We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Hotel Gaudi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gaudi
Ranked #169 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I would like to sincerely thank the hotel staff for the good and professional service we received
Special thanks to "Hernao" ( I hope I said the right name) who did everything he could to help me with a serious problem had with the flight date back home
I'll be back to this hotel first of all because of you Hernao
God bless you

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hemi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

559 - 565 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were hoping for a lovely room as we were on our honeymoon and the hotel did not disappoint. We were at the front on the 4th floor overlooking the palace Guell and it's amazing chimney pots. The hotel had left a bottle of champagne on ice in our room. (No extra charge) and the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. We thought that we would give breakfast a try on our first morning even though lots of reviews were not good in regard to substance, price and crowded room. Well I dont know what these people expect for €11 but breakfast was served in a lovely clean cool bright restaurant and there was plenty of choice, fruit, yogurt, egg, bacon, delicious little chipolata sausages, toast, fresh pastries croissant and ground coffee, orange juice and lots of other bits and pieces. The hotel did not force us to order a taxi, they suggested just hailing one outside and actually said not to pay more than €26-30. It is just off La Rambla and is central for just about everything. Thank you Hotel Gaudi for helping to make our Honeymoon so special. Paul and Suzanne

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewyorkBarcelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Even though I booked my stay about 2 months in advance, the Hotel Gaudi did not honor my reservation. We arrived early afternoon but they had given our room away. They did move us to another hotel but it wasn't what we had paid for. Be careful with reservations at this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
16  Thank K6905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irantzu M, Director General at Hotel Gaudi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you were so disappointed.
As regards your situation, on the day that you were arriving at our hotel, we had a last-minute problem in a room that obliged us to keep that room blocked without guests for one night. This wouldn’t have been a big problem if the hotel hadn’t been fully booked. In fact, it was solved on the following day. However, that night we had all the rooms booked, so this last minute problem, unfortunately, obliged us to move one booking to another hotel. This is something that was out of our control, and if we did so it was because we had no other option. In fact, we hate moving guests out of our hotel since this is a disappointment to our guests and it is usually a guest that we lose, probably forever. Apart from that, usually last minute bookings are expensive, so we always lose money in this kind of operation. However, things like this happen from time to time in all hotels. The only thing that we can do to minimise the damages is to choose a good hotel. The hotel that we moved you to was the Hotel Onix Liceu. This hotel is just 50 metres away from our hotel, it is on the same street, it is very new, it has good reviews and it is of a superior category (4 stars). Therefore, we felt that we were leaving you in a fairly good situation. Also, when you came back to our hotel a couple of hours later to say that you preferred our hotel, we invited you to go up to visit our new rooftop terrace, just in case you had chosen our hotel because of the views, so that you wouldn’t miss them (take into account that, given that you had a Classic Room in our hotel, the views were not guaranteed, even if you had stayed in our hotel).
Having said that, we apologise for having moved you to another hotel and we would like you to be aware that we only do this when there are no other options left.
Yours sincerely,

Irantzu Mestres
General Manager
Hotel Gaudi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is in a great location just off La Rambla within walking distance to many sites. Room was clean with great views. Ask for room with terrace overlooking Palau Gaudi.

However, the management strongly directs you to restaurant from which they must receive a kickback. At the restaurant they recommended (Amaya), the menu items had prices, but the drinks did not. We thought we would be save ordering a coca-cola. Our two cokes cost 15 Euro (approx $20 USD). Thats where they get you. The food wasn't that great. The Rossini in a secluded plaza (Placa real) less than 1 Km from the hotel had better food for a less expensive price and no car noise.

They also are quick to call a taxi for us. We fortunately learned discovered that if they call, the trip to the airport would be 50 Euro. When we strolled our suitcases to the taxi stand (on the other side of Las Ramblas) less than a block away, the cost was 28 Euro.

This type of behavior may be acceptable for hotels in tourist destinations in Barcelona, but it isn't with me. Thus a hotel which otherwise would have gotten a 5 rating gets a 2.

Room Tip: Get a room with a terrace overlooking Palau Gaudi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeAlert23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Beautifully appointed , small but comfortable room, breakfast a little expensive but the view from the roof over city and Gaudi building opposite stunning, police station next door,Professional service

Room Tip: choose one street side for view of Gaudi building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 137Bigguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Just a few steps away from The Ramblas, this hotel is perfect! As a family of 4 we found the family room great value, spacious and incredibly clean. Service is very good. We were able to leave our bags in the room all day, even after the generously late check out time of 12noon. Breakfast was slightly chaotic but we could still eat our fill before heading out. We highly recommend this hotel for it's great location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a fine place located close to Las Ramblas and within walking distance of many tourist destinations in the Gothic Quarter (Barri Gotic), Placa Catalunya, the Eixample region, and the Licieu Metro stop. Our room was large, clean, and had incredible views of the Gaudi-designed rooftop across the street. We also had a large terrace with lounges, chairs and a small table which were perfect for a glass of wine before going out. The front desk was helpful, but I would not trust their restaurant recommendations. There is an option to include breakfast with your stay and it is OK, but not great.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 423 on front of building with large terrace and amazing views of Guell Palace rooftop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC2SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#110 of 515 in Barcelona
2,528 reviews
La Rambla
Oriente Atiram
Oriente Atiram
#228 of 515 in Barcelona
1,651 reviews
La Rambla
Ramblas Hotel
Ramblas Hotel
#407 of 515 in Barcelona
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Lleo Hotel
Lleo Hotel
#203 of 515 in Barcelona
1,261 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
#200 of 515 in Barcelona
996 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#104 of 515 in Barcelona
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gaudi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gaudi

Address: Nou de la Rambla 12, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#138 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £60 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gaudi 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with comfortable accommodations, restaurant and bar; located near the Ramblas, the Gothic Square and the Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gaudi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaudi Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Gaudi Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing