We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful boutique hotel in Barcelona” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Primero Primera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Primero Primera
Ranked #13 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful boutique hotel in Barcelona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We spent 6 nights in a mini suite at this hotel, located in one of the up hill districts of the city. The experience there is just amazing.
First, the room is at a corner of the building, spacious in European standards. Architecture and decoration of the room show good taste of the owner. Very comfortable beds, both in the living room as well as in the living room for my kid. The silent toilet cover is one very special touch. Various kinds of soft drinks free of charge in room. Housekeeping is always efficient.
Then, the common areas in the hotel are also very interesting, including the library ( or the honest bar), bar or small swimming pool in the yard, ideal for relaxation after a long day of walk in city. The hotel is well connected to city center by metro line 6. But have to admit that this is maybe not suitable for someone who visits BCN for the first time. As we know pretty well the city, no problem for us as this residential area is so quiet.
Last but not the least, we have to say a few words to Dany at the front desk who helped with our checking in and also various items during our stay there. He is always smiling, willing to help and provide tips to better explore the city. Good work!

Room Tip: Mini suite is good with a big terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuaguaBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    99
    26
    6
    0
See reviews for
118
369
22
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We arrived at the hotel earlier than check in time - no problem though and got upgraded to suite.
Good first impressions and were given good details on getting about. Tube is 7 minutes walk from hotel, (Les Tres Torres) with a 10 minute ride to Placa de Catalunya.
Buy a T10 ticket from tram as it gives you 10 rides for 10.30 Euros

In hotel the level of cleanliness, facilities are to a good standard. Breakfast has a good selection.

Plus points
Service
Accommodation
Convenience

Things to improve
Some comments made about lighting levels - which in places I understand - it can be dark for reading
Air conditioning in room a little noisy

Overall assessment a good standard of accommodation

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dudgeonrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I loved this hotel! The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet was extensive, the food excellent and served in a lovely room with additional seating in an outdoor garden patio. The rooms were spotless. There was also plenty of room to lounge about in the facility, not just a lobby. The neighborhood was very quiet, away from the hubbub of the city. The only caution is you need to take a taxi or public transportation to the tourist areas if you are not willing make the hour long walk.

Room Tip: I had a room with a balcony that was wonderful. My daughter had a first floor room that had a privac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opsimathclevelandhts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Lovely hotel in quiet location away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Service was charming and friendly and we could not have felt more welcome. Perfect end to our holiday. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nmr2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor recommendations, and we were not dissappointed. The hotel is excellent, rooms large, amenities good, excellent breakfast and the staff went out of their way to help us, even to using the new generation Apple desk top computer and to print tickets for advance reservations.
We had requested a balcony room, but due to late arrival, were given a room without balcony. We asked, and were subsequently moved by housekeeping to a balcony room, which was excellent. We felt the short commute into town was well worth the advantages of staying in this really quiet neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room, and arrive early to achieve this if schedule permits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiserdog2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights.
The hotel is a real gem - quirky, old fashioned decor with a modern twist. The staff are incredibly accommodating and always willing to help and provide a great service. We particularly enjoyed the mini cakes they left in our room on my boyfriend's birthday. The metro station is very close by and takes about 10 minutes into the centre. The neighborhood is quiet but there are still some fab restaurants nearby that the hotel will be more than happy to direct you to. We loved our stay and will definitely be recommending to our friends and family should they ever visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

A nice hotel: large, comfortable rooms and a decent although repetitive breakfast. However, if you want to "see" Barcelona, you'll spend a lot of time walking back and forth to the nearest train station. There's not much around the hotel for restaurants and shops: lots of medical offices and apartments. This means it's quiet and you get to see a different part of Barcelona, but you are not in the part of Barcelona you probably came to see. The lighting in the rooms is dim, and they really need better lighting in the bathrooms: it's very difficult to shave or put on makeup. The staff is polite but very young and perhaps inexperienced: they didn't know simple things like how to get to different attractions (other than to say to take a taxi). Overall, the room was fine and having a balcony was great, but for the price you could get a nice room closer to the centre of town, which we will do next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace/balcony if you're here in the summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VicBCTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#12 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#11 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#9 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Montjuic
Hotel Brummell
Hotel Brummell
#10 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Primero Primera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primero Primera

Property: Hotel Primero Primera
Address: C/ Doctor Carulla 25-29, 08017 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#12 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Primero Primera 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Primero Primera has recently opened its doors in Barcelona. It is a 4* boutique hotel which offers a relaxed and quiet atmosphere and the comfort of a private home. Located in the residential area of Tres Torres-Sarria, just 10 minutes by metro from the Barcelona's city center. Its 30 spacious rooms are all exterior and carefully decorated with all sorts of details. It has a cafe with access to the terrace, a 24hrs snacks corner, free refreshments and honesty bar service, a cozy lounge with fireplace and comfortable sofas and a fitness. Outdoor swimming pool & garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Primero Primera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Primero Primera Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing