We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & Clean!”
Review of el Jardi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
el Jardi
Ranked #219 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Our hotel in Barcelona was nice. It was in a central location just down a street off of La Rambla in a small plaza. The area was relatively quiet for such a busy city but was close and walking distance to everything (well minus all Gaudi’s work but thats to be expected). Our rooms were quite tiny but they had air conditioning and all amenities we would need to be comfortable!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

Unfortunately, my brother and I were very disappointed with our 3 night stay at El Jardi. He had stayed there five years ago and gotten a room on the top floor with a huge roof/terrace. We thought we were booking the same room, though we got a different room on the top floor with a smaller terrace (though this is not El Jardi's fault) it set the tone for our continued disappointment. The rules of the hotel permit ANY visitors (though this was not the case 5 years ago). A friend of mine from back in the USA is studying in Barcelona and she was not allowed to come in with us. Also, they will ask you to leave the lobby area after a relatively short time (we were told by one concierge that there is a FIVE MINUTE LIMIT IN THE LOBBY?!?!)

Considering that it is the only place we were able to get wifi and communicate with the world we left behind, this seemed ridiculous.

The walls are boring and white (though they finally put up some paintings in the lobby be the time we left). The one photo/drawing in our room was not quite pleasant, and the overall experience was not very impressive. The location is great, but for the money you can certainly live better in Barcelona.... For the same price our hotel in Madrid was about ten times as good (friendly, helpful, nice interior, beautiful views...)

If you don't plan on ever being in your hotel, and if you preferably have a phone that works in Barcelona, this hotel may not be so bad, but for us it was a let down.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed here at the end of October 2011. I chose a Standard Interior room which obviously was dark as I didn't have windows, but I didn't have any noise problems either! The airline lost my bag and the staff were helpful saying it will probably take a few days. It did arrive eventually and the next day another staff member checked to see if my bag had arrived. They also suggested some places to buy some necessities. My room was on a low floor so I was able to connect to wifi which was great. The room itself was very clean and it was a nice room. I also had a bath.. Location was great and I could walk to the airport bus in about 10 mins. There was also a metro on La Rambla. The foyer was great as you could sit on the balcony and look over the square.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We were almost stranded when all the hotels were sold out but the Jardi. So we were happy they had space.

The wifi is only in the lobby unless you ask for a room near the lobby. We got some first floor rooms that could reach the wifi. Problem is, the lobby is very loud and the street can be loud at times. We used an iPhone sound machine with our baby.

Would have been cheaper if we used priceline.

Also 10% discount for cash was kind of shady.

Very nice multilingual front desk people.

Long stairs with no elevator is not ideal for bags.

Great location in center of las Ramblas.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franklyVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Just arrive in Barcelona in summer with protest around, La Rambla was full and I was lost. Arrive and the host recieve me with a big smile, help, water and a nice room in one of the best locations in Gotic. I has WiFi service, nice and clean bed and bathroom, tv with the latest news and a fun square just right outside. In the morning, i got my breakfast served with care and love.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just back from staying at El Jardi, excellent staff on reception, very helpful and calm and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them, they are a credit to Barcelona. The location is excellent just off Ramblas, the rooms are small but clean and the hotel felt very safe. If you are looking for a place to stay in a great location with excellent reception staff then El Jardi would be an excellent choice. Just one tip if you are coming by train and metro and you exit at Liceu the hotel is just literally across the road from the metro and a two minute walk up a side street we wantdered up La Rambla before realising the hotel was closer to the Metro than we thought( 2-3 minutes walk) Train very good from Airport and the change at passeig gracia was easy
Martin

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

My husband, my best friend, and her husband stayed here in September for 4 nights during Festival Mercé. It was my best friend who picked this hotel, had I done the research for Barcelona hotels, I would have definitely paid more for a better hotel. The only two things this hotel has going for it are (1) the location - just a block away from the Ramblas and (2) free WIFI.
Everything else, from the 10 Euro deposit for the TV remote, to the lack of replenishment of bathroom essentials (even toilet paper), the TINY hotel room, and the paper thin walls (our room was right next to the service area) made this hotel a place I would never set foot in again.
Sure the price was "fairly decent" but trust me, spend an extra 50-100 Euro and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeTrottingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#217 of 515 in Barcelona
526 reviews
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#137 of 515 in Barcelona
1,995 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#327 of 515 in Barcelona
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#214 of 515 in Barcelona
1,067 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#68 of 515 in Barcelona
594 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#432 of 515 in Barcelona
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to el Jardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about el Jardi

Address: Placa Sant Josep Oriol 1 | Barri Gòtic, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#187 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#203 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £44 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — el Jardi 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, "el Jardí" is at the artistic and commercial heart of the city center. The Plaça del Pi, near Las Ramblas is a meeting point for visiting the main sights. On foot, you can visit the Cathedral, the Plaça Catalunya and the Palau de la Generalitat, the Passeig de Gracia, el Born district, the beach, the maremagnum or the port.In a 300 years old building, "el Jardí" offers 40 rooms equipped with bathroom, air conditioning / heating, safety box, satellite TV and telephone. The lobby is wi-fi ready and there is a personal computer available for our customers. "el Jardí" also offers the option of a Continental breakfast.With a friendly atmosphere and a multilingual team, our reception strives every day to provide a personalized attention to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your el Jardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardi - Hostal Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Jardi Barcelona
Jardi Hotel Barcelona
El Jardi Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing