We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Faultless'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Primero Primera
Ranked #12 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'Faultless'”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Lovely hotel and worth all the fantastic reviews it gets on here.

We stayed in an attic room - (A3) and it was fantastic . You emerge from the lift, go through a door marked private, and only then realise that you're on the top floor of the building, where there's a fantastic open roof seating area. The attic rooms are built into the roof trusses, which makes it unique and a little bit quirky.

Staff are very friendly and take pride in their apperance and nothing seems to be too much trouble for them.

Heard all sorts of 'horror' stories, re Barcelona's pict pocketing issue. To be honest, if anyone is put off by this, then don't be. The city is stunning and if you keep your wits about you,then Barcelona is as safe as any city I've visited. Just don't go about advertising your wallet , purse etc, common sense really!

The tour buses are a fantastic way of getting to see the whole of the city. Not sure why peolpe 'knock' them!

We stayed three days but that wasn't enough time to explore this gorgeous city.

Room Tip: ask for attic room A3
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corbarron1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    104
    25
    6
    0
See reviews for
122
383
24
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We plumped for this hotel purely because of it's high score on Trip Advisor. It isn't in the area we were looking at, or the type of architecture we were aiming for but our blind faith was rewarded - it's delightful.
Reviewers have mentioned that they never wanted to leave, and others have said that they never want to stay anywhere else whilst in Barcelona - it does have that effect.
The building is beautiful (much more than the '50s' description suggests) and stylishly decorated.
I particularly liked the attention to detail such as the cool mid-century chairs, proper china cups and luxurious tumblers which make it the antithesis of chain hotels.They were hosting a photo-shoot on the morning we checked out but it's not remotely snooty or self-conscious, in fact it's very welcoming and friendly.
The area is lovely - lots of good restaurants and pretty buildings to admire whilst strolling around. The Metro station is only a few blocks away so it's very easy to get around.
It's a gem - book it if you get the chance.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to room 31. It was spacious, beautifully decorated and had a gorgeous bath and luxu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fussyvegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portola Valley, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Very nice large room overlooking a garden area. Excellent bed and bedding. Great food if you are too tired to eat out one night. Extremely quiet and very pleasant neighborhood but super access to Metro. Service exemplary: when making espresso one morning a bit of coffee splashed on my husbands sweater. He thought to get it cleaned as he was there for work. By the time he brought it to front desk after breakfast staffed had already logged the event and comped the dry cleaning.

Were it not for a few nits I would have given five stars: interiors a bit dark ( fashionably so). Shower stall backed up and bathroom door handle came off in my hand. Housekeeping should have noticed both.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ccrosby60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My wife and stayed at this hotel for 10 nights and we are so glad we did. It met and exceeded our expectations. Our room was spacious and very inviting. The hotel is situated in a residential neighborhood and was nice and quit at night. It is off the beaten path, but is was not a problem as all the sites we visited in Barca were a 10 + minute ride by the metro or taxi. The staff at primero primera were exceptional and attentive to all our needs with courtesy and a warm smile. The view from our room was beautiful. The included breakfast was just right. We will definitely stay at this fine hotel if we get a chance to visit Barca again.

Room Tip: Book a superior room, 4th floor. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PauloOcean_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Perfect hotel. Fabulous room with lots of space for my husband and I and our baby. Stunning design and a very cosy, with a great bar and pool if you need to stay in. The area isn't the busiest section of Barca but in a great suburb with some fantastic local restaurants and delis. It is an area also full of young families but still a quick train ride to the centre or a decent walk to Park Guell, loved it and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gttlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We loved our five nights at Primero Primera!
It was a great introduction to Barcelona for my fiancé and I and it is situated in a very cool, upmarket suburb.
Rooms were neat as a pin and decorated to perfection.
We enjoyed the honesty bar on the ground level, the mini bar in the rooms is totally complimentary, and the tea and coffee facilities inside the room was great too.
We went on to stay at a different hotel in Barcelona for the remaining four nights of our trip and were kicking ourselves that we hadn't stayed at Primero Primera the whole time.

Room Tip: The attic room that we stayed in, A4, was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livermore, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this gorgeous hotel for 2 nights before heading back home from our honeymoon. First look from the outside, I was already in love. Hotel is not in the tourist area but was only a 5 min walk to the metro and about a 15 min ride to Catalunya (main tourist area) without having to change trains. We actually prefer staying a little outside of town to get away from the noise and craziness.

Walking into the hotel, first thing you smell are the fragrant peony candles that they are burning. The decor throughout is very rustic and cozy. The perfect way to describe them, "Restoration Hardware", which we are big fans of. The front desk is very helpful, even helped us buy tickets to the La Sagrada Familia on the spot and printed the tickets for us. We arrived at the hotel early in the morning do they held our luggage for us in their luggage room since check in was later in the afternoon.

The front desk also walked us around to where their facilities are and that also blew us away. Beside providing refreshments for guests 24 hours a day in the refreshment area, which includes fruit, snacks, soda, tea, and a Lavazza espresso machine, they also have an iMac in the middle of the room, a small library with lots of travel guides and books, AND a large room filled with cozy chairs and sofas with coffee tables for guest to relax and read/hang out. I was sold just seeing the first level!

We got lucky and was able to stay on the 5th floor which this the attic. Coming out from the elevator, we walk into a beautiful open space with open top and some chairs and sofas laid out for only the attic floor to use. What I loved most was they repurposed wood pallets and put a thick cushion on top to use as sofas. We spent our Sunday hanging out at the hotel and reading in the attic, since everything was closed on Sundays. The room itself is spacious and very rustic but modern bathroom.

Best hotel ever, pricey, but a perfect way to end our honeymoon. I would love to come back and stay here again. I am so impressed with this hotel I am putting off packing and writing this review as we speak!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
211 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#13 of 512 in Barcelona
1,076 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 512 in Barcelona
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 512 in Barcelona
3,885 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#11 of 512 in Barcelona
270 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 512 in Barcelona
3,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Primero Primera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primero Primera

Property: Hotel Primero Primera
Address: C/ Doctor Carulla 25-29, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Primero Primera 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Primero Primera has recently opened its doors in Barcelona. It is a 4* boutique hotel which offers a relaxed and quiet atmosphere and the comfort of a private home. Located in the residential area of Tres Torres-Sarria, just 10 minutes by metro from the Barcelona's city center. Its 30 spacious rooms are all exterior and carefully decorated with all sorts of details. It has a cafe with access to the terrace, a 24hrs snacks corner, free refreshments and honesty bar service, a cozy lounge with fireplace and comfortable sofas and a fitness. Outdoor swimming pool & garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Primero Primera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Primero Primera Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing