We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, safe, friendly, affordable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Cuatro Naciones

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Ranked #198 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean, safe, friendly, affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was a great place to stay in Barcelona for 4 nights. It was clean, it had everything we needed, it was safe, and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were air conditioned and smelled lovely. Everything was a little bit old, but it was all perfectly functional and well maintained. When you consider the price, this place is a palace. The location couldn't be beaten.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the alley or La Rambla are noisier just because it's a very active part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julesc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    462
    138
    29
    11
See reviews for
222
364
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I've booked room and asked for a confirmation for an embassy. The hotel answered in Spainish (my application was in English. The hotel has rejected my application and said that I must resolve my problems myself.

Room Tip: Don't stop in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmitry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Booked a triple room for two days and I can safety say it was spotless and in a great location!
The pictures don't do it justice and I was worried when I first looked it up but how wrong was I .
The only down side was it is in an area that is loud at night they clean the streets at 4 in the morning and empty the bins to you can also hear people outside in the street but you are in a central place.
The two men on the desk where helpful and you felt safe are other friends had there rooms broken into and that was a 4 star hotel,the only other thing where the ladies of the night that aren't that far away up the street and the famous pickpockets make interesting viewing from the balcony window.
The wifi was great and free so all in all good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quieter but if you want the view the ones at the front are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boothy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed here with friends for 3 nights staff very helpful & friendly right on the Rambla excellent position. It rained hard on last day hotel provided us with umbrellas & gave us a good restaurant to go for dinner.
Good hotel for a short break stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisloot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My friend and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel before Christmas and enjoyed it thoroughly. The hotel at 70 Euros per night including breakfast was a huge bargain and right on the very busy La Rambla-lots of fun. The front desk is staffed 24/7 and every one of the gentlemen at the desk were friendly, helpful and accommodating. They even lent us converters to use for all of our electronics We had a large room at the back of the hotel with twin beds with lots of separation as per my friend's request (hard to find in Barcelona as most of the beds are right together with only an inch or 2 to separate-not great if you are just friends travelling). The breakfast each morning in a clean room overlooking La Ramblas was varied and plentiful, eggs, meats, cheeses, fresh croissants, etc. Coffee, tea, juices and wrapped pastries if you want to put something in your purse for later. The washroom was large and functional. There is a lounge with 2 computers and free internet and a printer to print boarding passes, books to borrow, maps and discount coupons. We both would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to friends. The only negative would be the very strong cleaning smell at times. It could be worse-at least it was a clean smell. It is not a luxury hotel, just a really nice, reasonable, friendly place to stay when in Barcelona.

Room Tip: If you want something special in a room, just ask. They are very accommodating. Our room at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJandW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

After an overnight trans-Atlantic flight to Barcelona airport we taxied to the hotel and arrived on 11/6/13. The location could not have been better; right on Las Ramblas. We were immediately greeted and checked in by friendly front desk staff that spoke English. Since we were early; our room was not ready but our bags were locked away and we were free to tour Barcelona, We returned a few hours later and our bags were already in our room. The room was very clean. The furnishings were very basic but comfortable. We had a room in the rear of the hotel that was very quiet for sleeping. The front desk staff were very helpful with recommendations for all of our needs. The free breakfast was good and enough to start your day. I would definitely stay at Hotel Cuarto Naciones again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brwnrite87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed for four nights at this hotel and were very satisfied with it. The location was excellent, with the Rambla just outside the door. Our room was on the inner yard side and very quiet at night time. The breakfast was good, the staff friendly and it was easy to use the free internet at the salon. We also greatly enjoyed the two fine flamenco tablaos just a couple of blocks from the hotel.
Kaija

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaija-Leena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
Hotel Arc La Rambla
#109 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
La Rambla
Flor Parks Hotel
Flor Parks Hotel
#208 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Curious
Hotel Curious
#75 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel California
Hotel California
#220 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Ramblas Barcelona
Hotel Ramblas Barcelona
#379 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
La Rambla
Eurostars Ramblas
Eurostars Ramblas
#303 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cuatro Naciones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cuatro Naciones

Property: Hotel Cuatro Naciones
Address: La Rambla 40, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Rambla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#118 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#160 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Cuatro Naciones 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quite affordable in light of its extremely central location on Las Ramblas, the Hotel Cuatro Naciones in Barcelona has been providing basic rooms for more than 200 years . Turn-of-the century style unfolds in a lobby decked out with high crown molding, wrought ironwork, and marble galore. ... Read MoreA sweeping staircase leads to 55 simplistic rooms with white walls and punchy pink bedspreads and curtains. Floors are smooth stone mosaic. There's also an elevator, if stairs aren't your thing. Fourteen of the rooms at the Hotel Cuatro Naciones offer sweeping views of La Rambla. The first floor salon is a must-see, featuring hotel-related news clippings through the ages and signed photos and memorabilia of the hotel's most famous guests. The fancy guest history includes Stendhal, Frederic-Francois Chopin, Ulysses S. Grant, and Buffalo Bill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cuatro Naciones reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cuatro Naciones Hotel
Cuatro Naciones Barcelona
Hotel Cuatro Naciones Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing