We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Set the benchmark”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Primero Primera
Ranked #13 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Set the benchmark”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We just came back from a family trip to this wonderful hotel. It is my first review for a hotel and I am struggling to say how good it was. We went there with our 4 year old son. we have been upgraded to a superior room who was great for our family. Large and very spacious with an on suite just for my son...
Facts: hotel is simply incredible in term of quality and service. No matter how hard I tried, could not find faults or very little. The size of the room, attention to details, furniture, spotless clean and the kindness of the people working there. The breakfast was very good and refined. You can have it in the dedicated area or outside.
The level was well above five stars hotel for a very good value. In fact, it basically set the benchmark how hotels should be in Europe and beyond. Let me explain why?
The owner lives in the first floor and you feel like you are invited in the house of a very refined and and caring guest. The free bar in the room and common area is real and well appreciated in hot Barcelona. The lobby is the place where even my son appreciated stopping after a long walk in Barcelona. It is decorated with taste and very very intimate. You don't feel a second in a hotel, more a VIP guest somewhere exclusive. Once again, it is not about impressing you like so many hotel try to do but trying to make you feel at home...in that, this hotel is unique in my books.
some practical facts: hotel is not in the centre but a very short train journey by train. You arrive at airport and take the aerobus (less than 10 euros return). You cross place Catalonya (terminus) and look for L6 train (orange link sign). You need to buy a t10 ticket (little less than 10 euros and to be used 10 times. You have one hour use for each tickets so can start with train then bus) or t70 if you stay longer and have a big family (valid for all the family so you use same ticket several time on bus, train,... Turn journey for 3 people takes 6 so goes quick and children pay from 4 since this summer :-(). The t50 is for one person only.
You stop at tres Torres in the L6 going to Reina elisenda. Hotel is 5 mins walk and very close.
The area is posh and highly residential. I had to walk around to find things. The main road to eat and shops called Mandri which is 10 mins away. Small supermarkets, pizza place, some good restaurant. The gem was finding bus 14 that takes you straight to the sea area and el borno which was the highlight if our adventure.
Buses are great and complement very well the train. I highly recommend using them as you see the city. We could not afford expensive restaurant too many times so eating cheap was important. Trio advisor help us find the pedreta (you choose your fish and Hamas which are grilled on the spot. A dream at a very good price...a must see just close the station the Francia bus stop line 14 or barcelonetta. Bo de b gives you the best sandwich ou can get in Barcelona...doesn't look the part but don't be fooled. for fideua and paella , go to restaurant el Fondo which is in estrella very close to placa real. Very nice fr 8 euros Per Person. There's also a family friendly pasta place 30 m further on the same street. My wife found a vegetarian restaurant near placa Catalonia, the restaurant is called Teresa Carla I think (simply incredible and impossible to find without trip advisor review. I am not vegetarian but quality was out of this world. So impressed we have eaten there several times).
All in all, can't recommend enough this hotel which was far beyond what we expected. You are not in the heart of the city but so happy to come back to the safe heaven of the hotel. If you want the sea, you may want to see closer to el borno area. Otherwise, very hard to find better in Barcelona. I wish there was a hotel like this in every big city. Hotel stay will never be the same...that's how highly I rate this hotel.
When I read other reviews before I went, I was skeptical and not sure what to expect. I will simply say that most people were spot on. I just tried to add more practical dimension to this hotel in term of gong around. Lots of buses and rain to go anywhere direct. Use them and enjoy your stay...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Goldorak72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    101
    26
    6
    0
See reviews for
120
377
24
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Although a bit outside the city (a short taxi ride to the centre) this hotel makes up for it in other ways, namely the rooms are very spacious - we had room 38 which consisted of 2 bedrooms, and 2 bathrooms. Really good value for money and you will immidiatly feel like you are at home the moment you walk in. Very nice staff, good restaurant too.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Urbanzoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I was a treat to stay at the Primero Primera. The rooms and bathrooms were beautiful, the food was great, the staff was extremely helpful and the food was delicious. The staff was always friendly plus gave us great ides about places to visit and things to do and see. You are in a great location as you are in a very scenic and tranquil area and are only a 5 minute walk away from the subway. The mini fridges were always full of complementary drinks and there is always something out to eat. An awesome place that I would definately recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avery G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vedbaek, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We just completed a weeks’ stay in hotel Primero Primera, and it is highly recommendable. The staff is very nice and helpful. It started even before we arrived where they assisted us in making a dinner reservation at a restaurant which had failed to respond to our direct contact. We had the superior room with balcony at the 4th floor – the interior is new and details have been cared for - an iPhone dock and the TV is a 42 inch LED. Minibar holds only water and soft drinks – but all is complimentary – nice concept. Also the minibar is big enough to hold your own purchases should you care for that. The ‘honesty bar’ at the ground level – help yourself and record your purchase. And again – snacks, tea, coffee, soft drinks are free. Breakfast includes freshly baked bread and all you need. The dinner menu has a small selection only but of good quality – but that’s sufficient since you didn’t come to Barcelona to dine at the hotel, right? Many thanks to Dafne, Marta, Paula, Hector and the rest of the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenrikDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We arrived in Barcelona from Lisbon with our young daughters in tow.

The hotel was cool and welcoming in the heat of the day. A nice boutique feel. Somewhat like a Morgan property in New York but at a slightly smaller scale. The quiet neighborhood is away from the frenzy of La Rambla but easily accessible by metro from the Les Tres Torres stop.

Our room was lovely with a bedroom for the two of us and two fancy couch beds in the living room for the girls. The bathroom was very modern and ample in scale with both a shower room and a room with bath. The mini bar was included and we brought water with us on our daily journeys.

The acoustics were great and while the hotel was full it never felt busy.
The buffet was simple but very adequate and pleasant. We enjoyed lounging in the snack and internet rooms. A very comfortable place to take a drink or read during siesta time.

Art and books were placed nicely throughout and the staff was always available but never lingering or imposing.

We intend to visit Barcelona again soon and plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NJexpatLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We found this hotel by accident...am so glad I made the reservation! It was everything I love in a hotel...wonderful design, up to date amenities, lovely public spaces. It is a short subway ride from the heart of the city in a quiet neighborhood. The staff was pleasant and welcoming, doing everything possible to make our stay pleasant. Coffee, tea and soft drinks were always available and the bar and garden area were peaceful and relaxing. Daphne (at reception) went above and beyond to make us feel at home and was so kind. On our next trip to Barcelona, we will make sure to stay here again! We are true fans.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank live2travel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I totally recommend this place. First the staff of this lovely new hotel makes all the difference, they all care about every single detail to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Then the facilities are all renovated and very functional. Even the location could be more central, it's not a real problem with public transportation or bycicle rental to be in downtown in 20 min

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pepe_madrid08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Hotel Brummell
Hotel Brummell
#10 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 514 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Primero Primera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primero Primera

Property: Hotel Primero Primera
Address: C/ Doctor Carulla 25-29, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Primero Primera 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Primero Primera has recently opened its doors in Barcelona. It is a 4* boutique hotel which offers a relaxed and quiet atmosphere and the comfort of a private home. Located in the residential area of Tres Torres-Sarria, just 10 minutes by metro from the Barcelona's city center. Its 30 spacious rooms are all exterior and carefully decorated with all sorts of details. It has a cafe with access to the terrace, a 24hrs snacks corner, free refreshments and honesty bar service, a cozy lounge with fireplace and comfortable sofas and a fitness. Outdoor swimming pool & garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Primero Primera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Primero Primera Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing