We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guitart Grand Passage
Ranked #359 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel before driving to the airport and compared to other 4-star hotels this was below standard. We had booked through priceline's "name your price" and got a good rate. But when we got there 75euros was added due to the fact that we had a five year old with us. The room was very big and as such nice, but just so many little things not up to scratch - like a bathroom door that almost didn't open once closed; warm unplugged fridge; unfinished fittings and so on and so on ... staff seemed like they didn't want to be there. Good location though.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonashomaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
There are newer reviews for Guitart Grand Passage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Three adults stayed four nights before a cruise. Room was terrific..large, clean...bathroom was wonderful. Duel sinks , lots of space.close enough to walk to Ramblas. Several small restaurants close by. We love Barcelona and this is now our favorite Hotel.

Room Tip: Did not use pool or children's activities but could not remove rating..
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Beautiful room/suite, newly renovated to very high standards, amazing full length windows with views.
can not find a single fault with the rooms, the beds were comfortable, cleanliness was great, in a nice central area of barcelona with plenty of restaurants etc around.
Just on the main avenue diagonal with easy links to rest of city.
friendly staff.
Would 100% recommend this hotel, they are busy going through a refurbishment, if they refurbish all the rooms to this standard i would class this hotel as 5 star.
Breakfast was not so good, expensive for a poor selection and most of it was cold, but plenty of nearby eateries to get better breakfasts.
We stayed only one night prior to a cruise, booked a different hotel post cruise, wished i'd booked the Guitart as the hotel after the cruise was no where near the standard of the Guitart.
Beautifully designed new rooms are exceptional.

Room Tip: Book newly renovated rooms with balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alder300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

What a tremendous find! at the last minute we stumbled on the Guitart Grand Passage newly renovated and well appointed. I would recommend anyone to stay here with full confidence you will love it. AAA+++

Regards
Chris Sutton
Australia

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I use this hotel every time I'm in Barcelona. I loved it before because the service is exquisite, nice, smiley and helpful at all times, and the location suits me perfect, restaurants, shopping...
The rooms, after the renovation, they are very very nice, so bright. I just can say that I'll continue going there when in Barcelona.
Thank you all, Sra. Montserrat, Cristina, toñi....

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank laparo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Sunny room for winter days. Beautify Barcelona Sun heated the bedroom all day. Nice views to a quiet part of l'Eixample, maybe one of the main characteristics of the city. The staff is really REALLY friendly and there are a lot of bars and restaurants around the area. Note that the hotel is closed to Diagonal (50 m), one of the best streets of Barcelona, great for shopping and walking around. I recommend to have breakfast, almost once at Velodrom, an old-modern-stylish bar-restaurant situated in front of the hotel. Metro is not closed but it doesn't matter, it is really beautiful to walk Barcelona and enjoy the city on foot.
Summary: a quiet, nice and easy-going place to stay in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The staff was very friendly, however the room was not as it appears in photos online. The room we had seen in photos had a bedroom and an area with a couch to sit. The room we got had only a bedroom. No couch at all. One end of our bed was propped up with a milk crate. The linens and overall bathroom was very clean, but they did not vacuum daily and some items in the room were very dirty, such as the hair drier was too filthy to touch. Our breakfast was to be included, but the buffet as shown in photos is not available at all. Breakfast was brought to our room. Once cup of coffee per person, dry toast, yogurt, and a croissant. One day we had 6 pieces of dry toast. Not the breakfast buffet we were expecting at all. The free internet would only work in the lobby. TV had very poor reception and only a few channels. We expected WIFI in our rooms and cable TV. Hotel location was good, but overall, I think you could find something a bit better for the money.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuitartHotels01, General Manager at Guitart Grand Passage, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Mr. Barker ,
We really appreciate your comments in respect to your stay in our hotel. Your opinions are very valuable to us in order to help improve our service and we will endeavour to act upon your suggestions as quickly as possible as we are about to refurbish all our rooms and your opinions would be a great help to us. We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel and take this opportunity to thank you for your trust in us.
Best regards. Montserrat Pons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
#146 of 513 in Barcelona
926 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#95 of 513 in Barcelona
1,237 reviews
Eixample
Acacia Suites
Acacia Suites
#246 of 513 in Barcelona
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vincci Mae
#116 of 513 in Barcelona
122 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#138 of 513 in Barcelona
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guitart Grand Passage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guitart Grand Passage

Address: Muntaner, 212, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#138 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#202 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £70 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Guitart Grand Passage 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Guitart Grand Passage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guitart Grand Passage Barcelona, Catalonia
Guitart Grand Passage Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing