We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent choice for visiting Barcelona!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Primero Primera
Ranked #13 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“An excellent choice for visiting Barcelona!”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Like many others we found this an excellent hotel. The hospitality received at the welcome was very good. There are lots of small touches that make this a very good place to stay.

The room was top class and very clean and comfortable. Would recommend paying a little more for the top floor rooms. The bathroom was excellent with both a bath and a separate shower.

The buffet breakfast is very good. Its a continental selection with a wide variety of options and the service was very helpful in making sure there was a good start to the day!

The location is not a real drawback - it is about 20 minutes away from the city centre and the local rail station is less than a five minute walk. The trains run very late so we had no problem getting home. Plus there is no shortage of taxis available and they cost about 8 euro to get you home from the city centre - A lot cheaper than London!!

One small thing to remember is if you call for a taxi to pick you up from the hotel the metre runs from when the call goes in not from when you get picked up though there is a limit of about 4 euro on this.

One minor quibble - (v minor) - is they advertise a free soft drink mini bar in the room. This is true but as they say when its gone its gone! The only item replaced each day is the water. That said there are soft drinks available in the common area which was very appreciated on some of the very hot weather days.

I would conclude by saying that there is no doubt that on the next trip to Barcelona this will be our first and probably the only choice of hotel to stay in!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gael-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    100
    26
    6
    0
See reviews for
120
371
24
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This is wonderful hotel. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, the service is terrific. The only reason I'm giving an overall four-star rating instead of five is because the location is a little bit removed (about 20 minutes from the Ramblas by Metro). The hotel is situated in a quiet neighborhood, about a 5-7 minute walk to the Metro and then a few stops to get to the Ramblas.

The hotel is beautiful and there are lots of nice amenities--a sitting area and bar, free soft drinks and snacks, a generous breakfast and a quiet, tranquil atmosphere. Our room had a patio with a table and chairs that overlooked the pool (which we didn't get the chance to use). Since we were traveling with our 11 year old daughter, we appreciated having a larger suite with plenty of room for all of us to spread out.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and even surprised our daughter, whose birthday occurred during our stay, with a brownie and a birthday message. We appreciated the kind and thoughtful gesture (and the brownie was delicious!).

This hotel is a great choice and we actually enjoyed being a bit removed from the noise and night life of Barcelona, but if you are looking for a centrally located, middle-of-the-action hotel, you might want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed at Hotel Primero Primera on the back end of our vacation(we had taken a roundtrip cruise from Barcelona). It was truly one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had! The location had its pros and cons. The good part was it was in a very calm and quiet neighborhood of Barcelona- very safe and perfect for families. It is off the beaten path since that it is far from the main tourist attractions and areas. However, it is only a block from the metro which is clean and very easy to use. The hotel it self is excellent! It has a very nice outdoor area with chairs and tables. The lobby inside is nice- it has a public Mac computer(in English and Spanish), a library full of books, a cute sitting room, and refreshments available 24/7. They also have a restaurant that is very cute and serves exceptional food. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Our suite had a nice balcony, a nice bathroom, a pretty big desk room, and comfortable beds. Finally, the best part...service! The people were so kind and warm. They helped us with everything. This was an amazing boutique in Barcelona!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKWorld120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed for only two nights, but the welcome and level of service we received was striking! I loved the super-soft pillows - perfect after a long day in Barcelona! Very stylish and spotlessly clean, this hotel lies in a quiet street only a few minutes walk from the metro, making access to the city centre very fast and easy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed here last weekend for 2 nights. Booked the night before our arrival because of theTrip rating. Rooms available from 3pm, we arrived at 1pm and upgraded to a superior room that was available straight away. Rooms fine, the hotel has only been open just over a year, so decor quite smart. The staff were great especially Hector (bar) and Beatrice (reception). Breakfast ok, but would expect a little more, i.e. nuts, dried fruit, fresh orange juice ( I think it was bottled). Nice area of Barcelona with great local restaurants that the staff will book for you. Journey into central Barcelona by public transport about 15 mins. Nice residential area. Downside, pool area not open until midday, I think the management need to re-think this. Quirky, like staying at someone's home!!

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies on the southside of the building looked good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanibel Island, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We just finished a 4 week stay in Spain and France, and this hotel was a stand out among those we used. The room was very pleasant, and the bathroom large and lovely.

The upscale neighborhood, though largely residential, had several nice options for dining out. We had a car while we were there, but left it in the garage, preferring to walk the neighborhood or take cabs into down town Barcelona.

There is no question that we will choose this hotel when we return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
189 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Very nice staff, spotless cleanliness, great attention to detail in the deco and design, absolutely quiet, it is not cheap but very much worth every penny. The rooms are very spacy with nice balconies for the suites. Only minus was in my opinion that they only open their beautiful garden from 12pm to 8pm, probably a good idea guests wouldn't bother enjoying the many sites of Barcelona otherwise.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WoburnExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 521 in Barcelona
2,014 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 521 in Barcelona
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montjuic
Hotel Brummell
Hotel Brummell
#10 of 521 in Barcelona
388 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#7 of 521 in Barcelona
319 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#9 of 521 in Barcelona
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Primero Primera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primero Primera

Property: Hotel Primero Primera
Address: C/ Doctor Carulla 25-29, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Primero Primera 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Primero Primera has recently opened its doors in Barcelona. It is a 4* boutique hotel which offers a relaxed and quiet atmosphere and the comfort of a private home. Located in the residential area of Tres Torres-Sarria, just 10 minutes by metro from the Barcelona's city center. Its 30 spacious rooms are all exterior and carefully decorated with all sorts of details. It has a cafe with access to the terrace, a 24hrs snacks corner, free refreshments and honesty bar service, a cozy lounge with fireplace and comfortable sofas and a fitness. Outdoor swimming pool & garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Primero Primera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Primero Primera Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing