We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Primero Primera
Ranked #16 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cool and perfect”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

A very nice experience
Living 5 days in this hotel was a fun and relaxing experience
I booked a superior room and they upgrade my room to suite but with no balkony .. room 47
Well clean and a free mini bar was perfect, with a free internet connection.
Nice location and a quite distinct
5 min to Terres Torres Metro stations riding L6 train 10 min to la rambles street
Breakfast bar was so small but with high quality items and really I am gonna miss this breakfast..
Lovely service and crew ... U can feel home

Helpful?
1 Thank Firas K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    105
    25
    6
    1
See reviews for
124
387
24
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We liked this hotel very much. It is away from the central part of Barcelona, just a few blocks from a metro stop. There is a lovely garden with small pool out back. The breakfast is good and there is an honesty bar for drinks. I would recommend the junior suite.

Room Tip: Junior suite is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

Lets get this one thing out of the way the hotel is a little bet far from center and Barcelona beach front where most the hotels are. That said I would still choose it each time I go there. There is a special feeling you get from about everything in this wonderful hotel. You fell special from the moment you walk in until the moment you leave. The staff are super helpful and caring in the right way. The rooms ... Well what can I say else that you feel at home in a Cousy room of your own it furnished in a superb way with big windows and lots of light and then can be totally dark when you want to. There are special settings in this hotel each makes you feel the warmth of a nice elegant house. I have been to hundreds of hotels around the world but never felt the temptation of staying in the hotel and forgetting about the city.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Oibhais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

I have just had the pleasure staying at what can only be described as one of the best hotels I have stayed at abroad. This has a real personal touch. When we checked in the receptionist personally showed us around the hotel and our room. The staff are only too happy to help with any issue or query. The room was very comfortable and pleasant. The hotel is situated minutes from the metro which in turn is a few minutes and stops from the centre of Barcelona and the beach. If you don't want to go into Barcelona then the hotel has a small pool with a lovely restaurant which serves breakfast lunch and dinner. If you are looking for a nice boutique hotel out of the hustle and bustle of Barcelona then this is for you. The hotel is owned by former Formula 1 racing driver Luiz Peris Sala, there are lots of racing pics on the many walls around the hotel especially in the 'honesty' bar where you chose your drink and write down what you have had. A great hotel in Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed here while on vacation with my mother and aunt. During our hotel search, we were looking adjoining rooms that would accommodate the three of us, which proved to be difficult. When we stumbled upon Primero Primera and learned this room arrangement was possible, we hesitated because we thought the location wasn't ideal- we were set on staying in Barri Gotic. Reluctantly we booked, which turned out to be a GREAT decision. This is one of my favorite hotels that I've stayed in. It was incredibly charming, with great food and excellent service. A lot of thought has gone into the details, which I loved. And the neighborhood ended up being very charming. We spent half a day wandering the neighborhood, stumbling upon great antique and home decor shops, and clothing boutiques nearby. In retrospect, I'm glad we stayed here instead of Barri Gotic as it has easy metro access to the city center and no air of being touristy. I hope I can go back one day!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteamingChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from staying at this fantastic property and I felt compelled to submit a review. Before you read further, there are two things you should know 1) before booking this hotel I spent HOURS and HOURS reading the reviews for the huge number of hotels in Barcelona (so if you're a trusting soul, just read this review and save yourself the time :) ) and 2) I'm ridiculously fussy (in a good way though...lol). This hotel was probably one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in throughout then world - I travel lots for work so have a good base to judge from). In Barcelona you are certainly not spoilt for choice, which makes a decision very challenging.

The two receptionists we met, Marta and Dafne were just awesome and made us feel very welcome immediately. They were always both very sweet to my daughter, who can be a chatterbox. Once checked in we were taken on a tour of the property to introduce us to the various facilities and then escorted to our room. Most places might point you to the lift if you're lucky. They even gracefully indulged us in our meagre attempts at speaking spanish. The property itself is divine, with gorgeous architecture and interior design. There are lots of various rooms on the ground floor to relax, eat, lounge etc..

Here's what you need to know:

1. I booked directly with the hotel. The team were very responsive, helpful and tolerant of my 1001 questions. We stayed 2 nights initially, and then returned for one night after spending 5 days in Costa Brava.
2. The rooms are lovely. We booked a Junior Suite specifically because I wanted a separate area to put my 5 year old daughter to bed, so my husband and I could lounge in the room or sit on terrace. We were upgraded to a Suite (XL) for the first stay and then to an Apartment (!) for our final night. Very spoilt and very lucky. Both rooms were absolutely amazing and clean, spacious and well appointed.
3. The hotel offers a free mini-bar service (non alcoholic beverages) both in your room and throughout the hotel (also provide cakes and biscuits). Alcohol is also available on a honor system based on consumption on ground floor. There are also a number of Nespresso machines throughout the property where you can help your self to coffee.
4. The breakfast is really lovely. Good selections of cereals, meats, breads, fresh fruit, cheeses etc.. Certainly more than enough to start the day. Staff here were great too.
5. The pool itself is small (but more than adequate unless you want to swim laps), but the outdoor area is lovely (and huge) with pool lounges around the pool, and day lounges spread throughout the garden (which is also beautiful). There is a free mini-bar service here also, towels provided too.
6. WiFi great both in rooms and throughout the property, including garden and pool area.
7. Uncover parking if you need it
8. The hotel is located in a small, what I'd consider up-market suburb, Les Torres. This was the one apprehension I had when I booked as I was concerned it might be too far out of the action. Not so at all! In fact, I loved the location (we walked the streets to take in the atmosphere and architecture of the suburb). The metro is a short walk (and easy for a public transport avoider like me) to navigate to anywhere in the city. We also caught cabs a few times from various places (Las Ramblas, Gothic Quarter) etc., and it was never more than 8-10 euro. Having not been to Barcelona before I really had no idea of the layout of the city. I thought the location was perfect for us. Having said that, if you're young (I'm early 40s but young at heart) and want to be in the thick of the hustle and bustle and noise, then this is not the right location. However, I loved being able to retreat back here after the craziness of the busier areas to somewhere quieter. Suited us perfectly. Most important point here is it was not hard to get to the major sites, etc., at all. Taxis are quick to the hotel when booked too!
9. The room service menu is limited compared to some large hotels but it is a great selection, and lets face it, most guests would rarely eat in the hotel at night. We got stuck on our second night when our daughter refused to wait up after her siesta and we spent a lovely night in. Limited, yes; delicious and good value, definitely.
10. Lovely little shopping strip with restaurants, supermarkets (and an amazing organic one...like I've never seen before) are just a 10 minute stroll away (with small child if you had one in tow like us)
11. They also provide electric bike hire from the hotel, will book tickets for you for the sites, taxis, change your pillows, etc., etc..


In short....BRILLIANT experience and will absolutely stay at this hotel again when we return to Barcelona!

Thank you Marta and Dafne for giving us a wonderful experience. My very best to you.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
20 Thank Natstar26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed here with my husband and 7-year old son for 5 nights. We absolutely loved this hotel. The staff was fantastic. We enjoyed the quiet neighbourhood and easy access to the metro. The pool was a great retreat after a long day of sight seeing. We really enjoyed the breakfast as well.

Room Tip: The suite and jr suites have balconies/terraces. It's worth the extra to be able to sit outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LambSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,098 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
2,223 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 513 in Barcelona
3,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 513 in Barcelona
3,788 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
239 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#10 of 513 in Barcelona
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Primero Primera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primero Primera

Property: Hotel Primero Primera
Address: C/ Doctor Carulla 25-29, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Primero Primera 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Primero Primera has recently opened its doors in Barcelona. It is a 4* boutique hotel which offers a relaxed and quiet atmosphere and the comfort of a private home. Located in the residential area of Tres Torres-Sarria, just 10 minutes by metro from the Barcelona's city center. Its 30 spacious rooms are all exterior and carefully decorated with all sorts of details. It has a cafe with access to the terrace, a 24hrs snacks corner, free refreshments and honesty bar service, a cozy lounge with fireplace and comfortable sofas and a fitness. Outdoor swimming pool & garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Primero Primera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Primero Primera Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing