We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in a great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of el Jardi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
el Jardi
Ranked #207 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good value in a great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just returned from three nights at El jardi. Located in a lively square of the Gothic quarter, the location is unbeatable with dozens of appealing bars and restaurants within minutes. The cafe immediately outside was a great place for soaking up the sun over breakfast! Staff were friendly and welcoming (despite us not arriving until 1am) and our twin room was clean and well laid out, if rather small. We slept with the window open, and were not disturbed until the street entertainers started around 9am. Having stayed in several other budget hotels in Barcelona, I would definitely recommend this one for a good night's sleep in a safe, friendly and atmospheric location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CatOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    324
    120
    42
    21
See reviews for
78
374
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We had a great stay in this small and very nice hotel! Had a small but very clean room with a large terrace and a great view!
It`s a lovely place in the middle of gothic quarter. Staff is very friendly.We recommend this hotel warmly to everybody who wants to spend some beautiful days in the city of barcelona!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank svroni h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

Our hotel in Barcelona was nice. It was in a central location just down a street off of La Rambla in a small plaza. The area was relatively quiet for such a busy city but was close and walking distance to everything (well minus all Gaudi’s work but thats to be expected). Our rooms were quite tiny but they had air conditioning and all amenities we would need to be comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Unfortunately, my brother and I were very disappointed with our 3 night stay at El Jardi. He had stayed there five years ago and gotten a room on the top floor with a huge roof/terrace. We thought we were booking the same room, though we got a different room on the top floor with a smaller terrace (though this is not El Jardi's fault) it set the tone for our continued disappointment. The rules of the hotel permit ANY visitors (though this was not the case 5 years ago). A friend of mine from back in the USA is studying in Barcelona and she was not allowed to come in with us. Also, they will ask you to leave the lobby area after a relatively short time (we were told by one concierge that there is a FIVE MINUTE LIMIT IN THE LOBBY?!?!)

Considering that it is the only place we were able to get wifi and communicate with the world we left behind, this seemed ridiculous.

The walls are boring and white (though they finally put up some paintings in the lobby be the time we left). The one photo/drawing in our room was not quite pleasant, and the overall experience was not very impressive. The location is great, but for the money you can certainly live better in Barcelona.... For the same price our hotel in Madrid was about ten times as good (friendly, helpful, nice interior, beautiful views...)

If you don't plan on ever being in your hotel, and if you preferably have a phone that works in Barcelona, this hotel may not be so bad, but for us it was a let down.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed here at the end of October 2011. I chose a Standard Interior room which obviously was dark as I didn't have windows, but I didn't have any noise problems either! The airline lost my bag and the staff were helpful saying it will probably take a few days. It did arrive eventually and the next day another staff member checked to see if my bag had arrived. They also suggested some places to buy some necessities. My room was on a low floor so I was able to connect to wifi which was great. The room itself was very clean and it was a nice room. I also had a bath.. Location was great and I could walk to the airport bus in about 10 mins. There was also a metro on La Rambla. The foyer was great as you could sit on the balcony and look over the square.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lbiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We were almost stranded when all the hotels were sold out but the Jardi. So we were happy they had space.

The wifi is only in the lobby unless you ask for a room near the lobby. We got some first floor rooms that could reach the wifi. Problem is, the lobby is very loud and the street can be loud at times. We used an iPhone sound machine with our baby.

Would have been cheaper if we used priceline.

Also 10% discount for cash was kind of shady.

Very nice multilingual front desk people.

Long stairs with no elevator is not ideal for bags.

Great location in center of las Ramblas.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franklyVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Just arrive in Barcelona in summer with protest around, La Rambla was full and I was lost. Arrive and the host recieve me with a big smile, help, water and a nice room in one of the best locations in Gotic. I has WiFi service, nice and clean bed and bathroom, tv with the latest news and a fun square just right outside. In the morning, i got my breakfast served with care and love.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#108 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#135 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel California
Hotel California
#220 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Regencia Colon Hotel
Regencia Colon Hotel
#187 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Condal
Hotel Condal
#267 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#310 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to el Jardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about el Jardi

Property: el Jardi
Address: Placa Sant Josep Oriol 1 | Barri Gòtic, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#187 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#203 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — el Jardi 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, "el Jardí" is at the artistic and commercial heart of the city center. The Plaça del Pi, near Las Ramblas is a meeting point for visiting the main sights. On foot, you can visit the Cathedral, the Plaça Catalunya and the Palau de la Generalitat, the Passeig de Gracia, el Born district, the beach, the maremagnum or the port.In a 300 years old building, "el Jardí" offers 40 rooms equipped with bathroom, air conditioning / heating, safety box, satellite TV and telephone. The lobby is wi-fi ready and there is a personal computer available for our customers. "el Jardí" also offers the option of a Continental breakfast.With a friendly atmosphere and a multilingual team, our reception strives every day to provide a personalized attention to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your el Jardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardi - Hostal Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Jardi Barcelona
Jardi Hotel Barcelona
El Jardi Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing