We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, perfect location for this very simple hotel”
Review of el Jardi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
el Jardi
Ranked #219 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed 3 nights, the location couldn't be better, the staff is very friendly and the rooms are very clean but very basic, no shampoo, no hair dryer, no floor mat in the bathroom...but this is a good value hotel for Barcelona.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Nat20142013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

El Jardi is a simple hotel. To start with, the lobby is not on the ground floor. You have to go up a flight of steps to reach it. Although this may be a drawbacck for some people, I've always had help from the staff to carry my luggage to the lobby. Once in the lobby there is an elevator servicing the rest of the hotel. That being said, El Jardi's location is simply incredible. It is located a two minute walk from the Ramblas, between the plazas of Santa María del Pi and Joseph Oriol. Ther are restaurants and tapa places with tables out in the plazas and often there are artisans and painters selling their wares. It is a two minute walk to the Teatro del Liceo, about 8 minutes from the Cathedral, about 10 minutes from the Plaza de Cataluña, abour 12 minutes from the Palau de la musica Catalana and 15 minutes from Santa María del Mar. The hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. I've stayed there twice and that has always been my experience.They do not have a restaurant but they offer a basic breakfast. I've never used that service because there are so many great places close by that I have preferred going somoewhere else. I'l be going back to Barcelona in the Fall and I wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TitoPuertoRico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Overall impression: Excellent location, easy walk from Aerobus. Close to all things in Bari Gotic for easy sightseeing in that area. Very clean, neat, simple, never felt unsafe. Quick response to emails. Not geared to guests who expect Frette linens, turndown service and lavish surroundings or those who want to party hearty in the hotel.
Rooms: We had two different rooms during our stay. Room 41, good size interior with two comfortable single beds, large bathroom, safe, closet, flat screen TV (never used it), large interior window for light and air. Room 1, again a good sized room with queen bed, small bathroom, safe, closet, flat screen TV, balcony overlooking plaza. Enjoyed both, 41 was quieter. Booked through their website, so breakfast was included. Coffee, juice, fruit, breakfast breads -- tables and chairs in a room that overlooked plaza. Also where wifi was located.
Service: Excellent. Everyone was so helpful. Great experience.
Location: Excellent. El Jardi is between two small plazas. Site of a farmer's market and artists stalls on weekends, street entertainment, cafes. So relaxing as opposed to hotels located on Las Ramblas.
Additional Information: Ate pintxos at Irati (5 minutes walk) two nights. Wonderful and reasonable -- I think 1.65 euro per toothpick. Recommend it highly. Also enjoyed coffee, gin&tonics and wine at Bar del Pi.

Room Tip: For Friday and Saturdays, would recommend interior room because of music on the plaza. Recommend #41...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BTravelin47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a European Hotel so do not expect an American Hotel experience. I paid a little extra to get a large balcony and was really happy with what I got. The balcony area was almost as large as the room with a table and chairs to enjoy the weather and see from the roof top. The room was small but very functional as are most European rooms. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was very adequate. What makes this place great is it is right in the middle of the famous "La Rambla" I would definitely stay here again. The staff was very helpful. This would be a definite recommendation from me. I think you will enjoy this location if you are wanting to experience Barcelona.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I can't' imagine a better location or a better place to stay in Barcelona. The staff was cheerful and helpful; the rooms were pristine clean and extremely adequate for amenities.

Our 6th floor balcony overlooked the busy plaza below which was teaming with life. We loved people-watching from this perspective: seeing the people in the cafes, the street performers, artists, and fellow tourists from around the world mingle in our front yard. And we revelled in the sounds that echoed upwards to our room, lulling us to sleep. This is life and we were privileged to have it flow within us during our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Okemos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My mother (mid-60's), my niece (early-20's) and myself (40) stayed at El Jardi February 5-9, 2014. We arrived at the airport at 7:00pm then took the metro to Placa Catalunya and took a taxi. The taxi driver didn't know where the hotel was and dropped us as close as he thought he could get us. After spending a day or two in the area we should have just gotten off the metro at the Liceu Station instead and walked the 5 minutes to the hotel. The hotel is not on the main street it's tucked into two squares: the Placa de Sant Josep Oriol and Placa del Pi. But, once you know your way around it's not hard to find.

The main desk is located on the First Floor (2nd floor for us Americans) and does not have an elevator. So you will need to climb about 20 steps with your luggage to reception. Most of the staff speak some English, but we tried our best with the little Spanish we knew. Remember you will need to give your passport to reception. After checking in we had to go up another 5-6 stairs to the elevator. This is not a problem, just a good reminder to not pack your whole closet on vacation. The elevator is tiny and can hold three people snug or 1 piece of luggage and 1 person. There are also more stairs, but we were up several floors and decided to opt for the elevator at that point. The lobby door is locked after a certain time and you will need to be buzzed in after dark. Also, you will leave your room key at reception each time you leave and pick it up upon return. Remember to ask for the internet password at reception if you want it.

We had the family room, which included 2 twin beds and a double roll-away. It was a tight fit, but honestly who spends that much time in the hotel room while on vacation? The room was not fancy, but very clean and had two small balcony's overlooking both squares. Our bathroom in our room was also very small, but we didn't have to share one down the hall and that's the best part. Remember that El Jardi is not a luxury hotel, but a budget hotel in a great area. So, the small shower and room was a non-issue for us. Maybe a person over 6' tall might have an issue in the tiny shower.

The noise level was fine. Yes, you can hear people down in the square at night, but it wasn't a huge problem. A friendly reminder is that Spain tends to eat dinner much later, like 9p-10p, so most people are up later. We did notice we could hear people in other rooms down the hall or when they came and went in and out of the elevator. But for the most part this was not an issue for us.

Breakfast was included with our room rate and consisted of rolls, jam, cereal, tea, juice and a coffee machine that made lattes, etc. It's not an American breakfast, but a nice little something to get you going and out the door. The breakfast room wasn't fancy, but clean and well kept up. The staff will come around and have you sign for your breakfast with your room number.

Location was fantastic. It was less about a three minute walk to Las Ramblas and Metro station. It was very central and a great jumping off point for walking day trips around the different areas of Barcelona. The hotel is also located near the La Boqueria Market, an open air farmers market for fresh fruits, veggies, meat (jamon), bread, wine, juice, candy, etc. It's a good place to grab things for a picnic or snack. We also found two places near the hotel to eat. There is a few restaurants in the square, as well as, a gelato shop, coffee shop and souvenir shopping. Note on shopping, most of the shops have the same thing and one owner usually owns several shops. Go in and asks prices, most of the folks are willing to negotiate. If not, go to another shop and buy it cheaper. Our other favorite place to eat was tapas at Irati Taverna Basca. Great food and prices close to the hotel.

Overall, we really enjoyed the location. The hotel is not fancy but nice and served our needs and we were pleased with our stay at El Jardi. If we are back in Barcelona, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Having a balcony overlooking the square adds to the experience. If you can get one, we would sugges...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tcab13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent location in the heart of barri gotic. 2 minute walk to metro station and to la rambla. Many nice shops and restaurants nearby. staffs were helpful and polite. Continental breakfast was included in our booking. It was not spectacular but sufficient. Had a basic double room facing one of the squares. Room and bed were a bit small but comfortable enough. Ear plugs might come in handy at night as the sound proofing of the rooms were not great. If you are looking for affordable accommodation in a great location this is for you.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bing Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#217 of 515 in Barcelona
526 reviews
Eixample
Praktik Garden
Praktik Garden
#137 of 515 in Barcelona
1,995 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#327 of 515 in Barcelona
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Nouvel Hotel
Nouvel Hotel
#214 of 515 in Barcelona
1,067 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#68 of 515 in Barcelona
594 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hostal Lausanne
Hostal Lausanne
#432 of 515 in Barcelona
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to el Jardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about el Jardi

Address: Placa Sant Josep Oriol 1 | Barri Gòtic, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#187 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#203 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £44 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — el Jardi 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, "el Jardí" is at the artistic and commercial heart of the city center. The Plaça del Pi, near Las Ramblas is a meeting point for visiting the main sights. On foot, you can visit the Cathedral, the Plaça Catalunya and the Palau de la Generalitat, the Passeig de Gracia, el Born district, the beach, the maremagnum or the port.In a 300 years old building, "el Jardí" offers 40 rooms equipped with bathroom, air conditioning / heating, safety box, satellite TV and telephone. The lobby is wi-fi ready and there is a personal computer available for our customers. "el Jardí" also offers the option of a Continental breakfast.With a friendly atmosphere and a multilingual team, our reception strives every day to provide a personalized attention to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your el Jardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardi - Hostal Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Jardi Barcelona
Jardi Hotel Barcelona
El Jardi Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing