We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean stay, safe and secure.”
Review of el Jardi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
el Jardi
Ranked #227 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, clean stay, safe and secure.”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My mom, sister and I all stayed at this hotel in Sep 2013. It was small and not fancy, but very clean and the location was amazing!! My mom is 65 and my sister and I are late 20's and we all had a very enjoyable stay. The room was clean and sanitary but small and economical. Perfect for our needs as it was in the middle of the gothic quarter and walk-able to everything we wanted; resturants, bus line, beach. Would definitely recommend and stay here again! Secure entry and 24 hour concerige.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    342
    131
    44
    22
See reviews for
85
400
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I just stayed here, and there is good and bad to say about this place, but I suspect if you are older than 25, this place might not work for you...

Pros:
- The location. This place is right in the heart of things. You can easily walk to the major sites, and even taking the train from the airport and then walking here is not that bad, saving you money. It also overlooks a lovely courtyard/marketplace, but that has its disadvantages, too (read on).

- Nice room. The room is actually pretty nice and cozy for such a low price, which is great. If you pay in cash, you get a 10% discount on the cost of the room, too.

Cons:
- Noise, noise, noise! We got next to no sleep here. The market/courtyard outside is VERY loud. To the hotel's defense, a lot of this noise is taken care of by the thick windows, but if you like to sleep with the windows open, that won't work here. To make matters worse, a college group was staying there, and their chaperone apparently didn't care to keep them quiet, so we got to listen to them stamp around and shout up and down the halls all night. Some were even too drunk to find the right room, so they banged on our door at 3am. While the hotel isn't necessarily responsible for the behavior of the people it lets stay there, I suspect groups like this stay there often, so you might have the same situation we did.

- The shower. Whoever designed the shower of our room is a fool. He/she put the shower head holder too close to the ceiling, so you can't actually put the shower head in it. This means you have to essentially take a one-handed shower the whole time because if you don't hold the shower head, it shoots all over the shower by the force of the water coming out of it. It's such a simple thing to fix. Why not fix it?

FYI:
- The breakfast is nothing to write home about. If it's included in the cost of your room, then great. Eat it. But, do not pay for it. You could get much better for the same or less outside.

- The staff ranges from excellent and polite to a bit squirrely. The early evening guy was excellent, the late night guy spoke no English or Spanish, and the morning guy was hit or miss - sometimes helpful, sometimes dismissive.

We really wanted to like this place, but we ended up being exhausted for a lot of our time in Barcelona and the next city, so if you need your sleep, really seriously consider whether you want to book this place. It might just be worth paying a little bit more to stay somewhere quieter!

Room Tip: I think it's a crap shoot here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillygirlagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
el_Jardi, Director General at el Jardi, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Phillygirlagain,

Thank you for having stayed with us at “el Jardí”, a family oriented hotel, catering also professionals and couples in general with a good track record to the date. El Jardí success is based on the ideal location and the affordable rates we offer.

By local county ordinances all business in the square must be closed by 11:00 at night. Due to the lively squares that surround the hotel we recommend to close balconies and windows while sleeping.

We occasionally do host small groups and always communicate with the leader of the group the norms of the hotel prior to contract.

Customer service training will be provided to rectify the lack of personal attention you experienced.

We strive to constantly improve our facilities to better satisfy our guests.

We would very much like to welcome you back to “el Jardí” so you can experience first hand how serious we take the suggestions of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delmar, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My family of five stayed in two rooms at this hotel for our visit to Barcelona and it worked out great. No frills hotel was truly an excellent value. Complimentary breakfast was very good. Nothing fancy but all quality and plenty of it. Perfect location on the Placa Sant Josep Oriole, in the wonderful Barri Gotic-Las Rables area. 24 hour staff, friendly, knowledgeable about both the immediate area and city overall. tight quarters but the price and location are such that it is both expected and appreciated. Great spot from which to explore Barcelona.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with view of the plaza or cathedral. We enjoyed such views without asking for them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The location is very central, a few steps off of La Rambla, a short walk to Placa de Catalunya and, in the opposite direction, an equally short walk to the waterfront. While our cab driver had a difficult time finding it and thus let us off on La Rambla, once on the plaza it was an easy walk to the hotel. The room itself was small but very clean with a window opening up onto the plaza. A computer is available but was not working when we were there. The desk staff however, were kind enough to print off our boarding passes for us. The only negative are the stairs from the ground to reception on the first floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Right near La Rambla and near everywhere you would want to go for example going in December "The Christmas market", the cathedral and also a never ending amount of shops! Random events would happen outside your windows such as drummers or an art market to a paper maiche man shooting sweets out of his mouth. Sound proof windows which you need but I can imagine in summer in the heat having to open these and probably not getting much sleep. Perfect hotel, free wifi, great cost and really nice rooms :) Would love to visit again.

Also ask about paying cash for a 10% discount.

BEWARE OF TAKING YOUNG CHILDREN - Windows in room have nothing to stop falling out at all, open drop.

Room Tip: Pick the slightly expensive room on the outside with a balcony so you can see all the strange stuff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydia2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times. We have always been happy there. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are small but super clean. The location of the hotel is outstanding.
We will stay here again and again for the value and location.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony to be able to enjoy the action of the lovely little courtyard below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank constap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Water Mill, New York
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This fantastically small hotel located in Placa dei Pi is a great find for budget minded travelers, while affording amenities such as free television and wifi. It is clean, has heat and air conditioning and for a small fee, an abundant breakfast. We had room 63, which had a lovely balcony overlooking the placa. The bathroom was clean, with soap and shampoo, and had plenty of plush terry cloth bath towel. Staff was friendly and all spoke perfect English, amongst other languages. An unconditional recommendation for el Jardi.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabondfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
H10 Raco Del Pi
H10 Raco Del Pi
#111 of 512 in Barcelona
982 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#70 of 512 in Barcelona
550 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Condal
Hotel Condal
#271 of 512 in Barcelona
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#162 of 512 in Barcelona
1,470 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Regencia Colon Hotel
Regencia Colon Hotel
#191 of 512 in Barcelona
808 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#317 of 512 in Barcelona
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to el Jardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about el Jardi

Property: el Jardi
Address: Placa Sant Josep Oriol 1 | Barri Gòtic, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#187 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#203 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — el Jardi 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, "el Jardí" is at the artistic and commercial heart of the city center. The Plaça del Pi, near Las Ramblas is a meeting point for visiting the main sights. On foot, you can visit the Cathedral, the Plaça Catalunya and the Palau de la Generalitat, the Passeig de Gracia, el Born district, the beach, the maremagnum or the port.In a 300 years old building, "el Jardí" offers 40 rooms equipped with bathroom, air conditioning / heating, safety box, satellite TV and telephone. The lobby is wi-fi ready and there is a personal computer available for our customers. "el Jardí" also offers the option of a Continental breakfast.With a friendly atmosphere and a multilingual team, our reception strives every day to provide a personalized attention to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your el Jardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardi - Hostal Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Jardi Barcelona
Jardi Hotel Barcelona
El Jardi Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing