We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel in the heart of Barcelona”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gaudi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gaudi
Ranked #168 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great hotel in the heart of Barcelona”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Recently spent six days at the Gaudi hotel, on our first ever visit to Barcelona. Though at first a little apprehensive about the location - just off the very busy Las Ramblas - we found that it was perfectly placed for visiting the sites. It is walking distance from the sea and the beautiful marina, the metro, the main shopping district including Corte Ingles, as well as all the other major attractions. We were very lucky indeed to have a room with a terrace on the 4th floor, and facing the Palau Güell was an added bonus. The room was very clean and comfortable. I'd recommend rooms with a balcony/terrace where you can relax after a hard day's sight seeing - it makes all the difference. Above all, I must praise the hotel's very friendly, polite and helpful staff who made our stay a great experience. They even left a bottle of champagne and glasses in our room for my birthday which was a real treat! I must thank Monica, Jesus, Paco and in particular Frances for all their help and friendliness. When we had a small problem with the shower, the hotel's owner personally came to our room and arranged for a very speedy and professional repair. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Barcelona. For a perfect restaurant, I'd recommend 'Salamanca' by the sea for an excellent meal and first class service.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Araxita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    644
    205
    33
    26
See reviews for
290
620
42
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cpt
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Hotel Gaudi is located 50 meters off La Rambla in the old town. A perfect place to stay when you want to explore the city by foot. Close to restaurants and shopping. Close to the piers by the water, Have a drink or a meal at the lovely Plaza Reial just acroos La Rambla from the hotel. Buy a ticket to the hop on/hop off sightseeing buses to get a full coverage of the city.

Room Tip: Rooms at the 4th and 5th floors generally have balconies with a grand view over the rooftops. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grnhnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hotel is located right off the ramblas, opposite to the Palau Guell. Very close to plaça reial.
Room was very clean, bed good, bathroom big enough. Our window was
on a interior court (not noise but on the other hand the room was rather dark). The hotel is calm, despite its central position.
Breakfast- buffet- was nice, only thing which could be improved is the fruit salad (which was not prepared with fresh fruits!). Even at 10:45am, you still have choices on what to it. I definitively recommend this place.

Room Tip: We had room # 314 with a window on interior court (not the best, but very calm).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank severinedubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Just off La Rambla, this hotel is right in the thick of the Barca tourist area. Whilst not having the facilities for an extended stay it works well as a base for a weekend break. It's a little shabby but was undergoing a refurb during our stay. We were upgraded to a fairly large suite as we were travelling with our 2 young children. It was functional rather than attractive but being on the top floor offered great views of the city.
The staff are friendly and helpful and a car park next door is a rare bonus for such a central position.
If your their to see the city and want to do it by foot this could be the place for you. If you're looking for 5 star look elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1962Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

I have had such a lovely week here at The Gaudi Hotel.
It is directly across the (narrow) road from the Gaudi building and less than 50 metres to the very centre of La Rambla.
An added bonus is that there's a hole in the wall right beside the Gaudi so I felt very safe withdrawing money what with the constant queues waiting to enter the a Gaudi AND their Security Guards!!
I'm told I have the smallest room in the Hotel - well, it's more than adequate for one and - perhaps 2 big suitcases would be an issue -otherwise it would be fine for a couple too.
The staff are a pleasure - they want to help and do so with such grace and courtesy - Reception, Cafe, Housekeeping - all so professional!
The shower (over the bath) is fantastic. Good water pressure and doesn't run hot n cold!!
Breakfast is also more than adequate though I only ever have cereal n yoghurt but people were going back for 2nds of the eggs n bacon so it must've been pretty good. Nice coffee too!!
A great experience. Thank you!!


Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Reading many of the reviews here, recognise parts of many of them, both good and bad.

We booked Hotel Gaudi based on friends recommendation from their stay last year, including the suggestion that you pay extra to have a room with a balcony and view of Palau Guell. We did, and were on the 4th floor with a large terrace and great view of the roof top of the palace (which is open to the public, so you are also a great view for all the visitors, but we knew that and did not see it as a problem) Also, you spend so little time in the hotel, with so much to see, it does not matter which room you are in really.

Agree with those that comment on the slightly frosty first impression at check in, including the being ushered away from the desk to seats at the back (and then subsequent arrivals being annoyed as they did not know we were in front). However, that was probably the only negative for our stay. The room was very comfortable and bath room very adequate. They seem to have arranged the rooms so there is always a bathroom between the bedrooms, so generally not too noisey, but some mornings it sounded like someone was showering in your room. Agree with other comments about how hard the mattresses are, but good for a back back I suppose.....

The breakfast room was large enough for us to find a table as soon as we arrived on all 3 days, and he selection , both continental and cooked.(small sausages, bacon and eggs which were not quite scrambled and not quite omelette) was great for us, but perhaps not as large a selection as we've had elsewhere in the past.

Other than the initial impression, the rest of the stay was great, the staff very helpful and the room kept in a very clean state.

The location was great, just 100m off the south end of Las Ramblas, but only a 10 minute walk at most up to the top end or to the gothic quarter. Almost opposite the road the hotel is on is Placa Reial, which had some better restuarants than on the strip and was great for a drink at any time.

We did walk to Segrada Familia from the hotel, which was great to see things, but is quite a walk, but there are loads of transport options. Definitely book tickets online first - we did the night before from the hotel and you can colect the tickets at the Caixa ATM opposite the hotel. When we got there for our 12.00 tower entry, they were queuing around the block, but with tickets, you just walk straight in (though did still have a short q for the audio guide collection, so make sure you go in at least 15 mins before your selected time). Incredible place to visit.

Lots to see and we did the hop on hop off bus to see what we wanted to visit in detail. Lots of reports talk about the buses always being full, even when we went (October half term), however we went with the Grayline (red) buses, which seemed far better and we never had a problem getting on any bus. The blue Trouristic bus seemed far busier, which may be something to do with them being the one that all the hotels promote. Both buses are same price and do same routes.

Overall had a great time and would happily go back to Hotel Gaudi on another visit to Barcelona (which we will be doing as 3 nights is just not enough time to see everything).

Room Tip: 4th floor or above have the balconies and view of the palace roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our balcony on the 4th floor overlooked the roof of the Palau Guell, so we had an incredible opportunity to enjoy an up-close look at Gaudi's chimneys. Another party in our group had a 6th floor room with a balcony view of the entire city. The hotel is just off Las Ramblas, a couple of blocks from the waterfront, within easy walking distance of the wonderful streets in the "Old City", and a quick two blocks to the Boqueria Marketplace. There were several convenience stores for drinks or snacks just a few feet from the hotel. The neighborhood was safe, and we were comfortable walking to and from the hotel during the day and night. The hotel celebrates it's relationship with Gaudi - there is a Moderniste fountain in the main lobby. The folks at the front desk spoke English well which made our check in easy. We arrived too early to check in, and they gladly stored our luggage for us. The hotel has two elevators for those who struggle with steps. Our room was clean and the linens were upscale, but not lavish. It had 3 twin beds - all European style, IKEA type furniture. Beds were comfortable, but again not lavish 5 star pillow tops. Like all European hotels I have stayed in, each bed had a duvet, which can be a little warm at times. There was plenty of room to move around the room, even with suitcases. There was a thermostat in the room that allowed us to set the temperature and turn on the A/C if needed. The Bathroom was en-suite, and was modern, with hot water and good pressure. The room had a window that opened onto an interior airshaft for the hotel, so we could get a cross-breeze. Our balcony had French doors which could be left closed or opened safely because the shutters on the outside of the doors could be locked. There were 2 chairs and a table on the balcony - perfect for evening drinks and a snack, and plenty extra space for guests. Dividers provided privacy from the balcony of the room next door. The street was narrow, so we were able to see right into the apartments across the street. We could hear people on the streets until quite late, ( 2-3 AM), but the sound was fairly quiet, and we had no problem sleeping with the balcony doors open. We had a coffee pot in the room with a good selection of caff, decaff and teas. Breakfast was a buffet that surpassed my expectations. 3-4 kinds of cereal, rolls, pastries, fresh fruit, eggs, sausage, yogurt - and of course coffee and tea. The dining room had plenty of room for everyone in the hotel, so we did not feel like sardines. A waiting room off of the dining room provided a large screen TV with news, and 3 or 4 computer terminals for guest use. There was no wifi in the rooms. Unlike most European hotels, it was fairly easy to get ice. All you had to do was ask the folks at the front desk to get it from the bar, or ask the servers in the dining room at breakfast. The hotel had a bar, but we did not visit it.
We really enjoyed this hotel and would be delighted to stay here on a return trip. I would not recommend to folks who prefer 5 star full-service hotels with fancy furnishings and service; this was more like nice new Holiday Inn or Marriott, but with LOTS of ambiance in the lobby and on the balconies.

Room Tip: If you want a great view of the roof of the Palau Guell - you need to be on the 4th or 5th floor in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b1sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#102 of 521 in Barcelona
2,258 reviews
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#223 of 521 in Barcelona
1,478 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#107 of 521 in Barcelona
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#85 of 521 in Barcelona
1,552 reviews
El Raval
Hesperia Ramblas
Hesperia Ramblas
#159 of 521 in Barcelona
1,118 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#210 of 521 in Barcelona
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gaudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gaudi

Property: Hotel Gaudi
Address: Nou de la Rambla 12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#138 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gaudi 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with comfortable accommodations, restaurant and bar; located near the Ramblas, the Gothic Square and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gaudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaudi Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gaudi Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing