We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Primero Primera
Ranked #13 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“GREAT Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is just an awesome little hotel. Tucked away in a residential neighborhood of Barcelona, this little gem of a hotel. It is a really "cool" place. Not like the big chains, personal service over all this property is quiet, clean, and provides exceptional service. The bedding is comfortable, the room decor is really cool and to top it all off, breakfast and WIFI is Included.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnp1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    103
    26
    6
    0
See reviews for
122
379
24
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We spent our last few days of a 3-week trip to Spain in Barcelona, and this hotel was the perfect place to stay after all that travel. It is located in a quiet, upscale neighborhood outside the bustle of La Rambla and the other tourist sites of Barcelona, yet only minutes away by using the metro that is just a 5 min. walk from the hotel (Les Tres Torres subway station).

Reception staff - both day and evening - are most friendly, welcoming and helpful. They will provide directions, make reservations, call for cabs, and genuinely seem to want you to enjoy your stay. On our last morning they even got their restaurant to open a little early so we could enjoy breakfast before leaving for the airport. And speaking of breakfast, they do a lovely job here with their breakfast buffet (included in room price), offering both hot and cold foods, meats, cheeses, pastries, eggs to order, cereals, etc.

We had booked a Superior room and paid in advance, which nets about 10% savings. We were very pleased with our room. It was a corner room with a little balcony, nestled in large rubber trees, overlooking the hotel entrance and garden. I was initially apprehensive of street noise because we were on second floor, but it turned out to be quiet....particularly as the room had the light/noise shutters - which guaranteed good sleep.

Our room had a king bed, plenty of space, a sofa with a great reading lamp (not common in Spain!), a safe, a large bathroom with all the toiletries and fluffy towels we could want and plenty of closet space. The only "negative" was that the entrance into the room, which contained the closet and minibar, was not well lighted - a few brighter ceiling bulbs would make all the difference! The bed was one of the most comfortable of our trip, with lovely crisp linens and good pillows.

The Primero Primera, while we were there, seemed to be frequented mostly by business travelers, even a small group using the hotel's "meeting" room. But the guests all respected quiet and the hotel was very quiet at night. On the ground floor there is a very comfortable lounge area, with an Honor Bar, where you can help yourself to drinks and note what you've consumed. There is also an outside garden terrace where you can enjoy drinks and tapas, and a small swimming pool area that looked delightful but which we did not use. Free WiFi and a computer in lobby area are available as well.

The hotel has an indoor easy access parking lot with large spaces, on the ground floor (use is an additional charge). Taxis are easily obtained (reception will call for you) and the metro is a short walk away so driving around Barcelona is not really recommended.

The hotel staff can recommend excellent restaurants to which you can easily get from the hotel.

We loved the hustle and bustle of the harbor, La Rambla, and Barcelona's wonderful attractions but were quite happy having a more quiet and remote hotel with easy access to them. All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the Primero Primera and would definitely return when again in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Take a Superior room - it is nice to have a sofa and reading area and the balcony is a treat. Try t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverwings928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

...and that's a good thing. The residential area where this hotel sits is very peaceful, leafy and frankly perfect. You are but a few streets from central Barca but it's feels like you're in a really lovely suburb. Anyway, proper boutique hotel, just 30 rooms, all very well appointed and the best breakfast! Lovely ingredients all beautifully presented and replenished all the time. Won't stay anywhere else now in Barca. Love this one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aqua987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rolle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I am just spent four nights at Primero Primera and loved it! It is a charming, elegant manor tucked in a quiet neighborhood just a few minutes walk to the subway (which is very convenient and easy to use). I enjoyed several meals at the hotel, including breakfast, and they were all delicious. The staff were so nice, friendly and helpful - it really added to the comfort of my stay. I am really happy with my choice and will definitely go back! HIghly recommended!

Room Tip: I stayed in a junior suite which had a lounge area with a desk and a big balcony. Very spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GDPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We love Primero Primera. Our vacation started in Barcelona with several days there, then we visited San Sebastian and returned for a couple more days. We are so glad to have chosen Primero Primera. Staying in a beautiful Barcelona neighborhood was perfect. Getting in a cab to go to the more touristy areas suited us just fine because those areas are very crowded, noisy and unappealing 24 hours a day. Primero Primera is an independent hotel that used to be apartments. We lived up on the roof level and enjoyed both of those rooms but had the opportunity to see some of the other rooms in the hotel and loved them all. The style is somewhat spare but very tasteful with wonderful quality linens. Attention to detail is evident throughout the hotel. Love the breakfast room that doubles as a restaurant & bar and offers very tasty food. The garden has a nice, natural quality with a small pool. The staff is very professional. We would stay there again, no question.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walters43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield Peverel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and from the moment we arrived we got great service.The receptionist could not have been more helpful and we got checked in 4 hours before check in time and while we waited we got shown in to a study that had a computer on the table for free use and also free hot drinks and various pastries too. Only 10 mins in the train to the Ramblas and it is so quiet that a good night's sleep is guaranteed. Breakfast was lovely and the dining area is so relaxed, just like the rest of this hotel. The Honesty bar is a great idea and we took advantage of this on our last night listening to some soothing music. We will certainly recommend this place to anyone else we know that is visiting Barcelona and hope to return one day ourselves.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterm43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Primero Primera for 4 nights - a most delightful time. The staff is so friendly and so helpful. The service in all respects is amazing. The staff members many times gave us such good advice. The breakfast service was memorable. Room was very clean and very comfortable. Located in a lovely quiet neighborhood, but a short walk to the metro. Can't say enough good things about this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
176 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,112 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
3,839 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#10 of 513 in Barcelona
211 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Primero Primera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primero Primera

Property: Hotel Primero Primera
Address: C/ Doctor Carulla 25-29, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Primero Primera 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Primero Primera has recently opened its doors in Barcelona. It is a 4* boutique hotel which offers a relaxed and quiet atmosphere and the comfort of a private home. Located in the residential area of Tres Torres-Sarria, just 10 minutes by metro from the Barcelona's city center. Its 30 spacious rooms are all exterior and carefully decorated with all sorts of details. It has a cafe with access to the terrace, a 24hrs snacks corner, free refreshments and honesty bar service, a cozy lounge with fireplace and comfortable sofas and a fitness. Outdoor swimming pool & garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Primero Primera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Primero Primera Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing