We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grrat location. Average room”
Review of Hotel Peninsular

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Peninsular
Ranked #367 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This place is literally off la ramblas. Cab from the airport cost us about €40. The apartment is 1 star so don't expect it to be Hilton hotel. You get what you pay for and that is location. Its great if you want to be in the town centre. We got a 5 minute cab to the nearest strip €8. So all in all good location. Standard room.
P.S the hotel doesn't allow you bring an extra guest past 9pm, or they'll charge €25.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank atemk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Peninsular
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

I was attracted by the photographs of the internal atrium and the period features. When we arrived, I was disappointed by the run down state of the building and the poor facilities. Most of the rooms face the atrium and the noise at night becomes terrible. However, the hotel would benefit from a facelift and some updating to regain its character and style. The staff is very friendly and add to a positive experience of the place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Topofilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I was recently on a trip to Barcelona, as part of a big group. On the way back home, I had unfortunately left my camera on the first floor of the hotel, on one of the tables. I called the hotel a couple of days later expecting not to find it there but I received great news. I coordinated with the hotel that has kept it in a safe and it is now in my possession after being shipped back to me. Ethical behaviour and support to visitors, even after they leave, is more important than a luxurious physical setting.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank architravelsince2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The reception was good and friendly. The bedroom on the 3rd floor was so basic it was like going back into the forties. There was no heating and only one extra blanket for two beds and the bathroom stank. The noise from the street below was horrific as though people were walking through the room. We endured about two hours sleep. Couldn't wait to get out of there.

Room Tip: Dont go there
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rogdodge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The rooms and batrooms smell (we had to change room more then once because noise from the street and central heating not working). The bedding was decently clean. The staff was friendly, but that is the only thing nice about this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VitaF735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Dear hotel bookers,

This hotel is situated in a fantastic location, only a 4-6 minute walk from the famous Las Ramblas Avenue of Barcelona.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were quite surprised by the basic state of the rooms, but due to the fact that it is a hotel where you essentially get what you pay for, the basic state of our rooms grew on us.

What was very distressing however, is the fact that the hotel runs a policy whereby you are not permitted to congregate on the main hotel landing after 9pm. This became incredibly inconvenient as due to the nature of the hotel (young university student groups staying), it is completely normal that the students will be relaxing and catching up. The night receptionist was always acting in a very strict role and would demand that we reside in our rooms, what felt like we were being treated as prisoners. At nightfall, the hotel becomes in effect a prison. This man should not be working in a hotel. On one ocassion, he knocked on the door where students were, and when they asked who it was, the male Czecho-Slovakian night receptionist replied 'Its Jesus Christ'. This is absolutely unacceptable. Firstly he is basically using the word 'Jesus Christ' almost in vain, and secondly with this sort of behaviour, no hotel would employ any candidate with such an attitude to his work, and this statement goes for any hotel regardless of star ranking.

Throughout my stay, this man caused an ongoing annoyance to every member of our party in terms of his attitude and character including and most importantly, work ethic. As a professional in the hotel industry, the night receptionist in question should NOT be employed in this hotel or any hotel for his unacceptable attitude towards hotel guests.

I sincerely hope you take this review very seriously, and make amendments in terms of your 9pm policy.

In addition to all of the above points, he had also, on numerous ocassions, threatened to contact the police with regards to very minor noise on the above mentioned landing. This would not only have caused a disturbance to local emergency services, but also might have incurred a hefty fine to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motters888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

So stayed here for a week, during the day the staff are really good but at night comes the bad news, after 9pm you must go in your room or go outside to talk and even if you're quitely talking adown at the seating area that guy would come up and says "shh people are trying to sleep!" What the **** do you really expect people who paid so much just to go to bed when you tell then to? No of course not, this is a free country for crying out loud, we can do what we want. Also I heard from my friend's that thT guy who is down at the reception at night will threaten to call the police if you continue to talk at the atrium (even if you are whispering) (like the police are gonna give a **** about this). So overall be careful of that guy who does night shifts but during the day it's exceptional staff all the way. But the hotel is a bit run down, old fashioned cracks here and there (even in the rooms) but you get what you paid, dont expect it to have the same kind of standards as they do in a 3 star hotel. (I'm using that as rederence because there is a 3* hotel right next to this and it looks so much more modern, cleaner, and professional trained staff) for roughly around the same price I think.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank rexlee2113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Roma Reial Hotel
Roma Reial Hotel
#339 of 513 in Barcelona
821 reviews
El Raval
Be Ramblas Hotel
Be Ramblas Hotel
#395 of 513 in Barcelona
246 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Canton
Hotel Canton
#211 of 513 in Barcelona
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hostal River
Hostal River
#378 of 513 in Barcelona
260 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Aneto
Hotel Aneto
#350 of 513 in Barcelona
491 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Barbara
Hotel Barbara
#479 of 513 in Barcelona
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peninsular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peninsular

Address: Sant Pau, 34, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £49 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Peninsular 1*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Peninsular reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsular Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Peninsular Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing