We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, great location”
Review of el Jardi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
el Jardi
Ranked #221 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2007

The Hotel Jardi is very basic but clean and very well located. All of our email correspondence making reservations and getting directions from them was very easy. All of the desk clerks speak fluent English. The location, off Las Ramblas is good and the hotel is right on a lovely little square not far from the Cathedral. There are no bell hops and even though there is a small elevator you still have to get the luggage up to the reception level which is a long flight of stairs. Our room had a small balcony overlooking the square. This is a no frills place but well run and clean. Not for older travellers I would say, the elevator sometimes does not run well and it has 5 floors of rooms. Note: you have to pay in cash unless your room bill is over 250 euros.

6  Thank guilford104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2006

Actually a very decent place to stay in, located in a quiet & yet tourist packed street, it resembles a little courtyard. Near an old church (bells arent loud) & other stores, cafes.

Area is safe, off near the main street.

Entrance is a bit haphazard as there are steps to climb w/ your heavy luggage. Stairs to elevator even more difficult. Elevator a bit thin but I fit in.

Rooms are spacious, a bit cold though as there was no heating in room but extra blankets provided. Walls gruffy & snuffy but not that bad. Floor needs to get a warm carpet but other than that it was a nice place to get back to at night.

Bathroom clean & maintained, shower nice.

Staff is composed of friendly foreign students who really try to help you w/ city places, maps, sites, etc. (One of them was smoking which was a minus).

No noise at all from guests at night or from street. Window is sound resistant, great view of church square w/ cafes.

Town market nearby. Metro in vicinity.

I really enjoyed the location & the view from the floor. Great place to stay at.

Stayed: November 2006
23  Thank Zypcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2006

We have stayed here for the past few years, always around the 24th September for the Fiesta.It's a small hotel and not at all fancy but it's always clean and the service is good.There are disadvantages : the lift begins at the 1st floor, the showers can be tiny even when the bathroom is large, inside rooms are not attractive and it's important that your room has a window and also a balcony. Disadvantages are far outweighed by the good points : the location is unbeatable if you want to be in the heart of the old quarter; even though the hotel is on two lively squares we were never disturbed by noise: the staff are friendly and helpful and all speak excellent English; breakfast is adequate and not expensive. Prices in 2006 were the same as those in 2005.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank PeterNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lammejn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2006

On Trip Advisor and other sites we had read good things about Hotel Jardi. We also have friends who recommended we stay there, knowing we would enjoy the neighborhood. It is a lower priced hotel with no frills, but everything we wanted in a room, and more. We had a balcony and another set of double windows opening on a square (which was a delightful place in which to have a meal, a coffee, or a glass of wine). The rooms are clean, the staff friendly and helpful. We would happily return.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Margjorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2006

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank mountainmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank irish_tourist123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Adagio
Hotel Adagio
#330 of 517 in Barcelona
551 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#68 of 517 in Barcelona
600 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Avinyo
Catalonia Avinyo
#129 of 517 in Barcelona
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel California
Hotel California
#247 of 517 in Barcelona
668 reviews
El Raval
Meson Castilla Atiram
Meson Castilla Atiram
#206 of 517 in Barcelona
890 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#227 of 517 in Barcelona
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to el Jardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about el Jardi

Address: Placa Sant Josep Oriol 1 | Barri Gòtic, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#187 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £44 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — el Jardi 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, "el Jardí" is at the artistic and commercial heart of the city center. The Plaça del Pi, near Las Ramblas is a meeting point for visiting the main sights. On foot, you can visit the Cathedral, the Plaça Catalunya and the Palau de la Generalitat, the Passeig de Gracia, el Born district, the beach, the maremagnum or the port.In a 300 years old building, "el Jardí" offers 40 rooms equipped with bathroom, air conditioning / heating, safety box, satellite TV and telephone. The lobby is wi-fi ready and there is a personal computer available for our customers. "el Jardí" also offers the option of a Continental breakfast.With a friendly atmosphere and a multilingual team, our reception strives every day to provide a personalized attention to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your el Jardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardi - Hostal Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Jardi Barcelona
Jardi Hotel Barcelona
El Jardi Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing