Barcelona for your stay in Barcelona.

We really appreciated your reviews about your stay in our hotel and we feel in debt with you for your kindness and for helping us being every day better.

Always at your disposition,


Viviane Komze and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I can echo the other positive comments about the Hotel Continental. Great location - hotel front door is at the north end (top) of La Rambla. Metro station is just outside the hotel door. Aerobus (6e to/from airport) picks up and drops off a block away at Catalunya Plaza. The staff were all great - very easy going and helpful individuals. We had a room overlooking the street. It was a bit noisy but earplugs fixed me up. My wife was not bothered by the street noise. Very nice, quiet patio is at the back of the hotel near reception for eating or relaxing. We arrived very early on a flight from JFK, but the staff got a room ready for us within an hour. Wifi was good. A PC in the lobby is available for guest use. AC in the room worked well. Buffet was adequate for our needs. I picked this hotel by reading many other reviews and was not disappointed. We would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, specify that in the reservation request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bubba'sDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest:

We will always remember your wonderful reviews about your stay at the hotel Continental Barcelona and we thank you so much for your choice and for giving us the opportunity to be your host in Barcelona.

Always at your service,


Viviane Komze and all the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

... from a hotel not allowing kids to use the toilet.

We walked by the place and decided to check it out, since the location is attractive. We wanted to use a bathroom for urgent needs and in order to have a look, but we were denied. We did not consider staying after this first experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripster1775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Sir:

If you access our properties without being guest and the first thing you do is to request for toilets, this service will probably be denied.

At our hotel , we love children and these are always part of our family.
At our hotel, we accept people over 60 years.
At our hotel we accept people of all nationalities.
At our hotel, we do not care about races, religions preferences, political ideologies nor guest’s ´sexual orientations. (The way it should be!)
At our hotel the Continental Barcelona, we accept animals totally free and with extra charge of €10 at our Continental Palacete hotel.

At our hotel, every living being is treated with decency, every living being is treated with respect and every one is the reason of our businesses.

Travelers who are already part of our big family could validate this. (You just can read the reviews.)

Unfortunately, because of some given recent unpleasant events due to our generosity of letting the use of our toilet to people external to our hotels, we took the decision that our toilet will just be for our guests´s use.
We understand that this fact for you, might have been perceived as offensive, but it's nothing personal.

We insist that we value significantly the safety of our guests and will continue to do so.

Our staff members usually referred to all those people external to our hotels and on the need of a W.C. that they will find in our wonderful city a Bar or a café-restaurant everywhere. (One of each three buildings has one) where to make their needs.

We feel sorry as it was not a personal offense against infancy although we understand that our decision could be perceived as rude.

But all companies have its own corporate culture which includes rules that should be followed to make things go well.

We thank you for your attention.

Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#220 of 513 in Barcelona
992 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#83 of 513 in Barcelona
610 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
Citadines Ramblas Barcelona
#140 of 513 in Barcelona
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#164 of 513 in Barcelona
1,466 reviews
El Raval
Royal Ramblas Hotel
Royal Ramblas Hotel
#118 of 513 in Barcelona
1,688 reviews
Eixample
Continental Palacete
Continental Palacete
#338 of 513 in Barcelona
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Barcelona

Property: Hotel Continental Barcelona
Address: Rambla de Canaletets, 138, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#208 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Continental Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing