We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Primero Primera
Ranked #12 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel!”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I planned a birthday surprise weekend for my boyfriend early October – I knew I wanted to go to Barcelona as he loves it there however I wanted the perfect hotel! I based my first research on the ‘top hotels of Barcelona’ from Trip Advisor and once I got the list I researched each one of them individually.

My choice was for Primero Primera which was based on the reviews and to be honest on the pictures – it did not look as the classic touristic hotel but instead seemed cosy, stylish and yes …more Spanish (Barcelona-type-hotel).

Once we got there we had to wait a bit for the room as we arrived a bit earlier but we had the chance to wait in the garden area …which has an amazing garden with a pool – we regretted we did not take our bathing suits with us! At this stage, my boyfriend was really happy with the hotel but definitely when he saw the room he was massively impressed! I asked for a junior suite …WORTH DEFINITELY the money. It’s a spacious room nicely decorated …the bathroom is full of details with lovely Jacuzzi and also we had a spacious balcony.

The weekend we stayed there, the staff made sure we had everything we needed. They provided us with expensive and cheap options of restaurants, things to see, information we required …everything we asked! I secretly told them it was my boyfriend’s birthday that weekend and they provided with several ideas of what they could send to the room for that night – we got brownies and a bottle of wine!

Regarding location, It is NOT in the centre of Barcelona however the closest tube is less than 5 minutes walking and the area around is lovely – plenty of restaurants! You won’t have a problem with the area being noisy as it is in a really nice quiet neighbourhood. However, if you are thinking about partying until the sun comes out …you should probably look for a more centre hotel …more Rambla’s type!

Finally, this was not my first time in Barcelona and whenever I decide to go back to this amazing city, I will definitely book again in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Clau G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    104
    25
    6
    0
See reviews for
122
383
24
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel is just wonderful. Whilst it is not central it is in a very peaceful neighbourhood. I gave the metro a miss and hired an electric bicycle (available at the hotel) for the 3 days I was there. Brilliant! Loved it! You see Barcelona in a totally fresh way!
The room was large and elegantly designed with a balcony. All teas, coffees and soft drinks are included. Breakfast was yummy. The staff are warm and friendly, especially nice when you are travelling alone like I was.
Like all the best boutique hotels this has the feeling of staying in a family house.
So 5 stars, 10 points and congratulations to the owners and staff of Hotel Primero Primera. I will be back and I will recommend you enthusiastically.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bearfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Me and my wife stayed with our 2 yr old at this hotel for 4 nights recently and had a lovely time !

The hotel is in the neighbourhood of Sarria, which is away from the city centre but only 10 minutes on the metro (The metro itself is just a 5 min walk away).

The staff here are pleasant, friendly and we had a fantastic service. Particular mention should go to Susanna (during breakfast) and Juan in the bar.

A negative, if it could be, was that the room service menu and the breakfast could do with more options (especially the breakfast with some hot options would have been nice).

But overall, we had a great time at this hotel and would definitely recommend it !

Room Tip: Superior rooms on the top floor are great !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AnandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from 2 nights at PrimeroPrimera and could not rate the hotel, the service, the breakfast, the accommodation, the whole package, highly enough! All excellent.
The hotel is family-owned and has only been a hotel for 3 years (previously a family house). The decor is sumptuous and very well thought out. It is a 6 minute walk to Les Torres Metro station and within 10 minutes you can be in Placa Catalunya and Las Ramblas.

They have an "honesty bar" for guests in a lovely lounge and a gym and even a small swimming pool in the garden.
We stayed in one of the attic rooms A5. As we were shown to our room and the staff member opened the door, we both exclaimed "Wow!" It was very well thought out with a very modern feel. The fittings simple but very comfortable with warm wood and glass. There is a minibar but soft drinks are free. There is a "pillow menu" to suit everyone and the bed is very comfortable.
In the evening the bar is warm and comfortable and very relaxing. During the morning breakfast is served there.
Again, Wow! From what I remember...
Cereals, croissant (plain and chocolate), various muffins, tortilla, meats, cheeses (soft and hard), fruits, several different breads, yogurts, coffees, teas, juices and more...

As before, we could not rate this place highly enough. We will certainly return and will recommend it to everyone who wants to listen.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank judiththecakebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowthorne, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

After reading the trip advisor reviews we decided to book a weekend at Primero Primera. Everything was just perfect in every way. Excellent large room, comfortable beds, superb shower and bathroom couldn't be better. The breakfast is great and the staff are very helpful and attentive. Yes it's a little way out of the centre of town, however the metro is a short walk away and a great way to immerse yourself in the Barcelona experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hemmo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majorca, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful Reformed family house in a very quite residence area of Barcelona. Good rooms, comfortable beds and modern bathrooms. Stylish decoration, living room in communal area, bar and garden with books, magazins, cofee and drinks. Exquisity and friendly service. I am originally from Barcelona and I am happy to see good customer service. Will repeat!!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BarcelonaNoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Total surprise visit last weekend. It was all and more of an amazing 5 days in Barcelona organised by my husband. Fabulous boutique hotel, didn't disappoint one bit. Every aspect of stay perfect and the staff couldn't have been more helpful or delightful. Out of the main city in residential area with some superb restaurants nearby, an absolute 'find'.

Room Tip: Apparently don't go for 14....not sure why!!??
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mokka1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
206 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#13 of 512 in Barcelona
1,076 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 512 in Barcelona
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 512 in Barcelona
3,878 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#11 of 512 in Barcelona
263 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#96 of 512 in Barcelona
3,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Primero Primera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primero Primera

Property: Hotel Primero Primera
Address: C/ Doctor Carulla 25-29, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Primero Primera 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Primero Primera has recently opened its doors in Barcelona. It is a 4* boutique hotel which offers a relaxed and quiet atmosphere and the comfort of a private home. Located in the residential area of Tres Torres-Sarria, just 10 minutes by metro from the Barcelona's city center. Its 30 spacious rooms are all exterior and carefully decorated with all sorts of details. It has a cafe with access to the terrace, a 24hrs snacks corner, free refreshments and honesty bar service, a cozy lounge with fireplace and comfortable sofas and a fitness. Outdoor swimming pool & garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Primero Primera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Primero Primera Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing